We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,607)
Filter reviews
4,607 results
Traveller rating
2,217
1,548
489
201
152
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,217
1,548
489
201
152
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cascade pool spice market swim up bar main pool kids pool buggy service lake view mini golf the club lounge kids club cba bar large balcony cable car welcome drink seafood ground floor close to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
1,181 - 1,186 of 4,607 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Meritus on our honeymoon for 7 nights. From the moment we arrived the service was impeccable. The staff were always very informative and helpful, especially the waitstaff at all of the restaurants. We received a bottle of red wine and a fruit basket upon arrival and the maids were always making sure we were comfortable and left us cute little notes some days with fresh flowers. The food and spa were very reasonably priced and were definitely value for money. The resort also offers lots of external activities which were great to get to explore the island. In particular the mangrove tour by jet ski was an awesome experience. Also the buffet bbq dinner that was offered at their restaurant Cba was one of the best meals we had and at only $40AUD it was very cheap. Would definitely recommend the Meritus and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Try and request a room closest to the lobby as the walks back and forth can be a bit hard in the heat
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Yanz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clement P, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear Yanz88, thank you for your kind review. We are really pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Plus: Really nice location, beautiful beach, very good breakfast, two BIG swimming pools, very polite and helpful employers and good service. A place to come back too. Heartily recommended. Minus: A little bit chaotic conditions during breakfast time, when its to many people and to few tables.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per Arne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clement P, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear Per Arne K, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you had a pleasant holiday. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Me and my family (husband, and son 9 years old) went to Langkawi for the first time in February this year. We had booked a premier beach view- room for 15 nights at the Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa.

On the positive side:
- The rooms are nice and big, with relativily comfortable beds compared to other resorts in Asia we have been to.
- The view over the sunset from the private balcony is stunning. Try to get a room on 1st floor, as there was almost always some breeze that kept the mosquitos away.
- Very nice and always helpfull staff.
- The pools are big and amazing. One with a bar, and the other with facilities for children and shade sails that provide shadow also in the pool.
- A lot of sunbeds and umbrellas around both pools - and also on the beach - no problem to get one any time of the day
- Cba - nice restaurant at the beach with different team- nights, entertainment and buffet. We attended once - it was ok, but in the upper prizerange, so once was enough
- The location is right at the end of the Pantai Cenang, 10-15 minutes drive from the airport.
- Couple of minutes walk to Pantai Cenang "downtown street" with lots of restaurants, shops, duty free- shops, spa's, bars and so on
- You can walk along the beach from the resort to find lots of watersport activities and a few restaurants.
- A minigolf court, footballfield, squash and tennis courts on the premises - if beach and pools needs to be challenged by physical activities once in a while.
- Several playgrounds for small children.
- Lots of flowers and palmtrees on the premesis.
- A medical clinic at the premises, too. Very conveniant when the kid spends more time under than over the water in the pool without googles, and gets conjunctivitis on both eyes

On the negative side:
- Breakfast. Too crowded. The area is too small for the amount of people who like to have breakfast between 9:00 and 10:30am
- The spa. Not the spa in it self, 'cause I'm sure that is OK based on a manicure and pedicure treatment I took. The downside is: the spatreatments was VERY expencive - very close to what I have to pay in Norway. I was hoping I could get massages as cheap as I did in Vietnam at a similar 5 star sparesort couple of years ago, so that was a bit of a dissapointment.
- As mentioned: the resort is close to the airport, so if planes taking off and landing is an issue, I wouldn't recommend this resort. But to be honest, it took very little time to get used to and not noticing.
- More enoying is the helicopters. You can rent a helicopter for a ride, and they fly just over the rooftops, especially in the early afternoons.

Overall:
A very nice resort that get the best om my recommandations. I would without a doubt visit this resort again, if I go back to Langkawi.

Room Tip: Try to get room facing the beach and ocean, and avoid room facing the pound. Rooms on 1st floor gives better view to the sunset.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LiRi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clement P, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear LiRi67, thank you for your detailed feedback. We are glad you had a lovely stay at the resort. We will look into the matters pertaining the spa. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Meritus Pelangi. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We chose Meritus Pelangi based on it's reputation (Meritus Mandarin in Singapore is a good hotel), location and apparent good experience of travelers who wrote on TripAdvisor. Our experience for 3-night staff fell short.
1. The check-in on 19 Jan 2016 was the start of a patience-testing stay. Although we were welcomed warmly and asked to wait at the lounge area and be served cold drink and wet towel. The cold drink took 2 reminders and the wet towel never came. It wasn't due to lack of staff, for we saw other guests receiving theirs. Small matter.
2. Waiting patiently for 45mins, we still had no rooms assigned. Queued at the front desk and asked about 4 staff who all kindly asked if they could help, but all disappeared into the office and did not return. Finally saw a Manager who helped.
3. The room assigned was nice and big, but far from the main lobby for my aged parents to walk. Despite me asking for a room that's near. It was also near to the main road, so the traffic was heard through the night. In the end we had to ask for change of rooms. The new room had other issues because of noisy neighbors and thin walls, so I guess we can't have it all.
4. The free slippers had a very foul smell despite being new in a plastic package. All subsequent pairs given has the same smell to vary degrees - strange.
5. We had triple sharing room but towels/cups/glasses only for 2. Not an issue as we called house-keeping who were happy to bring extra but took a while to deliver.

The breakfast buffet had a good enough spread, though going later in the morning meant some items were not replenished.
The beach and pool were nice and private, and proximity to Pelangi beach restaurants was handy.

A hotel stay includes all aspects, hopefully Meritus will take constructive feedback to improve the customer experience.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank weoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clement P, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear weoss, thank you for your detailed feedback. First and foremost please accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your holiday expectations. Please be assured that my team and I will put strict measures to ensure better service is provided in a timely manner. We hope this does not put us in your permanent disfavor and we hope to welcome you back to a further improved holiday experience. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Pelangi beach resort is located on the beach (Pelangi) and our chalet (cottage) was right on the beach.

The hotel is just about 10 minutes drive from Langkawi airport and it costs 20 MYR (about 4-5 USD).

Check-in was easy and took about 10-15 minutes.

Room (#305) was spacious (and adequate for two adults and two kids). It had fascinating views of the beach and hills.

The gym was very good with nice views during workouts. Fitness freaks can combine gym, with a run on the beach!

There is a water sports activity center at the resort, with various activities.

There are two good swimming pools and also a kids water park. Kids enjoy this a lot and can easily spend a few hours there.

Hotel staff are courteous and sight seeing trips can be arranged with assistance from the hotel.

There is a good restaurant near the lobby and it is excellent for breakfast. Regarding lunch and dinner, one can explore several restaurants within 500 meters (walking distance) from the resort.

Room Tip: You can choose either beach front or pool facing rooms/cottages.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank drsudhir2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clement P, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear drsudhir2014, thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews