We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
86
45
8
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
45
8
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub chilford hall newmarket racecourse chateaubriand walk in shower sky tv comfortable bed restaurant menu cambridge area fish and chips black pudding lovely bathroom pie comfortable stay full english shower head large room
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The best thing about this hotel was the attitude of the staff, who were all so friendly and helpful. When we arrived we expressed disappointment that they didn't serve breakfast before 8 am on Saturdays as we were hoping to get away early. They rang our room shortly afterwards to say that as quite a few people were wanting an early breakfast they were starting at 7. Brilliant! Thank you. Most others were off to the nearby Duxford Air Show, which we weren't, but we benefited from their need to start early and the hotel bothered to change their timings and to tell us. That is service.

Our large room was lovely - very comfortable bed, good bathroom with walk-in shower. Our dinner in the evening was excellent - they clearly have great chefs here. We had gorgeous fish and shared a delicious sticky toffee pudding. Excellent breakfast. They had sent someone rushing off to the shops as they had run out of mushrooms and said they would be available shortly if we didn't mind waiting - such a contrast to another hotel a few days earlier where they just ran out of standard breakfast things and did nothing about it! Only slight downside was the really noisy bar, where we had intended to have a drink before dinner, but we moved into the restaurant instead, which was fine. Clearly a popular spot for local drinkers on a Friday night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Manager at Old Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We aim to meet the guests of all of our guests where we can. duxford weekend is very popular with many wanting to get in early so often we do early breakfast on these weekends, which was ideal for yourselves. I am delighted that you enjoyed the meals you had with us. Our chefs work hard to create delicious meals for all of our customers.

Our locals do enjoy a end of week drink I'm sorry they were so noisy you felt you couldn't sit in there.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly impressed by our stay and dinner here. Food was amazing - very high standard and they even offered to create us some dishes that were off-menu if we pre-ordered as they were quite a few vegetarians in our group. Rooms were very modern and spacious and comfortable. The staff are total stars - always cheery and attentive, they made the whole stay so memorable. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank NamSci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Manager at Old Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us. I am glad that your party was a success and you enjoyed the meals you had. We are always happy to cater for people where possible to ensure they enjoy there time with us. I hope that we may see you again soon on your next visit to the area.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This was our 2nd visit to the Old Red Lion and found it to be the perfect location for Newmarket Racecourse, without being in the center of town.

The food is fabulous and the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was immaculate and the GinFest and entertainment were a welcome addition to the weekend.

would definitely, and in fact have already done ,recommend

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maria_bright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Manager at Old Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thankyou for your kind words. We are glad your trip to Newmarket was enjoyable. Our gin festival runs every August Bank Holiday we would love to see you again next year. Our location is ideal for the country break away but with easy access to Cambridge and Newmarket as well as local villages.we look forward to meeting the guests youhave recommended and seeing you again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We were staying nearby, having visited Duxford and ate here by chance.
The restaurant is a little strange, big room in various sections but not a lot of atmosphere really. However the food more than made up for that. We both had three fantastic courses. The scallop and black pudding starter was heavenly, as was my cod and basil mash main course. The sole main course was lovely too apparently, but very small (luckily my cod was large, so I shared).
Desserts were also fabulous, worth the calories, which is not often the case!
Very reasonably priced we felt, shame it's not an area we'd be heading back to.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Manager at Old Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thankyou for viewing your stay. All of our food is made fresh onsite to achieve the highest quality. I Am glad you enjoyed the meals you had with us. We are looking at some of the portions as this has been brought to our attention, but I'm glad the dishes lovely still. We hope to see you again if you are ever on the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the RLI for three nights and it was a good choice. The room was nice, the breakfast delicious and the service good. We used it as home base to discover Cambridge. Taking off one star, as our room was facing a busy road and there was hardly any space to put anything, especially in the bathroom. Would definitely recommend it, though!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank KayOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Manager at Old Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your review and for recommending us to friends. I am glad that you chose us as your base to explore Cambridge throughout your visit. I am sorry you felt limited on space to put things in the room and will address this when they are redecorated.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews