We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage, location and scenery”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beckington, Frome, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
1womble
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good stay. Could be fantastic but needs a little attention in some areas.”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage and used it as a base for trips out to visit Longleat and Bath. Had a fun time, but really struggled with how uncomfortable the bed was, which kept us both awake. I note one previous review saying similar. The owner kindly gave us a spare duvet to put down under the sheet to make it more comfortable (our request), which helped a lot. Lovely fresh white linen and towels. Welcome pack of bread, milk, tea etc was appreciated.

Living area lovely and light thanks to the big window and well furnished. Kitchen good. Downstairs cloakroom good. Upstairs bathroom in real need of refurbishment.

Overall a good base and pretty grounds. We would visit again if mattress / bathroom renewed. And would recommend to a friend on same basis.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you for your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay. This is only the second comment we have had about the mattress in 10 years, so struggling as to why is seemed uncomfortable, we will go have a sleep on it! One bathroom has been refurbished, the others are in line.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeMB80
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, location and scenery”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed here as a base for visiting Longleat. Lovely holiday accommodation, nicely furnished, welcome basket of goodies on arrival. Great views and ride on toys for young children, friendly owners dog. Lovely pub, fish & chip shop and farm shops nearby,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Great to hear you had a great stay. The facilities are great for families, relaxed with home comforts and we try to be on hand when needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty C
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We recently stayed in the Frome cottage at By The Byre and were not disappointed. The cottage was lovely, bright and clean and the grounds were well kept for the children to play in. It is an ideal location for local attractions and the pretty town of Frome.
The cottage itself has plenty of space for a family of four and the kitchen is well stocked with enough utensils to eat at home.
The one very tiny flaw is that the guide book in the cottage is not up to date as a couple of the restaurants and even one of the Supermarkets listed no longer exist. Wi-Fi was also very poor however I doubt that is the fault of the owners.
I will definitely return in the future.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful accomodation
Liked least: Poor Wi-fi connection
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Happy you had a great time. Hope to see you again at By the Byre.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leona C
1 review
“Lovely stay highly recommend”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I had a lovely weekend here with my sister and three nephews, very close to Longleat which is where we were looking to spend the Saturday. We stayed in one of the cottages which was very spacious and clean. Owners were lovely and welcoming. They had everything you needed including toys and games to borrow which came in very handy. Would definitely come back as lots to do around the area could of done with a longer stay!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Really pleased you found your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Hope to see you again at By the Byre.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Suited our needs but a bit tired”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family rented three of three cottages for two days after a week of camping. They were welcomingly comfortable after a week in a tent, and allowed us to relax for a couple of days before going our separate ways.

The cottages were all kitted out with two rooms (a double and a twin), a kitchen and sitting/dining room. There's a washing machine, dish washer, etc. The cottages sit in the gardens of the owner's house (we were told our children could play on the grass area) and are an easy commute to Bath (30 mins), Frome, Longleat, etc.

The cottages did look a bit worn in places: there are damp marks on the ceilings, cracks in the bathroom tiles, & the showers aren't great. The other complaint that several in my family commented on was how uncomfortable the beds were - however as it was only a couple of nights this wasn't a huge issue.

All in all the cottages worked well for us. Not sure how competitive the prices were (my mum booked it) but I'd consider staying here again if I was in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Thank you for your comments. Lovely to see a family from all corners of the world having a happy relaxing time.at By the Byre. Brave granny bringing 3 grandchildren! The children seemed to enjoy playing out in the plentiful outdoor space and the adults socialising in the evenings and Longleat went down a storm. The family of 14 stayed in 3 cottages which worked out at £22 per head per night with the Longleat discount. Toddler kit and an extra bed were provided. It's a shame one of the guests found a few niggles. around 4000 guests have sleep in the beds and not one has said they were uncomfortable, far to the contrary, some even asking where the mattresses were from! The showers are perfectly fine and any small observations will be attended to. We can assure future guests we are always on hand to sort anything out, often immediately.
We hope to see you and your family and friends at By the Byre in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing