We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
16
13
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
13
4
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Cenang Memories Motel

Simple B&B, clean, convenient and charming. Nice view from 2nd floor and RM 15 to Cenang Beach area for food and shopping. Simple breakfast provided and helpful staff. Hard for them to understand anything beyond basic English but they try.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank VacationBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

I booked this for 3 nights based on TripAdvisor reviews and was really disappointed, it was a really bad experience.
Some of the feedback is right, the owner seemed like a nice guy and the place is pretty clean, but I can't believe how bad the traffic noise is and that more reviews don't mention it.

I was in a room on the ground floor so probably got the worst of it, but the hotel is on a bend on the main cenang to kuah road with motel style rooms facing the road and the traffic about 10 meters from the window going 50/60kmh. No double glazing or soundproofing and the traffic non stop all night.

Even with earplugs in, I got no sleep so checked out and found somewhere else after the first night. No refund available for the remaining nights (quote) 'because I paid on credit card'.

Putting the noise aside, I'd probably give this place a bad review anyway as there were too many things wrong, such as....

- no hot water for shower
- power sockets not working
- air con didn't cool room
- only local channels on the tv so pretty much pointless
- really poor quality wifi, patchy & slow

I'd maybe tolerate this in a £10 a night backpacker place, but this was £30 a night so I'd expect better.

If you've come to langkawi and you're not staying in one of the resorts then chances are you won't spend much time in your hotel and it will just be a place to sleep, shower & check your Facebook. Given that at I wasn't able to do any of these at the Cenang Memories motel, I would not recommend a stay there.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank nickyorkshire2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Masood was awesome, great and friendly
Very helpful. Place was pretty clean and the store next to the motel was easy to rent a bike for 45 ringets a day. Motel also provided free breakfast when we were there, was definitely a plus.

Stayed there for two nights.

Definitely a lot of mosquito on the 2nd night. It's close to a road so some noise before bed and early in the morning but pretty quiet through the night.

My opinion beats the busyness of being on the main attractions near the beach
This place is nicely located to get there quickly by scooter. Maybe 5-6 mins. Great deal

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

The location is directly on the street but there's a little garden separate the room from the street little noisy (not during the night) but you feel really comfortable. Room really clean and big, wonderful bed (we sleep very well), good bathroom and shower. The air conditioner really silent and the breakfast good for our standards (cereals, milk, fruit, toast, eggs, noodle, malaysian pastry, orange juice, coffe, tea, jam and butter). The worst thing is that wifi doesn't work in our room (the last one, number 5) because the signal was really poor (also in the lobby is not so fast but workable).

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LizRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Stayed there for New Year's eve with my parents. The rooms are large and very clean. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, which made it a great pleasure to stay at Cenang Memories. The breakfast is also good and once again the helpful team realises all your extra wishes immediately.
The only down side is the distance to the beach, however, its a short ride by taxi.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helge-Carstensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews