We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
405
245
65
34
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
245
65
34
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews menai straits breakfast room pool and sauna fantastic views lovely location north wales the penthouse self catering sea view cooked breakfast zip world feel very welcome evening meal full english warm welcome a lovely stay apartment
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Very bad service was provided! Rude staff and the cleanliness of the pool was poor, we had to wait 30 minutes for the staff to bring us some milk! Terrible value for money, would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank aboyes_428953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights, the hotel was comfortable, the views absolutely stunning. It was an experience to watch the Port at work..
Its very central to most amenities.
We will be going back.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.. always smiling..

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynwen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We arrived (family of 4) at Hotel Port Dinorwic for a two night stay and had a friendly welcome.We were shown to an near open plan family room on the first floor and it had good views of the sea. from a sitting area that was led to the two bedrooms -one that contained a double bed and was open to the sitting area while the other - a twin room- was closed to the sitting area by a slatted screen door. The sitting area had a table sofa comfy chairs, a flat screen tv. There were plenty of mirrors in the accommodation.The bathroom was perhaps a little dated and the shower could do with updating. If you want a cooked breakfast you need to let reception know the evening before. Breakfast was in a conservatory that was directly under our room but we were never disturbed.
The hotel has a bar but the restaurant seems to be separately run and you pay your dinner bill directly to the restaurant and cannot put it onto the hotel bill. The food was good and the restaurant seemed popular on the weekend with locals -there is a need to book.
We did not use it but we noticed a laundry room near the rear car park.

Room Tip: Some rooms have small balconies try and get a room that has a sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MrBadgeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend with my mum and my two children in one of the Penthouse Suites and I cannot express how much we all loved the place! To be honest on arrival we were a little worried because at first sight the hotel looked quite old fashioned but we were quickly put at ease when we were greeted by the lovely Hayden who checked us in, booked us in for dinner at the restaurant and hefted our bags up to our second floor penthouse while chatting away like we were old friends. The suite was fab, the decor can only be described as retro chic but everything was spotlessly clean and the views from the picture window across the Menai Straits were stunning. Dinner in the restaurant was superb. The kids were desperate to try out the pool but it was past the opening time but Hayden kindly bent the rules cementing him the affections of the kids forever! All the staff were warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble (including my daughters cheeky extra breakfast requests) and they made us feel so at home. We really didn't want to leave. This hotel is the perfect antidote for all those sterile chain hotels and we can't wait to return. Once again a big thank you to Hayden, Mandy and the team!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed overnight on Friday 30th Sept as part of a family holiday in Snowdonia. We booked an apartment , which was great for us, as we had my daughter and her toddler with us so, having living room and kitchen was much nicer for them than just a room. We also booked a room in the main hotel building for other family arriving and checked that out before they arrived and it was really nice. We had wonderful views of menai straits and the Port Dinorwic lock from first floor Seaview apartment. The small person with us made himself at home and really enjoyed his stay. It is lovely to walk down and look at the boats - a very picturesque location and close to Bangor, Caernarfon and Llanberis (15-20 minutes from each I would guess). My daughter is vegetarian and coeliac and I had not notified in advance, however, she was asked if she would like to pop into the kitchen and just chat to the chef to see what she'd like for dinner. She came back smiling and later had a lovely meal. Restaurant choices were good with local produce. The whole feel of the hotel is very personal and genuine. This is a family owned hotel and it shows in such a positive way. Very different (in a good way) from staying in a chain. I would stay again and recommend. Really good breakfast too, and lovely staff who really made us feel welcome. I live in a small village and really felt so at home here - went out for a walk in the evening and got chatting to local people on my way. This is a hidden gem :-)

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annelaviniajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews