We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Japanese food”
Review of the blinker - CLOSED

the blinker
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 65
Cuisines: Sushi, European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 October 2017

My only experience with The Blinker was a take away order of a "Dream Box" and, let me tell you, it was indeed a dream! The quality of the ingredients was really good (this is vital when having sushi) and the quantity of the portion was more than enough for 2. I'm now looking forward to try the rest of the menu!

Thank marcoplfilipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

The Blinker is easy find and there are many parking places so do not get discourage because It is in a garage zone.
Once you get in, what a wonderful surprise! Great classy ambiance with a relax atmosphere. The host, Hubert, can't be nicer. He is really into making your visit a memorable one. Beside that, service was neat as well.
Food was extraordinary: pure defined flavors and beautiful presentation where you can see how all is full of details. Try the Blinkers Tapas Special as an entree but keep in mind It is huge. Then feel free to order anything in the menu since all is great including sushies. Prices are in accordance to the quality. Enjoy!

Thank Monicaferrerasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

You cannot eat better here, everything is divine, well done and grand attention to detail.
I took a heavy hitter in the industry and his comment was the best food in Swiss and I agree. Herbert Erni the host, is once again the best in Swiss. If your for taste, style, detail and grown up this place is for you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nicholegarnaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Again fantastic location, best food by kitchen fairy Michèle, great service & best host I know. Always feeling like home!!! Food is simply fantastic & her eye for making the perfect plate is just amazing. Love to go there and have never been disappointed! Cannot wait to go back! Thank you all for another fantastic evening!!!

Thank vak0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I am writing to complain about the unacceptable treatment that I received. I eat in restaurants on a regular basis and due to my very busy schedule , I rarely make any comments on any internet sites.

To mention the plus-point, the food quality was excellent. The restaurant certainly deserves its Gault-Millaus points. This rating system is strictly based on the quality of the food. Service, price and ambience are unfortunately not taken into account and usually commented on separately.

If you are looking for excellent food, but affordable, then this is not the place to go to.

What bothered me the most, was that I was charged 6 Franks for tap water which I ordered for my well-behaved toddler. This costed more than the softdrinks. Apparently this is not noted in the drinks menu which they refused to show me. I complained to the waiter who didn't even thank me for the generous tip. The head waiter (owner) spoke to me in a very demeaning fashion. Despite paying an enormous amount for the meal, he interpreted my complaint as a "looking for a free meal attitude". He suggested that I should rather go to Coop or Migros restaurants as there I won't be charged for water. He then told me off saying I should rather stay home and never come eat there again.
Despicable and primitive behaviour!

5  Thank Swissmami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theblinker, Owner at the blinker, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017
Google Translation

hallo swissmami herzlichen dank für bereits den zweiten eintrag für den selben besuch vom april 2017. das letzte mal haben sie unter dem namen FraBi776 Modena Italy einen eintrag getätigt. diesesmal mit swissmami entweder dieselbe person oder sie haben ein zweites profil. was auch immer! für alle nachlesbar beim eintrag vom 29. april 2017! ich habe ihnen folgendes geantwortet und kopiere den text gleich nochmals hier in diesen beitrag!
herzlichen dank für ihr promptes feedback welches wir von ihnen erwartet haben! ihr besuch vom letzen freitagabend haben wir leider immer noch nicht verdaut! sie kommen ins restaurant begeben sich und ihre zwei unerzogenen kinder an einen extra für sie hingerichteten grossen tisch. das eine kind zieht gleich die schuhe aus und wirft sie einfach auf den boden. ihre mäntel und kleider der kinder werden auf den bank geschmiessen. ein triptrap wird unumgänglich organisiert und ich glaube über die qualität der speisen brauchen wir hier gar nicht zu diskutieren. sie haben mir ja persönlich bestätigt dass das essen aussergewöhnlich toll geschmeckt hat. am schluss haben sie sich noch beschwert dass sie für hahnenwasser bezahlen müssen! ich habe ihnen aussdrücklich erklärt warum wir im restaurant hahnenwasser berechnen. sie wollten das aber partout nicht begreifen und dann habe ich sie gebeten dass sie mit ihren unerzogenen kinder am besten einfach zu hause bleiben sollten. dieses statement habe ich in meiner über 50 jährigen karrier erst das zweite mal angewendet. ich wünsche ihnen bei der erziehung ihrer kinder viel glück und hoffe dass die ganze familie glücklich werden wird! any way happy sunday aus dem blinker hubert erni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the blinker also viewed

Zug, Canton of Zug
 
Rotkreuz, Canton of Zug
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing