We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Impeccable accommodation - We Just keep coming...”
other traveller has booked this property
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Brown Knowl Home from home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Brown Knowl
Home from home
Bathroom
Some of our hens
Some of our bees
Dog friendly
20 mins the the ridge on foot
Need to charge your car?
Granary parking
Back home for a rest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Broxton, Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bill285
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Impeccable accommodation - We Just keep coming back.”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Perfect countryside location, not far from Chester. Stayed for 3 nights in Baker's Cottage arriving on Xmas Eve. This was our third very enjoyable stay in Bakers cottage having previously stayed with other family members when we also occupied Granary Cottage. I feel slightly guilty for not posting a review sooner but you are tempted to keep such a good find to oneself.
Both cottages are immaculate with a very high standard of fittings and fully equipped kitchen with Fresh eggs, local honey and milk in the fridge on arrival. I was also impressed with the Bose Sound Link Mini wireless speakers and a good fast reliable Internet connection.
Lots of great walks nearby with an entrance to the Sandstone Trail at the top of the lane and the cosy Sandstone local pub at the bottom of the lane.
The visits were all the more enjoyable thanks to Jackie and Ray who always made us feel so very welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaG19...
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My husband and I and our beloved dog Billy stayed here for 2 nights over at the end of December for New Year. We have stayed at many self catering cottages, but this is our favourite so far. We had the most chilled out stay and will most definitely be back. Ray & Jackie are the perfect hosts, and we're very helpful. We stayed in Bakers Cottage which has the most quaint charm. What more could you ask for on a New Years Eve than a roaring log burner. The cottage was spotless clean with high quality appliances throughout and everything to cater for your needs, with lovely touches such as a jar of Doggie Biscuits and a jar of their own honey from their own bees. Fresh flowers in the bedroom were a welcome sight and the most comfy bed I've ever slept in, King size too. I would highly recommend to anyone. Thanks again guys, see you soon x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoked134
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It would be hard to find a better place to stay.”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I spent a week with Jackie and Ray while on a course nearby. The cottages were impeccable, with everything you could possibly need. Jackie and Ray were the perfect hosts and were able to assist me with sightseeing in Chester. A great pub down the road and walks in the hills from your doorstep. Congratulations on winning ‘Self Catering Provider of the Year 2016’ you deserve it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L
Londonderry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding self-catering cottage in wonderful location”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Have just returned from a wonderful four days in this delightful self-contained cottage. It was extremely well equipped and very comfortable. Our two labradors enjoyed the lengthily walks on the Sandstone Trail which is right on the doorstep. Jackie and Ray are great hosts and throughly deserved the award for best self-catering which they won whilst we were there. Would hope to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and quality of the fittings plus the warm welcome of our hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kostas G
1 review
“A wonderfull cottage which add memories to a beautiful place.”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I had a week staying in this beaytifull house. The facilities and decoration of it are all above standard but what makes it unique is the owner's hospitality and friendly approachment. Felt like home and wellcomed and moreover present when needed. Thanks Rey it wil be nice to go back at some time. Not to mention that it is an excellent place to be if you live in Athens Greece and you love traditional country destinations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The absence of mobile phone coverage
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing