We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Surf Bay Approach - Electric Gates for your added security
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Surf Bay Approach - Electric Gates for your added security
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Surf Bay Approach - Electric Gates for your added security
Surf Bay - Front View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Appledore, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Curiosity...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just come back from the most amazing stay in Appledore, north Devon.
The accommodation itself had everything you could ask for very clean, tidy and set out ready for an amazing stay.
We were welcomed personally by the owner Neil he was approachable, easy to talk to, gave us information on the area and what was more lovely is Neil personally brought us up a bottle of champagne and was welcomed with a box of chocolates, breakfast and many more luxuries.
He also text to see if everything was ok on a regular basis.
The pool was heated, our children 7 and 10 had amazing fun in the pool and the hot tub was lovely over looking the sea. There was also an Xbox with a wide variety of games to choose from.
The area itself was so pretty the sea views from the lodge were stunning.
We will defiantly recommend to anybody and we will be booking to stay again very soon.
The perfect place to relax and unwind.
Thank you Neil for a great holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KittySean
Nr Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, real treat”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We loved staying here, my two teenage kids loved their own room, own bathroom and TV! The owners were very welcoming and friendly. We all loved the hot tub! There is a swimming pool as well , we would like to return in the warmer weather to try it out! You won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hot tub
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passenger...
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 11 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What a great location !! Modern and clean apartment with a fantastic en-suite. Very easy walk to the beach and the local bars and restaurants. This was my 2nd visit and i will be back again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod S
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely accommodation, relaxing and peaceful yet lots of fun with the hot tub and pool”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We're a family of 5 with 3 children aged between 11 and 14. On our arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the accommodation. It had been newly finished and was spotlessly clean exactly as the description and pictures provided. We were met by the owners son who opened up and showed us around and answered any questions that we had so we felt right at home. In the property we were met with a bottle of sparkling wine which was nice but more importantly all the basics sugar, milk, tea, coffee etc. We met with Neil the owner who was also very helpful and was easily contactable. In all this is a great place to stay for its location for surfing, walking, bike riding or if you want just generally hanging around the pool, the hot tub and relaxing. We would definitely make a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and hot tub
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infacto19...
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Place To Stay !”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Hi What can I say If you want a rental where there has been incredible attention to detail. We just loved it at Surf bay lodge and did not want to go home. From the wet room/bathroom super bedroom very well equipped kitchen, and the views OMG the view is just amazing. The hot tub was a great way to relax after exploring the historical towns of Appledore and Bideford.

Thank for a great stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing