We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burslem
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my mother and her partner. We'd only called the night before around 1am to book the room, John was very pleasant and helpful and we had a good old natter on the phone whilst I booked the room, he explained everything about check in, parking etc on the phone as we were travelling down from Glasgow. He also said he'd put a note that we wanted to check in early if possible on the Friday.

Arrived on Friday to be greeted by a lovely receptionist Kayleigh who told us that they'd have a room vacant within 30 minutes for us and took out luggage into storage whilst we went out to find a local shop. We came back and were showed to our room. We'd arranged to stay in a triple room as we're all females and only down for the weekend. Room 104 only had single beds and when we explained to kayleigh we'd ideally like a double and single she gave us another room without objection.

The new room, wasn't quite as spacious and I'd of arranged it differently myself personally, however it was freshly painted and clean. The downside was that any time the bathroom was used whether it be flushing the toilet, using the shower or washing your hands, the filter system I think it was, would make a God awful noise. Nick who was the receptionist after Kayleigh went home put us back into room 104 and had 2 lovely staff members give us a double and a single bed.

Absolutely cannot fault this hotel, all the staff members that I met, John, Kayleigh, Nick and a Polish receptionist that I didn't catch the name of were very friendly and accommodated to our needs. I'd definitely stay here again, just not in the room with the noisy water works.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Danii W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2016

i stayed at the George, and found the staff very polite and helpful. The building is old and has period features, as such you have to expect that it may not be as upto date in it's facilities as a modern Premier inn or other large hotel chain. But what you do get is character and lots of history to the building..

The rooms are decorated in an old style, to suit the building,This may not suit many people but it would look odd ( imo) if you stepped into an old building to find modern style decoration and modern fixtures and fittings.

I would like to praise one member of staff in particular NICK, who was on reception and running backward and forwards serving in the busy bar. The poor guy was running around doing several jobs at once (due to a lack of staff?), and helped everyone as best as he could.

Staff like him deserve a medal.

Room Tip: ask for NICK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hello from m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

My partner and I stayed here for a nigh while travelling around the UK. Staff was friendly but the rooms are in need of some TLC. We were unable to get any hot water that night however in the morning it was fine.
Its VERY basic, but if you are just after a bed for the night then its fine.
A short taxi ride from town - under 5 pounds.
Wifi was available however we had trouble connecting.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megsb91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Well the hotel inspector would have a field day with this place!
The beautiful exterior building does not live up on the interior at all.
Thread bare carpets on the stairs with dated fixtures and fittings.
A lack of hot water and a very noisy water system besides.
People walking over the flat roof outside our room constantly and a strong smell of cigarette smoke too from somewhere.
Broken toilet seat. Shower head that squirted water everywhere around the compact bathroom. And the room was not really spacious.
Clean sheets and towels were the best of a bad experience.

Personally I would recommend the travelodge or premier inn locally rather than spend any money here unless they significantly improve the decor fixtures and fittings and general facilities.
The staff were lovely though not an issue with them at all just the quality of offerings for a £95 a night double room it was a joke!
Avoid at all costs.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Even though the night staff was a real good help as we had to move room and they provided us with another room straight away, the rooms where in a state of decay, if they decided to actually look after the rooms it would be such a nice hotel as the whole building is astonishing.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burslem
2.4 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
3.9 km away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
557 reviews
4.4 km away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Swan Square, Burslem, Stoke-on-Trent ST6 2AE, England (Formerly Swallow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Burslem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burslem
Price Range: $65 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Stoke On Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing