We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phoenix under new management”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2011

New managers are trying hard and haven't yet found their feet; some little things could just make the difference; whilst sympathetic to the excuses, that's not what we wan't to hear on a relaxing weekend break where we look forward to being pampered. Restaurant exceeded our expectations, so we may try again.

Room Tip: We did not pay for a premium room; so no nice view except of the sky from the attick room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

We had booked family and friends into the hotel as our son was getting married nearby. We also had 36 people for a meal in the restaurant on the Friday night. Everybody agreed that the service was great, the rooms beautiful and comfortable and they all had a relaxing time. Peter and his staff went to a lot of trouble to make the Friday night meal a success. The tables looked wonderful, the food delicious and the service very slick, considering the numbers involved and the variety of dishes ordered. They went to great lengths to make the evening a success for us and could not have been more helpful or pleasant. We wish them all the best for the future - they deserve it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I am a local and the George has finally recruited a landlord and lady, instead of a pup of a manager of 25 or a young lady who was never working!
The food prices are now reasonably priced, there is a daily variety of specials and the service has improved!
The staff are more motivated and now seem a lot happier!
The only shame is Simon has left who has always tried his best with the chaos around him.
Anyone who has had a bad experience before please try the hotel again as the George is a lovely hotel and has beautiful rooms.
I am a local who works in Exeter and find the George a lovely restored hotel, where I like to relax with my partner after work or at weekends.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riggger-Middle-Earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

we had a great stay at this small hotel, it was an relaxing experience. We laughed at breakfast the hotel was full and the poor staff were running around looking for milk jugs so we had to share but Peter kept us all in good spirits running from table to table bless him. Where did they find a couple so different yet so good together when things went wrong they just got on with it and turned it into laughter. Abby lit the fire for us so we could just sit and chill out. Ellie was a delight who waitressed on us so over all we were throughly impressed as we were a little nervous after reading all the other reviews . The room was of a good standard with a few little jobs need doing like our window catch was broken and needed fixing but that was all really. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms are all of a good size only one room to avoid and that would be 11 as we could here kitchen no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just back from a weekend stay at The George, which has recently been finished to a high standard throughout. The room itself was one of the smaller ones, but plenty big enough and sympathetically decorated with quality fixtures and fittings, including a great shower and large, comfy bed. Had dinner the first night and although the atmosphere was lacking and service a little dis-jointed, they were very friendly and the food was good. Location-wise it's close to Dartmoor so great for walkers, but a bit of a jaunt to the coast. Several other good pubs in neighbouring villages too. There were a few niggles which we put down to teething problems, but overall we had a positive stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatherleigh
15.6 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
10.4 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
283 reviews
21.4 km away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
598 reviews
22.9 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
522 reviews
15.7 km away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 5 Market Street, Hatherleigh EX20 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hatherleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Price Range: $145 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in Devon's smallest town, Hatherleigh. The pub is famous for its lively and welcoming atmosphere, and provides great freshly cooked food, drink and effortless service. Soft modern furnishings complement the traditional and historic building features, creating a warm, inviting feel. A pub with pub values offered with style, charisma and personality. Our menu is a mix of great pub classics and modern English dishes, with sharing plates for informal dining and a great range of mains. We take pride in sourcing our produce locally where possible, and are proud of the sensational food we offer. We offer 13 delightful ensuite rooms, some of which have four poster beds and feature baths. One of our rooms is fully accessible for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Hatherleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing