We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burslem
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed at the George for a wedding, The staff were amazing, can't thank them enough!
Lovely breakfast and wedding meal.
The hotel is clean and welcoming. A little dated but still good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BD57Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Amazing venue everyone must go the food as always fantastic extremely hot and the presentation superb

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brook2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed here on the odd night.

Old hotel, service is fine on reception. Parking is not great, metered on streets surrounding but free after 6pm. As the hotel is old is has lots of creeks and feels a little rickerty at times.

Did what we expected and OK for one night, perhaps you wouldn't want to stay for a great deal longer. Looks good for functions and when we have been there is usually something going on (wedding, event, etc). Good atmosphere here, just a shame its a little tired I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at The George with a group of friends last week as we were visiting Alton Towers. We were a little worried after reading the negative comments on here, but were delighted when we arrived. We were greeted by a friendly and smiley receptionist and checked in to two twin rooms, both comfortable in size and very clean. After checking we went down into the bar, and stayed there for most of the night! The girl on the bar was very chatty and friendly, and after seeing and smelling the food comeing out to other guests we couldn't resist. I had a steak for about £12 and was cooked perfect!
Couldn't comment on breakfast as we had to leave early to get to Alton Towers but if it was anything like our food it must have been good!
Overall a lovely stay, at a good price, made extra special by the staff.
Will definitely be returning again!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Booked in for an overnight stay, nice hotel just a shame that the breakfast was compromised by the lack of customer service from the ‘blonde’ Receptionist. I asked her several times for a pot of tea but I was made to wait for 20 minutes before I was served, after which it was slammed down onto our breakfast table with a “tut". Only to be asked by another resident about ordering their breakfast, the Receptionist was overheard by myself and my party how “those people in the breakfast room are so rude, I hate doing breakfasts!” Our breakfast was then served by the Chef. What turned out to be a nice stay ended in a poor experience. It is with regret that we shall not be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burslem
2.4 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
539 reviews
8.9 km away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
4.4 km away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Swan Square, Burslem, Stoke-on-Trent ST6 2AE, England (Formerly Swallow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Burslem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burslem
Price Range: $65 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Stoke On Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing