We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
231
320
98
25
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
320
98
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underwater world air con beautiful sunset basic amenities koh lipe small fridge sun loungers red tomato the main strip free shops visit langkawi beach island tengah pathway sand malaysia
Filter
Updating list...
506 - 511 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Sunset Beach is a small place, with cabins set in a lovely garden. At the end of the walk is the most beautiful little stretch of beach. It is uncrowded, clean, shaded with palms.... There aren't any fancy amentities - like a pool or bar - but that makes it more peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are large, each with a small lanai, but they are nothing fancy. The staff is wonderful.

The location is very good. There is a beach bar/restaurant right next door, as well as an all-night bar. There are many other bars and restaurants on the main street, and it is near Underwater World.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

I loved the Sunset Beach Resort, i stayed in many different places in Langkawi, and Sunset beach is such good value, the staff are out of this world and always smile and call you by your first name. It's not a resort as such but it's very clean, good location ( 10 mins walk to restaurants ). If you want a cheap clean place to stay with really nice staff this is the place! I returned twice on my holiday in Langkawi and i am very fussy! You wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adski989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2008

We have just come back from Sunset and I would add a quick note to the other reviews here (I agree with most of their comments).

We stayed in Sunset 1, the most expensive room and did not like it so much. The biggest problem is that there is no window in the whole room you could open (fixed glass instead of window, I don't understand why). The only solution to get some fresh air in the room is to keep the door open, which means people passing by can look into your room and mosquitos can come in too. Of course you can also run the aircon all the time, but we don't like aircons so much.

They call Sunset 1 the romantic room, as it is closest to the beach (some 10 meters advance compared to the other rooms), it is at the nicest part of the garden close to the fountain and behind some plants (which gives some extra privacy, but makes the room a bit dark too), and the bathroom is said to be the best (could not compare with others, they were all full).

Sunset 2 is not smaller at all, and it has windows you can open. It is also at least 10-15% cheaper. But is also looked a bit dark inside too.

Otherwise it's all true: probably the nicest spot on the beautiful beach, nice and friendly staff, good service, basic breakfast, oasis next door (you can take glasses to your deckchair, if you return them later).

Three more things they could improve:
- Install more deckchairs. There are much less of them than guests in the hotel, and there would be room for more on the beach.
- Keep the breakfast cafe open during the day, and make it a lounge a bit. We had some rainy days, and you cannot go anywhere comfy in this case if you don't want to stay in your room.
- Remove the concrete slubs from below the sands on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank screenname_BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We loved this hotel, you can tell from the minute you get there how special and beautiful it is. The staff is so nice and treat you so special, they always great you and remember your name. The grounds are very pretty, and the whole place has a very "zen" feel to it, with plants and fountains. It is right on the beach, and you practically walk for less than 3 minutes from your room and you are there on a private stretch of beach, with lounge chairs and beautiful white sand. The hotel provides a nice simple breakfast, it was just fine, nothing fancy, but we liked it, and it was just right for the morning. The breakfast was served in a open restaurant facing the beach, and a deck to eat out on. The rooms was amazing, we had the sunset 1, and it was big, with a great bed, and a beautiful open bathroom with lots of natural light and a huge shower! We loved the bar/restaurant next door, the oasis, and the prices and food were great. This place is the best for a mid-range price on a great beach, Book ahead, they are very popular and full!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizacass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

After chk-out from Bella Vista, we chk into Sunset Beach Resort at Pantai Cenang. Pantai Cenang is one of the popular beach for tourists, filled with Chinese restaurant, bars, and vendors selling beach t-shirts.
The place looked cozy, the entrance was small with a long narrow walk leaded to the rooms on both side of the stone path. The reception staff was welcoming - although I was not happy that they messed up my reservation earlier and failed to give me a confirmed booking and a receipt after my full payment to the room. We stayed in Sunset III, it’s the smallest unit, I thought the room was over priced with a RM190 price tag per night. The room was clean, however, the mattress was old (the sponge had gave way) and pillows were yellow! Well, at least the bathroom was spacious with natural sunlight, but the faucet was loosen from the marble top. TV channel also very limited which has only local channels - boring.
The coffee house had a nice sea view but breakfast was very disappointing, only bread and some local fruits on the spread; omelets or fried eggs can be ordered from the waitress (kitchen) but limited to 1 potion per person, that’s pathetic! I thought they shd provide a simple breakfast menu on the table instead of left us wondering where to get our food. I heard across the road are some good place serving good breakfast!! Try, which I didn't have a change to do so. The hotel provided beach towels, the beach was the nicest part of the hotel, we spent an afternoon relaxing on the deck chair under the coconut trees.
A walk along the beach will lead you to a bistro / restaurant called The Lighthouse, where you can sink your feet into the soft sand and sip red wine or enjoy a cold beer while watching the sun set.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NefNef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews