We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
312
113
25
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
113
25
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub north devon nautical theme dog friendly hotel booked a table family room overlooking the estuary the main hotel fish and chips stayed for two nights new owners walk in shower lovely room car park night stay nothing is too much trouble full english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2018

Took some friends to the Seagate for lunch,first visit so a bit aprehensive,We booked a table in the restaurant and Im glad we did as it was very busy.The menu choice is really quite diverse from fish and steak dishes to some really nice spicy oriental food.The ambience is nice,cool and a bit trendy but not in a snooty way.The staff were very nice,friendly and attentive.A bit short staffed if anything but we didnt mind waiting for our food as its nice to have a chat and a drink first.All 4 of us ordered a different dish off the menu and all meals were absolutely superb.The specials menu has some really imaginitive dishes.Good sized portions and not overpriced.The bar area is very doggy friendly and you can eat in there too.My new favourite eatery in North Devon

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bettybetty54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Visited The Seagate yesterday. Had an excellent meal. Really enjoyed the whitebait starter. Friends had the Asian Menu. Sweet and Sour pork proved extremely spicy and so immediately the staff agreed to remake the dish without the chilli element. What great service ! Lovely atmosphere and service . Excellent range of beers.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank derekc906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

The Seagate is a welcoming pub. We had 2 meals here recently and would highly recommend the food - just wish we had a pub near high with this high standard of fare. The pork tenderloin and pan fried sea bass fillets were great. The braised shin of beef was lovely, just a little too much sauce and could do with a little bit more colour. The next time we are visiting Appledore we will definitely return.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We stayed at the Seagate for 2 nights last week, the room was huge and furnished really well. Bed was comfy, big tv and lovely bathroom. Staff were very friendly and best thing is it’s all very dog friendly. Food was good too, a decent choice on the menu. We would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We stayed at the Quay annex of the Seagate on our recent stay in Appledore. The room was spacious and comfortable with fantastic sea views over the river. We were not disturbed by road traffic, however the sound of footsteps from the room above woke us on both mornings we stayed there. The staff at both the Quay and the hotel were helpful and friendly. We had an excellent meal in the hotel on our first night and the restaurant also served a tasty breakfast, though service was slow.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Owdmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews