We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location for a large group”
other travellers have booked this property
The Granary.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary.
Sleeps up to 10 Guests Ratied 4 star gold for the 4th year in succession.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The Granary.
Sleeps up to 10 Guests
Ratied 4 star gold for the 4th year in succession.
Enjoy The Granary grounds
Stylish open plan living
Fully fitted kitchen
Dining Area
Open Plan Lounge Area
Whirlpool bath to master bedroom
Shower to Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
View From Lounge Window
Games Room with air hockey, football table
Games Room / Darts / Pool table and lots of indoor games.
Relax by The Pond
Pond view
Our delightful American miniature horses
Our 3 yurts  can accommodate up to  12 guests
100's of fish and birds by day.  See the bats at night.
Luxury Yurts interier. Can sleep up to 5 adults
Luxury gym (unsupervised) + DVD  player to play keep fit/yoga videos. Extra cost - ask for details
Extra space for large groups.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Clare, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tom M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location for a large group”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here with extended family. There were 18 of us in total and it wasn't easy to find a place that could comfortably accommodate a group that size. We easily fitted in here. Some us slept in yurts (much more comfortable that I thought!) and my mother-in-law and her husband slept in the cottage. It's a nice spot and there are reindeer and peacocks living in the garden. The beautiful Clare is nearby, with its long history as a cloth-making town and its castle and disused railway lines.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We are glad you all enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
204Jerry
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect venue for a sophisticated hen”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I booked the Granary and two large yurts for my sister in laws hen weekend and couldn't fault it. Booking from Surrey meant I was relying on the website and guidance from Brian and Julie, but I really shouldn't have worried as it was every bit as beautiful as the pictures and comments on the website. If you are unsure, play the video on the website, and you will still be blown away when you arrive. There were 20 of us during the course of the weekend and everyone had a great time. The hot tub is a must and the champagne fridge came in very handy! There is plenty to do on site and the surroundings are beautiful.

On the Saturday night we booked a table at The Plough (they ask you to pre-order if there is a large group, but didn't require a deposit) and the food was very good and the staff very friendly. As a 'townie' I couldn't believe how peaceful it was walking to the pub!

We had two Waitrose deliveries during our stay with no problems at all. There is plenty of fridge and cupboard space and all the plates, cutlery etc you need for a big group...and a dishwasher!

Brian showed us round when we arrived and was only a phone call away if we needed him. Otherwise they left us to explore and enjoy our weekend. The booking process was stress free and Julie responded to my e-mails very quickly and provided all the information I required.

All in all a fantastic weekend - thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cchayes87
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic Hen Weekend ”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Granary is the perfect location for all occasions. I am planning on returning with my family next year for my 30th birthday.

We came here for my sister's hen weekend (10 of us) and we were blown away by how lovely the accommodation was. We were greeted by Brian, who showed us around and gave us instructions on how to use the facilities. Once settled, we were able to explore the grounds, which consisted of a beautiful lake, horses and reindeer!

The Granary itself was perfect, a huge amount of space with very comfortable beds, a number of bathrooms (which was great for a group of girls!) and a hot tub that had a mini fridge and speaker - great for relaxing.

The games room was good fun and the local pub, (The Plough) which is just down the road if you turn right out of the accommodation, was great for an afternoon drink in the sun as it has a lovely beer garden with a view.

I would recommend it for a family holiday/hen weekend/ group of friends getting away - pretty much any occasion!

Connie

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab weekend!”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My friends and I stayed for 2 nights in March and we had a fantastic time! We rented the Granary and one of the Yurts and couldn't find fault with either!

The location is perfect for what we wanted - peace and quiet - and the directions provided took us to the door. Be aware though as it is out of the way you will need to be organised when it comes to food and drink; there is a Tesco and Sainsbury's within 10 minutes but if you're like us you may not want to go back out once you arrived so I would recommend stocking up on the way and then loading the fridge and freezer once there.

Finally....get the hot tub!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“FABULOUS - would go again”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Staying here was such a nice retreat for a group of 12 of us. The place was SO CLEAN and big and extremely green. A perfect break.
The rooms were clean and big and the facilities were incredible.
Liasing with Brian & Julie was very easy and they were so helpful.

Would strongly recommend if you need time away with family/friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing