We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect country retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Upper House cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upper House cottage
Automatic gates  East side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Upper House cottage
Automatic gates
East side
summer's day, roses by front door
Front door
Hallway
Upstairs to the bright living room
Sitting room view
Champagne on the balcony, view to the west
Comfortable seating
Charming details
Homely and welcoming
Attention to detail
galley kitchen
Dining area
Well-equipped for cooking...
...and cleaning up afterwards
Bright attractive bathroom
Shower
Bright double bedroom
Plenty of storage
Twin beds in the second bedroom
evening light
spectacular autumn sunset
A sheltered, private balcony
Walks on the doorstep
Off-lane parking
A truly rural setting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Colerne, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Melaniech...
1 review
“Perfect country retreat”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We were all a little reluctant to spend christmas away from home especially with young children, but once there we were all made to feel very much at home by the welcoming owners. Some essentials eg milk had been left and the cottage had every amenity you could wish for, and topped off with a real Christmas tree. It was very warm, comfortable and cosy with fabulous views of the gorgeous countryside. Perfect location just six miles from Bath. We had a wonderful few days in the perfect country retreat, and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your generous comments - it was great to have a young family in our cottage for Christmas, and I'm glad it was such a success.
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherpa681...
1 review
“A homely relaxing cottage”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This was perfect for a family gathering of six adults and three under 6's for one day. The Grandchildren found the view of the cows quite exciting, especially the 4 year old who stayed over for two nights.
The beds were the best we had stayed in any rental accommodation.
Great location for easy reach of Chippenham and Bath.
A nice clean, warm and cosy cottage.
Will made sure we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Thank you so much - we were very happy that you had such a good time - please come again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie A
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just perfect at any time of year!”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage was perfect for our escape to the peaceful countryside.! We loved the open plan room upstairs, which meant that we and our teenagers could relax and spend quality time together in the same room....we actually sat and watched DVDs together which we never manage to do at home.
The kitchen was well stocked....the homemade marmalade was wonderful thank you....and soon all gone!
The bedrooms and shower room were beautifully finished with quality bedding, electric blankets, magazines on the bedside tables and fluffy towels. Will and Lettie really have thought of everything!
Bath and Bristol were close enough to do the usual touristy bits.
A very relaxing break and we will definitely return, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your glowing review.We aim to make our cottage 'a home from home' ! and we do very much appreciate feedback ! Come again in the summer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanC40
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super, peaceful cottage with all home conveniences”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spent the weekend at this lovely cosy cottage and look forward to going back. Everything you could possibly need is provided, even down to books and games.
Provisions were waiting for us on arrival and were greatly appreciated!
The lounge is very comfortable with great views into open countryside. The beds are super comfortable and the whole place was warm and cosy. I can't think of anything I could fault or would have liked to have had in addition to what is already supplied.
Bath, Bristol and lots of lovely places to eat and drink all within easy reach. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: Stay was over too quickly!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Thank you both for your wonderful review. We much look forward to your return to visit your daughter at Bath Uni !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm W
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, first class and highly recommended.”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A beautiful cottage in a lovely setting, home from home with all amenities.

Lettie and Will were delightful hosts who were available for any query in their adjacent property, they could not do enough to ensure we were happy. We even received fresh runner beans and tomatoes.

We have not had a cottage before and would highly recommend this charming venue.

We will come again and we have already recommended it to several friends, thank you for a wonderful break.

Own transport essential.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convivial, nothing too much trouble hosts, top class.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike, the people and the place were brilliant.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Thank you so much .I am glad you were so happy in our cottage, and I hope the inquiry went in your favour We very much hope you will come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing