We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't wait to return.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boat Yard

Views from the dinning table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views from the dinning table
great place to eat  either inside or out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Views from the dinning table
great place to eat  either inside or out
catch up on those emails with free wi fi , perfect location for work while you play
watch the life boat re fuel  from the balcony
Great views from the lounge
one of the two balconies a great place to relax
Lovely comfy beds
look down on the fisher men unloading there catch
Sit back in the newly carpeted lounge and watch the tide come in
great views from both balconies
large living room with bed settee
Large kitchen dinner with fab views
the kitchen dinner is a real social room
kitchen dinner  opening out on to the balcony
up stairs to the sitting room with a further balcony
great social kitchen with views while you cook
Plenty of seating g all with fab views.   Also a bed settee
New comfy beds
double master bedroom
view from the balcony
looking back at appledore  from instow
watch ships of all sizes sail down past ,here  the james joyce  built here at our local ship yrd
take a walk to the fields above the village and the northdevon coast path
westward ho!beach  fantastic any time of yr
a great place for children to play
A navy ship being built near by
Appledore, taken from Instow across the river
Amazing sun sets from Westward ho!
great views from one of the 2 balconies
the roses by your off rd parking
Right on the coast path
Looking over your fence were  fishermen unload there catch and it goes off to top restaurants !
Waiting for the surf on an October day.   Westward ho beach. 1 mile
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Appledore, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bevhyde19...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Sadly, this did not live up to expectation. The property is located in the industrial part just on the fringe of the village. The property has a dishevelled look from the outside and, the views as depicted aren't quite as they appear. The front of the property overlooks a scrap yard, and the views from the rear balconies are disappointing. To the right you do have a working boat yard, which is acceptable and nice to see the boats coming in and out. To the fore and left of the rear view you have a car park and a marine engineering works. This you have to overview for the views depicted. The furnishings are somewhat tired and need replacing. The front door needs attention. The double bed had no fixings, therefore the two parts of the base kept separating. Upon trying t fix this, the bed and mattress are not a set and I found there to be 4 mattress protectors in various conditions (I dared not to look any further). The kitchen worktops need replacing as there are many cracks and large chips present. The kitchen bowl needs replacing. One sofa, the seats have sunk and offers no support, another of the sofa's is ripped and badly scuffed. There are air fresheners all over the place which is usually masking something worse. Having paid £600 per week (and I stayed for 2 weeks), I think this is excessively expensive when you take into consideration its location and the tiredness of the property. and its furnishings. Also, with the No of damage/defects how can you be asked to add a further £50 to the booking fee held against any damage caused. I do not expect there to be any question that this damage was caused by me.
Also, Trip Advisor, I brought this holiday via your website - ADVERTISING THIS PROPERTY AS IN YOUR TOP TEN - impressed not!!!!

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
well to even say the views are disappointing i dont know what too say !!! my property has some of the best views in the hole village
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
1 review
“Can't wait to return.”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had a lovely few days at the Boatyard in Appledore,but unfortunately had to return home quickly due to a family bereavement.Janice was so thoughtful & understanding & invited us to finish our holiday at a later date.She is a lady with a big heart. The views from the lounge & dining/kitchen area are lovely.A comfortable apartment with the added bonus of wifi & adjacent parking area.
Can't wait to return & finish our holiday in happier circumstances.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Oww Jackie,, you bring tears to my eyes, realy looking forward to welcoming back you and your lovely husband, see you both in September. Best wishes jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenands...
Ashburton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday cottage and sea views!”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A group of us stayed at the corrage for a long weekend, and had a great time. The cottage was clean, parking was easy and Jan was very friendly and welcoming.

This is a spacious cottage, plenty of room for everyone, and great views from the balcony. Would definitely recommend...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the balcony
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
I'm always glad when guests enjoy there stay, and tell every one with a review so thank you very much and come back any time, always a pleasure to welcome return guests, jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian N
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Boat Yard”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at the boat yard, stayed for a long weekend and really felt welcomed by Jan.

The place has amazing views over a working boat yard onto the estuary though we were never disturbed by the yard and it actually made for a more secluded feel, especially over the weekend.

The place had everything we needed including a breakfast balcony and another at the top for catching rays. The flat is away from busy roads but close to local amenities and Appledore and the surrounding areas are really lovely (it's Devon after all!)

I would highly recommend staying at the boatyard especially if you are looking for that special place with a bit of character.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and aprehsiated the location,,,,, hope you and your friendship come again some time, jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elvi123
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Divine divine divine”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful long weekend in sunny Appledore. Amazing apartment, we had absolutely all we needed and so much more. I love that it had two balconies - one for morning coffee and breakfast and one for evening cocktails and both looking out over the estuary…. stunning views. The beds were gorgeous, we slept like babies. For me, a big gripe when I go away is the bathroom , you often find them squeezed into little spaces just off the main communal area but this place had a lovely big airy bathroom that felt private. Perfect. Piping hot showers to start the day right. Simply fantastic. love the area, felt at home and the owner was amazing, what a lovely lady, made sure we had everything we needed and was warm and welcoming. Thanks Jan for making our trip so special, we’ll be back later in the year hopefully!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Oww thank you so much for a lovely review, it's always lovely when the happy people remember to tell every one else, ,, you did say you had a lovely time, but so many kind remarks, are almost over welming thank you, and please do come back, there's always a little discount for return guests, jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing