We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value, great beach, rustic but honest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sunset Beach for six night on our honeymoon, after a shorter stay in KL. The booking process was pretty simple - all completed by email, no hitches or glitches - and the rooms were good value at 190 Rm per night for a Sunset II (double room). First impressions driving from the airport to the Sunset Beach were that Langkawi was perhaps a bit more run down than you would expect, with scrubby fields, untidy pavements and loads of little stalls and shops selling the obligatory beachware and souvenirs. Once you're off the main roads and onto the beach, though, the change is striking.

The Sunset Beach is right on the quieter Pantai Tengah beach rather than the busier Pantai Cenang. It's separated by a little rocky outcrop so you have to go onto the main road to travel between the two, and this must keep Pantai Tengah a bit more secluded. The beach itself is beautiful, a real paradise island vista, although there is some litter on the sand (bottles, flip-flops etc). The sea is warm and not too rough - the waves can be strong but don't pull you out, rather they seem to throw you back onto the beach if they're not bobbing you up and down. No problems with jellyfish while we were there.

The hotel itself is quiet, with only 20-odd rooms. It's basic and can look a bit shabby in places, although this comes across more as traditional rustic charm rather than dirt or disrepair. Staff are great, breakfast is basic (but you get to eat it looking out over the sea), sun loungers are only ever half-full (and there are only about 14 of them) and the path past the rooms and onto the beach is lined with orchids and water features. The hotel is basic and budget, but the greenery and the atmosphere mean it's at least as classy in feel as most of the other hotels nearby, even the larger ones (not counting the five-stars like the Datai, obviously).

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but it's directly next-door to the Oasis Beach Bar which does a good range of western and Indian food as well as great, cheap beers and cocktails. The other venues in the Sunset chain are also worth a visit, particular the Sunbar Grill and the Mata Hari restaurants - again, a cut above most of the other restaurants in the area.

Overall, we were really pleased with the hotel and our stay. The island offers lots of things to do, from parascending and cable cars to boat trips on the mangroves and rainforest treks - with shopping, massages, and just lounging in the 34-degree sun for the less energetic. There are some amazing beaches, hidden waterfalls, great restaurants and beautiful views. There can be litter too, and lizards, and the sewer grills could do with covering up here and there, but the Sunset Beach was certainly a success for us (relaxed, not too fussy, not luxury but great for the self-sufficient and the down-to-earth) and we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Strelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 462 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2009

Just returned form a kl & lankawi trip. Sunset resort is a excellent resort with good value for money. Its has a nice clean almost private beach. Only thing was missing was there was no music at night on the beach. But i have gone through all the hotels in langkawi with this price tag and prime location there is simply no other hotel available. The staffs are very friendly always keep smiling and say hello. Even after check out they dont hesitate to provide you with towels, soap, shampoo e.t.c for going to beach and using their toilets. Oasis resturant just beside sunset its a very good place for a candle light & siitng on the beach dinner. Paitai chenang the main beach and heart of langkawi is 10 min walking distance from resort. But when u r in lankawi renting a car is must and its cheap only 50 myr for 24 hours and fuel at 1.8 myr thats extreme cheap.
There is nothing much to see or do at lankawi just water sports activities and cable car to sky bridge.
Our trip was amazing hope u ppl good luck next time u visit langkawi.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakhter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

This hotel is far too expensive for what you get. We stayed 2 nights and then moved out.
Unfortunately there are very few good value places on this island, with the exception of the 5 star places with 5 star prices.
Maintainance is not their strenght. The rooms would need refitting.
Garbage is also a major problem on this island which could be paradise if properly taken care of.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gugi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed here during chinese new year and booked a week before we went so we were pretty much left with this unless we wanted to pay exorbitant prices for other hotels. Even so this hotel was expensive when we booked! RM290 p/night for a family room.

There were 6 of us and we had 2 separate rooms. The parents had a room to themselves and 4 of us shared a family room. The size of the room is huge and there aren't that many rooms here. It is air conditioned but it has chock full of mosquitoes! The rooms are very dated and old but they keep it clean. The bathrooms are OK, a bit dated but a decent size.

Ladies who work there are very friendly and laid back, always with a smile. Breakfast buffet is very basic, egg, toast, ham, jams and cereal.

Here's my tip to ward off mosquitoes. Borrow the mosquito spray from the front desk and before you leave for your day trip, give your room a good spray and lock the doors behind you, DO NOT leave any windows opened. When you come home you will come back to a room mosquito-less.

The hotel is also connected to the beach so you can lounge at the beach, it's not crowded and quite peaceful. If you like massages, their in house masseuse is strong and great if you want to experience a traditional malay massage.

location wise, not much to complain about, it's in a moderately busy area.

If you want to go online, purchase a rm10 pass for a day that will give you wifi access.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank booffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

sunset beach resort is a budget hotel with simply fabulous reviews by others. I went there with the impression it would be a true gem like Alam Jiwa in Bali, also similarly priced.
The nice things about the place is the fabulous beach and its sunset , the lovely plantlife landscaping in the passageway and the lady at the reception called Mas. very nice and helpful.
Yet considering its high reviews I think it important to highlight some facts especially for family travellers.
The place reception is virtually deserted later in the night, so if there is any emergency there is no one. Rooms have no phones either to connect to the reception. The management itself has kept the rooms in a very shabby condition. The AC in our family room was not working properly and the weather in lankawi in the day is FUMING hot! The bathroom has no window, exhaust fan or ventilation. There are no toiletries but soap and there is only a shower to bathe with and no tap or hand shower. To top it all the sheets have all kinds of spots and are very old and dirty looking.
I really think travellers should know all this before falling in love with other reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jaya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.6 km away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#2 of 7 in Pantai Tengah
455 reviews
11.5 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7.3 km away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
1.3 km away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
13.1 km away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: AU$57 - AU$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing