We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Flying Horse
Ranked #2 of 3 Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The starter wasn’t anything special. We had roasted lamb for main which was very chewy. Poor choice of desserts. We visited it on a Saturday lunch time at 13h and it was empty. Only our table and another couple.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Radka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017

My boyfriend treated me to a night away at The New Flying Horse recently, he mentioned he wanted to take me away and I explained how winter is in full swing so I would love to stay in a country cottage style pub. Imagining the cute little cottage in the film The Holiday. & oh my god, this was exactly that. From the beautiful exterior to the proper pub feeling inside. Then the bedrooms are so cosy and so trendy with the brick wall statement, not to forget the shortbread biscuit accompanied with a lovely selection of coffee and hot chocolate etc.
We dined in the restaurant in the evening and had a very tasty Sunday Roast for a bargain price. They offer a large selection of wines which is always a bonus!
We also had breakfast which again was very tasty.
Staff were very friendly!
Neither me boyfriend nor myself could fault The New Flying Horse.
We wish to return in the summer so we can enjoy the amazing garden they have!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Went for dinner with our family (with a view to book in February 2018 for works party, we would have required - 3 courses of food, drinks for the night and 6 rooms for the party of 11 or 12. We always check the venue out before booking). However, we were disappointed. The reserved table was right outside the toilets in the restaurant area and when we asked to move somewhere else, we were told all the other tables were booked (As we were not given an option to reserve specific tables, we were perplexed at the issue but they did apologised) The meals were ordered and the sandwich with chips was a hearty portion but the other three meals were small. The cheeseboard at £9 was very small, 3 small pieces of cheese which would not cover the 6 crackers and it arrived 10 minutes after the other desserts (They did apologise again) but we were left feeling let down. The small, blonde waitress was very nice and helpful but the tall brunette was miserable and verged on being rude with her attitude. I actually planned what I would eat when I got home. Thankfully I had plenty of cheese in the fridge!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_Ade_271016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Dog friendly pub and accommodation in converted stables at side of pub. Delicious pub food with variety for most diets. We were leaving early and they made us breakfast to take away, which they didn't have to do and was very nice and appreciated. Great location near the Eurotunnel in picturesque village. Very quiet. Comfortable room, not fancy but clean and suitable for a night or two. Parking available on site.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peartree259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

I stayed here 5 years ago with family and although staff have moved on the Inn is still charming and comfortable. We had 3 nights here in room 1 which is a family room with a queen size bed, double with single bunk over - really lovely room with a quirky hall way to get to the room eg: sloping floors, low door way - loved it ! The bathroom was on the small side for a family bathroom and the floor would be soaked after a shower. The rooms were kept clean and the tea/coffee/shortbread and even bottles of water were all restocked every day as well as bathroom items. Although the rooms are above the pub it was very quiet. The Stable rooms are at the back of the Inn and you can have your dog with you.

Breakfast was great with cereal, juice and the waitress would bring tea and coffee and a cooked breakfast to order.

All the meals are reasonably priced and there is a good variety. However, eating here for 3 nights, I felt the food was a bit of hit and miss. They even ran out of all salmon by Sunday night (no smoked salmon for breakfast either) . For one of the meals I ordered the vegetarian Quinoa salad, I have enjoyed a version of this dish else where so my advice to the chef is to make the portion smaller and add 2 poached eggs on top instead of 1 hard boiled egg. Would have been good to have a specials board as well.

We also enjoyed a Quizz night with the locals and I still love the fact you can have your dog with you in the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wye
4 km away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,344 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashford International Hotel
3.7 km away
The Conningbrook Hotel
The Conningbrook Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennington
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
0.2 km away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#1 of 3 in Wye
289 reviews
0.2 km away
The Wife of Bath
The Wife of Bath
#3 of 3 in Wye
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Flying Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Flying Horse

Address: Upper Bridge Street, Wye, Ashford TN25 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wye
Price Range: $119 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Flying Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The New Flying Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Flying Horse Hotel Wye
The New Flying Horse Wye, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing