We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury in the country with city close at hand.”

Review of The Gables Retreat

The Gables Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo The master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo
The master bedroom
The master en suite
The sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 en suite
Bathroom shared by bedrooms 2 & 3
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor en suite shower room
TV/Play room
The under cover gazebo
The toy barn
Kitchen
The extensive grounds
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clairej10...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury in the country with city close at hand.”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of 8 friends who have been going away for about 30 years. We have stayed in some lovely places over the years but this was an amazing find. The house was set in lovely grounds and was very comfortable and clean. Everything was luxurious and the welcome hamper was superb. I would highly recommend this property and we will book again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedrooms and bathrooms.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Dear Claire, thank you so much for making the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. With our best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenw765
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fabulous house, very well maintained”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to The Gables and it was excellent on both occasions. The house is spacious, well furnished and spotlessly clean. The kitchen is well equipped, all bedrooms and bathrooms are modern and comfortable, we can't fault it. Our group has been taking weekend breaks together for 15 years and although we always rent similar properties we all agree this is one of the best. It's in a peaceful rural spot, you definitely need a car to get out and about. Access is via roads that can be rather muddy due to all the farming vehicles but as long as that doesn't bother you too much it is not a problem. The welcome 'basket' (more like a hamper) is fantastic with specialty breads, jam, bacon, eggs, crisps - delicious! The hot tub is well sheltered and well maintained without stinking of chlorine. All in all this is a fabulous property and we would certainly consider staying there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Muddy roads
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillandJu...
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stylish luxury”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from an amazing weekend at Gables Retreat. What a beautiful home in lovely countryside, the house is perfect and every room beautifully decorated with a perfect English country homely feel. The hot tub was great and ideal for late afternoon or evening relaxing. We had lovely spa treatments on Saturday and caterers in for dinner who were also brilliant. Can't recommend this enough, we go away as a group of ladies every year and this was our best choice yet. Would love to go back. Oh and the 3 sheep, pony, and cat, who trotted up for a friendly hello each day were lovely too! Thanks for a perfect weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Dear Julie, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments about the house. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Gables Retreat, and we hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future. With our best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Most Enjoyable Family Christmas”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

All three generations, aged from 2 to 70, ten in all, gathered for our customary family Christmas, had a wonderful time at the Gales Retreat. The spacious, comfortably furnished house felt like a family home, perfect for the occasion. Everyone agreed that this was the best of the holiday "cottages" we have rented for Christmas over the years. We greatly appreciated the luxurious touches, and the helpfulness and friendliness of the owners. We hope we will be able to return at sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Dear Peter, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Gables Retreat over the Christmas period. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that The Gables Retreat provided you with the space and comfort you required for your festive break. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With our best wishes, Bill and Diane Marshall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home from home”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had fantastic stay at The Gables Retreat from my husbands 60th birthday with all our family including the grandchildren (toddler and baby). We had a lovely welcome from Diane and the welcome pack was excellent. The house was very well appointed with everything you could want and spotlessly clean. Although my daughter had taken toys for my grandson he loved the toys at the house, especially the Bob the builder trucks. The property was very spacious and the hot tub was very welcoming even on a cold and misty November evening. We would definitely like to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
Dear Tricia, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your stay at The Gables Retreat - we're so pleased it worked so well for your husband's 60th and that you all had a lovely time together at the house. We very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. With our best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing