We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Varca
oldham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great hotel 2012”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

superior room with pool view,well worth the little extra.the pool is large enough to find your own private spot.breakfast offered excellent choice for everybody,waiters were attentive and helpful.the service in the room was very good,we never had to ask twice for anything twice and the room were cleaned every day.reception staff were very helpful.the only drawback,on some nights was the sound of music around the grounds(although this is over by 10-30pm)from other hotels viewed in the south this suited us the best,

Room Tip: we chose superior room with pool view and it was suitable for our needs,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernie1948Oldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    637
    212
    93
    107
See reviews for
728
484
28
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My sister in law got married at this resort. The hotel itself is stunning, with plenty of restaurants onsite. Rooms were luxurious and very very clean. The beach itself was a 5 min walk from our room. As we were here for a wedding, so most our time was spent enjoying a 3 day wedding celebrations on the lawns from the beach, views from here were out of this world. This hotel is a fantastic venue for holding a wedding. There were a few issues with room service being far too slow.....but we guessed this is because everything was on Indian and not normal timing. Overall an amazing stay, can't wait to return here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaishyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

It is my first travel into India for a whirlwind business / tour of 3 nights. Our first destination was Goa with a pre-booked hotel by our local organiser in Goa, a well-known holiday destination for locals and foreigners. The Hotel Zuri White Sands was in Varca, in a more peaceful and traditional district that has distinctive imprints of colonial past from Portugese settlers, which Catholic churches every 5 kilometers. Even our taxi driver was Catholic, bearing religious images in the car. However, his driving was devilish, whizzing through narrow country lanes from the airport to the hotel at 7am. For a sleeping town, he was in constrast rushing like a New York cabbie.

The Hotel Zuri White Sands appeared after about 40 minutes in a relatively straight drive from the airport. It resembles a low density 2 storey hotel resort that is walking distance to the beach front. Most rooms are like chalets with balcony doors facing the circular pool with a floating bar or balcony doors that face the beach. You would not get a sea view being ground level and shielded by coconut trees and shrubs.

The resort is more suitable for families, with a nice pool, garden and access to the ocean. It is a beautiful beach that is similar to the Gold Coast and not very crowded at all, except for a few sleeping dogs and the ocassional cows, yes cows....that roam the beach. Waves are very strong so be careful if you wander in with young children. Ideal for wake boarders!

Breakfast buffet was sufficient with local and continental choices. The fresh eggs and dosai station was a nice touch. There is a Fins seafood restaurant facing the beach but we went out to town for seafood instead. The rooms were reasonable but wear and tear was visible. Bed was sufficiently comfortable but the room service was sketchy as they forgot to leave fresh towels after the daily clean. There was only one pair of slippers for a twin room. For over US$ 130 a night, the hotel only supplied 2 bottles of complimentary water, which is important in India - DO NOT DRINK from the tap even after boiling...so I thought it was not very thoughtful to charge for extra bottled water. Not Evian...just regular local bottled "safe" drinking water.

Generally, the staff were responsive when requests were made but make sure you double-confirm your airport transfer taxi as it is quite a long way to the airport. We went to this hotel for a business conference which was acceptable. However, the wi-fi internet in the basement conference room was very weak so it was not very convenient for web-based presentations.

There is nothing much to venture outside the hotel by walking other than the beach front. So this is not the most exciting part of Goa to be in.

Room Tip: Rooms at near the beach front and pool provides a nice holiday ambience but a longer walk to the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazzer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at the White Sands for 3 days after a tour of the Golden Traiangle in Feb 12. it is a lovely looking hotel in expansive grounds and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The beds and pillows are very comfortable, but if you want a double bed make sure your holiday documents say so, becuase ours said twin room and they really didn't want to move us into a double bed room.... aparently that was an upgrade. After waiting over half an hour to check in (no idea why it took so long) and telling them several times we wanted a double not a twin they showed us to our room.... a twin! When we yet again pointed out we wanted a double bed they offered to push the beds together....not the same at all. He then said they had no double rooms free that night but would move us next day. We couldn't be bothered to move again, after 9 days of moving hotels we just wanted to unpack and stay put for 3 nights.

The breakfast buffet was all standard stuff and ample choice but the waiters took forever to come and pour your tea/coffee. One morning we had almost finished our breakfast before we got tea, despite asking 4 different waiters throughout the breakfast to bring it.

The hotel has 154 rooms so only just over 300 people when full, because it is set in such expansive grounds the place always felt half empty and at night it was like a ghost town. I don't know where everyone (it was full at breakfast) ate but it didn't appear to be in the hotel. Consequently there wasn't a great atmosphere. The bar was totally empty the 3 nights we were there (OK the last night was dry because of the election but not the other two) We went to one of the restaurants just outside the hotel gates one night but although much cheaper than the food in the hotel restaurants - which is very expensive - it too was not full, only 2 other couples as well as us. (We ate at the beach restaurant our first night it was a lovely location and they had a great singer on - for 3 couples - we had a main course and I had a pudding, double vodka and coke and 2 beers and it was nearly £60... that's London prices! They wanted 1500 rupees for an outside BBQ buffet one night (we didn't bother). Never went in the Casino... perhaps that was where everyone else was!

The pools are lovely as are the gardens and the beach area, so this is a great place to come and put your feet up to relax. But for us 3 days was enough we were bored with the place after that. It depends what kind of holiday you want....this place certainly delivers peace and quiet.... at a price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gajeckyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuriHotels, Manager at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for the slight lapses that happened during your vacation. We have taken care of the coffee service at breakfast. Regarding the bed choice, we sincerely request our guests who make reservation through our travel partners to kindly specify the bed type as it becomes difficult to assign the same in a sold out situation. We once again apologize for the inconvenience but it was the best thing we could do under that circumstance to offer you a bed of your choice on the next day. Thank you for your understanding and appreciating all other services of our resort.

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We enjoyed the relaxation this hotel provided after three weeks doing 'the triangle'. Our stay was for 5 nights (March 4th - 9th) and our room was clean, bright and comfortable with a meandering extension to the pool being only a few steps away.The staff were good, helpful and smiled as they went about their work.The atmosphere was conducive to a five star but the reception area is in need of modernisation as it lacks the 'zen' that such hotels favour. Of particular mention is the food at Fins the eatery by the beach. The food was V V good, fresh, well crafted and constructed with well balanced flavours. The chef was excellent and runs a good kitchen.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher_nell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
2.2 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,961 reviews
1.8 km away
Caravela Beach Resort
7.7 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,517 reviews
26.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
2,186 reviews
5.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino

Property: The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino
Address: Pedda, Varca 403721, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
#3 Spa Hotel in Varca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varca
Price range (per night): $37 - $960
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri White Sands Goa Hotel Varca
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort And Casino
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino Varca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing