We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing staff”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burslem
Reviewed 3 April 2017

recently paid a visit to the glorious George hotel, and I must say the service was just short of being like Buckingham palace servants, amazing rooms and the food was well over 5 star rating in my eyes, I must comment that the long blonde haired bar maid was extremely pleasant and welcoming whilst I stayed with you, she needs a promotion and the correct name badges so customers like myself can praise them instead of all of your staff being called 'staff', before my complimenting review ends I must state that the receptionist was extremely helpful, polite and pleasant and I will definitely be coming back. such a turn round since I last stayed with you and I am definitely recommending this hotel to all of my family and friends. THANKYOU!

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor are most pleasant
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank angellalouisesprouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2017

I have fond memories of my wedding reception here years ago and what a disappointment our Mother's Day carvery was. Upon arrival we we ordered 4 diet cokes and were told by a bemused barmaid that there were only 3 glasses and so we had to pay a premium for bottles. No draught bitter even though it was displayed at the pumps. And at the risk of sounding awful the whole presentation of staff and the place itself was disheveled. Then we were sat in the doorway on a makeshift table which was ok to be fair but the food apart from the meat was not good. There was a choice of 3 veg only broccoli, carrots and turnip and to top it off the gravy was like dishwater it was runny and tasteless. We won't be going back unless there's a radical change things have slipped and it's a real shame the George should be a Gem to Burslem Town.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJPATMATTEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Good points staff are friendly and helpful, and it is fairly clean.
In its day it may have been lovely, lots of period features but oh so tired now. Curtains three inches too short no excuse for this, broken bathroom blind, only mirror is in the bathroom so no good for going out, hair dying etc., sachets of coffee for breakfast (!), carpet in bedroom threadbare, taped up on stairs and corridors. Such a shame because with some investment and tlc could be lovely.
If breakfast was included it would almost b reasonable value but as an extra then it is overpriced.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank shelley972016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We went to the George hotel yesterday for afternoon tea having secured a groupon deal. The hotel itself would greatly Benifit from a refurbishment as some of the furnishings etc are looking tired however the customer service we received was absolutely fantastic. The waitresses constantly topped up out teapot and checked that we were happy. The food was delicious with an assortment of finger sandwiches and real hearty slices of cake and scones served with jam and cream. The table linen was white and crisp, staff well turned out, polite and friendly. All in all fantastic value for money. Even at their regular prices we will definitely be returning.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rachied1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

This is a very old hotel, once it would have looked splendid. We had afternoon tea which consisted of a very tiny piece of thin sponge cake, a bought in danish pastry, sandwiches which were quite nice and plenty of tea and coffee. It was almost impossible to park in Burslem to get there, so go early. The assistant was friendly, but she was receptionist, waitress etc and we saw no one else at all working in there, Walking around Burslem after was grim! There is nothing there but closed shops and grotty fast food outlets. We won't go back!

Room Tip: Only went for afternoon tea.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Grangie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burslem
2.4 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
3.9 km away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
540 reviews
4.4 km away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Swan Square, Burslem, Stoke-on-Trent ST6 2AE, England (Formerly Swallow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Burslem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burslem
Price Range: $64 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Stoke On Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing