We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”

Review of The Gables Retreat

The Gables Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo The master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo
The master bedroom
The master en suite
The sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 en suite
Bathroom shared by bedrooms 2 & 3
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor en suite shower room
TV/Play room
The under cover gazebo
The toy barn
Kitchen
The extensive grounds
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SouthShie...
south shields
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a lovely house in a lovely setting. Ten of us stayed for one week and had a fabulous time. The house is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and it had everything that you would want to make you feel at home. We enjoyed lying back in the hot tub watching Rolo the horse and her three sheep friends. The gardens were also fabulous, our boys played football and swingball; and all of the adults joined in games of croquet ( found at the property). All in all a great place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Hello Joy. Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Gables Retreat and that the boys made good use of the outdoor space. We feel it is a great place for children of all ages to play and relax. We hope to welcome you all back again sometime in the future. With our best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexRoa...
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We're Back for More!”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Last year we said "It will be almost impossible to surpass" so we returned this year! Again all expectations were exceeded and it was just like returning home. From the helpful and friendly welcome from Diane and Bill even before we arrived, to the luxury of the accommodation and outstanding provision of facilities including the magnificent welcoming hamper. The family (10 of us) enjoyed our week just as much as last year as Gables Retreat is such a safe, peaceful location, but well placed for the many attractions on offer in Lincolnshire.
A perfect venue for a three generation family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Dear Tony, thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. It is always lovely to hear such positive feedback, particularly from guests on return visits to The Gables Retreat, as we always want them to enjoy their stay just as much as the first time. It was lovely to see you all again and to see the children enjoying the garden and grounds so much. We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future. Best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davistony...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real gem of a property, would recommend to everyone.”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My friends and I booked the Gables for an extended 4 day weekend break. We all had a wonderful time and would all recommend the property to other people. Just after we arrived we met the owner Diane who made use feel at home. There was a beautiful hamper left in the kitchen to start us on our way.

Inside, the property has a good layout, and we found it to have been cleaned to a high standard. Very comfortable beds and furniture. There was a selection of board games and toy for toddlers available.

Outside, the property is set in a beautiful location with plenty of space. We spent the most of the day outside where there is ample patio furniture and of course the fantastic 8 person hot tub which we used late into the evening. There was a selection of garden toys to suit all aged from toddlers, to adult.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: didn't book a long enough break
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Dear Tony, thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at The Gables Retreat. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time there and hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah R
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic half term holiday”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous large accommodation and settings. Plenty of safe outdoor space for the children to enjoy playing football and cricket. Hot tub great to unwind in enabling a fully relaxing holiday. Friendly horses and sheep in the field next to the house have been well fed by the children also! Lovely walks locally and visited Market Rasen and Lincoln too, would recommend the Sunnyside Up cafe and shop for a bite to eat and to buy local sources good. Barest holiday despite the weather would recommend it to all ages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Dear Anthea & Sarah, thank you very much for posting a review so promptly of your stay at The Gables Retreat. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and found plenty to do despite not having the best weather. We hope to welcome you back to the property in the future. Kind regards, Diane & Bill Marshall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairej10...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury in the country with city close at hand.”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of 8 friends who have been going away for about 30 years. We have stayed in some lovely places over the years but this was an amazing find. The house was set in lovely grounds and was very comfortable and clean. Everything was luxurious and the welcome hamper was superb. I would highly recommend this property and we will book again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedrooms and bathrooms.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Dear Claire, thank you so much for making the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. With our best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing