We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
230
319
98
25
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
319
98
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underwater world air con basic amenities koh lipe small fridge sun loungers red tomato free shops the main street visit langkawi beach island tengah pathway sand malaysia plug
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Just returned form a kl & lankawi trip. Sunset resort is a excellent resort with good value for money. Its has a nice clean almost private beach. Only thing was missing was there was no music at night on the beach. But i have gone through all the hotels in langkawi with this price tag and prime location there is simply no other hotel available. The staffs are very friendly always keep smiling and say hello. Even after check out they dont hesitate to provide you with towels, soap, shampoo e.t.c for going to beach and using their toilets. Oasis resturant just beside sunset its a very good place for a candle light & siitng on the beach dinner. Paitai chenang the main beach and heart of langkawi is 10 min walking distance from resort. But when u r in lankawi renting a car is must and its cheap only 50 myr for 24 hours and fuel at 1.8 myr thats extreme cheap.
There is nothing much to see or do at lankawi just water sports activities and cable car to sky bridge.
Our trip was amazing hope u ppl good luck next time u visit langkawi.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakhter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

This hotel is far too expensive for what you get. We stayed 2 nights and then moved out.
Unfortunately there are very few good value places on this island, with the exception of the 5 star places with 5 star prices.
Maintainance is not their strenght. The rooms would need refitting.
Garbage is also a major problem on this island which could be paradise if properly taken care of.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gugi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed here during chinese new year and booked a week before we went so we were pretty much left with this unless we wanted to pay exorbitant prices for other hotels. Even so this hotel was expensive when we booked! RM290 p/night for a family room.

There were 6 of us and we had 2 separate rooms. The parents had a room to themselves and 4 of us shared a family room. The size of the room is huge and there aren't that many rooms here. It is air conditioned but it has chock full of mosquitoes! The rooms are very dated and old but they keep it clean. The bathrooms are OK, a bit dated but a decent size.

Ladies who work there are very friendly and laid back, always with a smile. Breakfast buffet is very basic, egg, toast, ham, jams and cereal.

Here's my tip to ward off mosquitoes. Borrow the mosquito spray from the front desk and before you leave for your day trip, give your room a good spray and lock the doors behind you, DO NOT leave any windows opened. When you come home you will come back to a room mosquito-less.

The hotel is also connected to the beach so you can lounge at the beach, it's not crowded and quite peaceful. If you like massages, their in house masseuse is strong and great if you want to experience a traditional malay massage.

location wise, not much to complain about, it's in a moderately busy area.

If you want to go online, purchase a rm10 pass for a day that will give you wifi access.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank booffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

sunset beach resort is a budget hotel with simply fabulous reviews by others. I went there with the impression it would be a true gem like Alam Jiwa in Bali, also similarly priced.
The nice things about the place is the fabulous beach and its sunset , the lovely plantlife landscaping in the passageway and the lady at the reception called Mas. very nice and helpful.
Yet considering its high reviews I think it important to highlight some facts especially for family travellers.
The place reception is virtually deserted later in the night, so if there is any emergency there is no one. Rooms have no phones either to connect to the reception. The management itself has kept the rooms in a very shabby condition. The AC in our family room was not working properly and the weather in lankawi in the day is FUMING hot! The bathroom has no window, exhaust fan or ventilation. There are no toiletries but soap and there is only a shower to bathe with and no tap or hand shower. To top it all the sheets have all kinds of spots and are very old and dirty looking.
I really think travellers should know all this before falling in love with other reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jaya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

First we stayed here 3 days but our holiday was so great that a month later we came back for 5 more days. Checking the reviews about Langkawi accommodations gave me the feeling that in this price range we won't find anything good, but this hotel was a pretty nice surprise - it is excellent value for money. Reading some previous reviews I was a bit afraid there was going to be some mess up with the booking but although we arrived very late at night, everything went fine. (I also called them a day before our arrival just to make sure that they still have our reservation.)
The room was OK - nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Next morning we were amazed how great the hotel's location is. It is situated right next to the sea on a lovely sandy beach. It is clean, the water is calm and warm and only a couple of people use this so you can almost have it to yourself. The hotel has a number of sun chairs where you can crash in the shade of the palm trees or you can sunbath on the beach. There is a wide choice of restaurants nearby as well as shops and supermarkets - all within walking distance. We tried Sun Group's cafe and restaurant - both were great and just a short stroll from the hotel.
The staff was really great; everybody was very kind and helpful and they made us feel welcome. They gave us valuable local advice on organizing our trips and were always ready to answer our questions. It was a nice surprise that from the very first day the ladies at the reception called us by our first names - considering the number of guests it is a great achievement.
I can’t mention anything that I didn’t like. If I need to say something bad it would probably be the breakfast: it's kind of basic (scrambled egg, sausages, jam, butter and some fruits) and didn't taste that good. I also wouldn’t recommend this hotel for those looking for luxury - there is no bar or restaurant to start with. But apart from these we had a great time and I would definitely go back anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews