We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel in pleasant setting with mountain views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Felmis
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Horw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The rooms here are more functional than beautiful, but are comfortable, very clean and well maintained. The restaurant is well worth dining in. We stayed for 2 nights, and the proprietor helpfully pointed out we could do the 'Golden Round Trip' to Mt Pilatus by catching a 5 minute bus ride to the local ferry stop on the lake, rather than go in to central Luzern. This was very helpful and of course all the Swiss services ran exactly on schedule. the breakfast choice was wide and good quality. The swiss franc is expensive but this place is reasonable value compared to most others.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank axiomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Hotel-Restaurant Felmis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2011

A nice modern hotel a few kilometres from the centre of Lucerne. Stayed 3 nights in June in room 23 on the top floor with a nice view over the park and tennis courts across the road and mountains in the distance. The room was a decent sized and nice if basically furnished. It had a small alcove with cair a step up with a nice skylight which gave the room a nice airy feeling. Small but nice bathroom, but a little odd in that the sink was outside the bathroom in the main room.
Breakfast was served in a nice room on the ground floor and had enough for a good start to the day. Free and plentiful parking. The hotel had a restaurant which I didn’t use during my stay but was always busy when I was there. The staff were friendly and efficient.
I liked the hotel but it is a little way out of the historic centre of Lucerne but great if you are driving..

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minicooperdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed here for three nights in July when the temperature was >80-85 degrees, This places is relatively far from the Lucerne main station and bus service is relatively infrequent in the evening.

Overall okay place. Rooms were small, the windows were nice. Really not having airconditioning was quite difficult. The worst part of this hotel was the sheets were very uncomfortable. They were worn out and were rough. Both me and my wife just couldn't sleep well in night at all. We asked the front desk twice but no help.

The breakfast was nice, pretty much typical swiss breakfast. The area was beautiful, kind of a nice from the busy Lucerne.

Overall probably would not recommend to an average US traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funnyelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Hotel Felmis. Comfortable hotel supposedly just 10 minute walk from Lake Lucerne. However when we asked when we arrived last night, we were told it was a walk that involved going through a forest following a track.

The car park is over the road from the hotel, a road that was rather busy on the Friday evening we were here, this was a shame as the tables were outside for dinner, which was most pleasant except for the traffic and noise.

The views were stunning mountains all around. Our room was modern, airy, but again West-facing and with the curtains left open all day, when we arrived, it was very hot. Why, when there is no Air Con, don't hotels simply close the curtains or shutters and open the windows so that teh room is at least as cool as possible?

Again the temperature wad 30c and with no air con, it was very warm. However, we closed the curtains & opened the window and by the tome we turned-in, the room was cooler.

The food was very fine and there was a reasonable choice. It was very typically Swiss with German influence, so tended towards heavy, substanial food. No Noveau Cuisine here.

We selected the Swiss wine, which was very pleasant and a large beer which was also very agreeable. One point my wife Sue, says is very important; is that the only mirror is in the bathroom over the basin & you cannot plug your hair dryer in there. Women, bring a vanity mirror!

It was very adequate, clean, efficient & friendly, but that just about sums it up - somewhere to rest your head, but not one of those 'special' hotels that you must return to.

One point, it says it is a country hotel in the coutryside, this we would dispute; it is not in the middle of a town, but it's location is on a busy road opposite a sports club - hardly a countryside location in our books!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StocklinchTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

You will need to take the #21 bus to the hotel, which is outside of the city (but not too far). The staff was friendly and spoke multiple languages. The room was clean, but sparse. Definitely a no-frills stay, but it was comfortable and clean. Contrary to another post, there was a hairdryer. I found one in a little plastic bag in the back of the cabinet. We had a mountain view from our room.
The breakfast was really good and free (food can get pricey in Switzerland). We ate in the restaurant for dinner since we didn't feel like taking the bus back to the town. I didn't notice any smoking, but not sure if it was a smoke-free place. It was kinda pricey and the menu was limited, but both the food and service were excellent and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaliPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horw
2.0 km away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
574 reviews
1.9 km away
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
#1 of 1 in Kastanienbaum
138 reviews
1.3 km away
Seehotel Sternen Horw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Best Western Hotel Waldegg
4.0 km away
Seehotel Pilatus
Seehotel Pilatus
#1 of 3 in Hergiswil
215 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Felmis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Felmis

Address: Kastanienbaumstrasse 91, Horw 6048, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Horw
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Horw
Price Range: $194 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Felmis 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run hotel is situated in the countryside, on the quiet, yet centrally located Horw peninsula, with mini golf and tennis. With us you can unwind and relax. Enjoy the view of the beautiful mountains of Central Switzerland or 15 minute walk to Lake Lucerne. Only about 2.5 km from the A2 motorway, the ideal place for stopover in transit as well as for business travelers in Central Switzerland. The center of Lucerne is only 4 km away and can take bus No. 21, which stops at the hotel, in 20 Minutes will be achieved. Die neu installierte air conditioning bietet Ihnen eine angenehme Zimmertemperatur und guten Schlaf, even during hot summer nights. Internet: With wireless LAN, we offer an easy and fast access to Internet and e-mail services (Prerequisite: Wi-Fi enabled laptop). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Felmis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing