We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 917
View deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
USD 825
View deal
Hotel WebsiteUSD 912
Hotels.comUSD 917
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
55
63
23
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
63
23
11
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on our way home from China. It's part of the Bintan Resorts area which covers the northern part of Bintan Island which is actually in Indonesia but is a short 45 minute fast ferry ride from Taneh Merah Ferry Terminal which is a 10-15 minute ride from Changi Airport. Australians need a visa but this can be bought on board the ferry if you go Emerald Class for US$10 pp.
The resort consists of 5 different areas, Indra Maya Villas being perched on a headland with beautiful views out to sea. We had our own 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom villa with an infinity pool, loungers and outdoor eating area under cover. It also has a full kitchen and large open lounge/dining area with flat screen TV. There is another TV in the main bedroom which also has a private outside shower area. You also have a golf buggy to get around which is very helpful as the various resort areas are spread out and with the high humidity it's hot walking. We enjoyed our meals at Dino's bar (great for casual lunches) and the seafood restaurant Kelung ( though service here was very ordinary)and our breakfasts, lunch and dinner at Mayang Sari.
We thought the whiole experience was wonderful, and they went out of their way to make our wedding anniversary very special with a cake and fruit delivered to the villa.
Yes the resort needs maintenance, there is some mould on bathrooms and outside walls, but hey this is the tropics and this happens and did not distract from our total enjoyment here. Lizards, squirrels, geckos , butterflies and flowers abound, it was superb and we would highly recommend this resort and Indra Maya Villas for a special occasion. They do have good specials at times so keep watch as you can take advantage of these up to 4 days before you arrive.
Loved it!

Date of stay: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Davwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Good place for a short getaway. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was very accommodating and reserved a nice villa with a great view of the South China Sea. Its less than an hour's ferry ride from Singapore - Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal. The photos are self explanatory of the relaxing and great view.

Room tip: Email to the hotel in advance of your request(s). If it is within their means, they will meet your requests.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the 3 bedroom villa with 1 other couple. The villa is far from luxury and is 2.5 - 3 stars at best. From the moment you walk in you are overwhelmed by the smell of mould which is in fact everywhere. Our friends sleeping in the smaller queen room complained they could constantly smell faeces in their bathroom. Furnishings are dated and the kitchen and bathrooms are old and basic and the place is generally very run down (as per my posted photos). Security needs improvement as even if you lock the sliding doors (both the front doors and the back doors) they slide open at either end anyway. Our pillows in the master bedroom stunk of unwashed hair. We asked for new pillow covers but they still smelled unwashed. Our sheets and quilt had yellow stains on them as well as mould. The TV had bad reception and most channels were fuzzy. The wi-fi was frustratingly slow. Front desk service was poor, we had asked to change our ferry booking time for Singapore which should have been a simple thing to do but instead turned into a 6hr ordeal with us having to constantly chase up for updates and ultimately threaten with a complaint to the general manager to get sorted.
The only thing good about the villa itself is the private pool which is a good size and has water views. Good cheap massage is a short buggy ride away and you do get a buggy to use for free (essential for getting around the resort complex). Food at the resort restaurants we tried were better than expected. Mini zoo was interesting and watching the sunset at Calypso Bar was a highlight. However, for a villa that's meant to be 5 stars and the most luxurious in the Nirwana resort complex we were extremely disappointed. It's definitely not worth the S$800/night we paid let alone the S$1500/night rack rate. I would not recommend it to anyone who is after a 'luxurious' or mould-free experience.

Room tip: The 2 br villa has more uninterrupted ocean views from the pool.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hjsl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Long overdue review. We stayed with in-laws and our two toddlers for 2 nights. The villa we stayed in was in desperate need of renovation from the furniture, the structure (doors didn't feel too secure and worn), to the appliances. The villa was not properly cleaned either as we had left over food and drinks in the kitchen and fridge remaining.....looked like for a long time. On a positive note the 3 room villa was spacious and decently laid out with a private pool. The ladies in our group went for the massage at the spa just next door and found it overpriced and not very good....it was an outdoor setting. I went for a massage at the main bowling alley massage centre which was more reasonably priced and was decent. We stayed at the villas and compound the entire time and the buggies provided were convenient to use. We did the pony and elephant rides for kids + a few other activities but mainly used our villa pool. The restaurants at the compound was average and overpriced as expected nothing memorable. They did have a BBQ menu in the villa which included a private chef + all extras if you wanted to cook at your villa which we didn't try. The two stars are for the private pool and the buggy provided which my kids enjoyed....unfortunately we wont be back unless some serious updating is done at tired Indra Maya.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aeternam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at the 3 bedroom villa with 1 other couple. The villa is far from luxury and is 2.5 - 3 stars at best. From the moment you walk in you are overwhelmed by the smell of mould which is in fact everywhere. Our friends sleeping in the smaller queen room complained they could constantly smell faeces in their bathroom. Furnishings are dated and the kitchen and bathrooms are old and basic and the place is generally very run down (as per my posted photos). Security needs improvement as even if you lock the sliding doors (both the front doors and the back doors) they slide open at either end anyway. Our pillows in the master bedroom stunk of unwashed hair. We asked for new pillow covers  but they still smelled unwashed. Our sheets and quilt had yellow stains on them as well as mould. The TV had bad reception and most channels were fuzzy. The wi-fi was frustratingly slow. Front desk service was poor, we had asked to change our ferry booking time for Singapore which should have been a simple thing to do but instead turned into a 6hr ordeal with us having to constantly chase up for updates and ultimately threaten with a complaint to the general manager to get sorted. 
The only thing good about the villa itself is the private pool which is a good size and has water views. Good cheap massage is a short buggy ride away and you do get a buggy to use for free (essential for getting around the resort complex). Food at the resort restaurants we tried were better than expected. Mini zoo was interesting and watching the sunset at Calypso Bar was a highlight. However, for a villa that's meant to be 5 stars and the most luxurious in the Nirwana resort complex we were extremely disappointed. It's definitely not worth the S$800/night we paid let alone the S$1500/night rack rate. I would not recommend it to anyone who is after a 'luxurious' or mould-free experience. 

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNT113
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews