We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good day out”

Fleet Air Arm Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 16.54*
and up
Fleet Air Museum Admission Ticket
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Ilchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Fleet Air Arm Museum will thrill the whole family. Get up close and personal with Europe's largest collection of Naval aircraft and see the first British Concorde.You'll 'Fly' by helicopter to the replica flight deck of the Ark Royal where two enormous projection screens show aircraft taking off and landing. Witness an air sea rescue when a Buccaneer is lost over the side into the sea. There's even a nuclear bomb.Situated alongside RNAS Yeovilton, you may also see aircraft flying in and out.Visit The Fleet Air Arm Museum. The thrill is being there. Opening hours 10:00 am to 4.30pm November until March and 10:00am to 5.30pm April to October.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Come rain (for us) or shine a great place to spend a good few hours of history. 4 halls are set out well, no overcrowding of exhibits, and easy to follow boards which tell the history of “sailors who fly” who with the army corps of flyers made up the airforc prior to the formation of the RAF. Interactive “carrier” experience was enjoyed by children and the whole museum is user friendly for wheelchairs and buggies. Like aircraft? Like the museum!

1  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you so much for your positive review Nigel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again. If you can spare a further 5 minutes, please do complete our visitor survey via the "your feedback" link on our website. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"on display"
in 62 reviews
"all ages"
in 98 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 103 reviews
"picnic area"
in 31 reviews
"rainy day"
in 43 reviews
"entry fee"
in 21 reviews
"value for money"
in 47 reviews
"family ticket"
in 19 reviews
"year old son"
in 23 reviews
"sandwiches"
in 20 reviews
"plenty of parking"
in 22 reviews
"carrier experience"
in 190 reviews
"flight deck"
in 120 reviews
"gift aid"
in 64 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 61 reviews
"royal navy"
in 45 reviews
"fleet air arm"
in 40 reviews
Filter

96 - 100 of 1,667 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

spent 3 hours here on a rainy day, and it was excellent , a good number of military planes from the start of naval flying. and they had a mockup of an aircraft island for you to explore.plus to cap it all they have a concorde for you to explore

1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your comments David - we agree the Museum is the perfect rainy day destination. We hope to see you again and if you can spare a few more minutes, please do complete our visitor survey via our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Second visit to the Fleet Air Am Museum. I don't think I have seen everything and will return again soon.

Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you Dave - there is a lot to see here! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If you would like to leave more feedback, please complete our visitor survey via our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We visited with a 5 and 7 year old and they loved it. Even the outdoor play area was a big hit, and the aircraft carrier experience was superb (with a walk around for the smaller one who found the simulated helicopter journey a bit much). Some iconic aircraft for the grown ups, with some great trails you can print out before visiting or pick up there for the little ones.

Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your review Tim. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your visit. If you can spare 5 more minutes, please do complete our visitor survey via the link on our website. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

A fantastic museum on aviation history and naval air history. You will need a full day to cover all the halls and displays...it's impossible to be bored with so much to see and do. I recommend joining the guided tours (harrier jet/concord) for a more in-depth understanding of their place in aviation history. Hall 3 should not be missed as the visit to the island (aircraft carrier) is first class. The museum is family-friendly, disability friendly and has excellent facilities (toilets in all halls, a cafe and both indoor and outdoor picnic spaces to allow you to self cater). The museum is excellent value for money (if your a visitor to the area you can save 20% with a voucher in many of the tourist booklets)

Thank bosskunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fleet Air Arm Museum also viewed

 
Yeovil, Somerset
Montacute, Somerset
 

Been to Fleet Air Arm Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing