We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Hayloft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hayloft
The Hayloft The Hayloft living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Hayloft
The Hayloft
The Hayloft living room
The Hayloft living room
The Hayloft kitchen
The Hayloft Double Bedroom
The Hayloft Twin Bedroom
Ensuite Bathrooms
Welcome to Troed y Rhiw farm
Bean, the farm dog
View from the Cottages
View Across the Cym
Our Highland Cattle
The Farm Yard
Watering the plants
Potatoes in Bloom
Kohl Rabi
Cwymtydu is just over a mile down the road.
Llangrannog Beach is just 4 miles south.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
New Quay, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Saetal
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Thank you Alicia and Nathan. Both so friendly and welcoming.
The accommodation was beautiful and very comfortable. We ordered a veg box for our stay, the veggies were some of the tastiest we've ever had.
The children loved the farm, Bean the dog, the cows and the chickens. And it was a bonus having an enclosed garden too.
Hosts, Alicia and Nathan were really helpful and provided lots of information on the best beaches to visit and best pubs to lunch in.
The log burner provided a cosy place to warm up after an afternoon at the beach in December.
We will definitely be back and recommend this beautiful place to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in a stunning spot”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely stay in a gorgeous location. We love West Wales, and the Hayloft was a great base to explore local beaches and beautiful places. Nathan and Alicia were friendly and approachable, and keen to help with any enquiries. They obviously work very hard on the farm, and have made an impressive achievements with their organic farming. The Hayloft is high spec, comfortable, cosy and immaculately clean, and we all enjoyed our stay here. Our children particularly enjoyed playing with Bean, the frisbee catching dog, and playing on the rope swing, and loved spending time at Cwmtydu beach. Worth bearing in mind that there's no wi-fi, and a limited mobile phone reception- from the comments in the visitors' book, this seemed to have enhanced many holidays, but may be worth considering. Particular thanks for the delicious treats upon arrival, and the veg box.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the log burner, the peace and quiet, and having a lovely dog and chickens around!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil F
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A beautifully converted barn.”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A lovely welcome from Alicia and Nathan with cake and shortbread, to their beautifully converted barn. A very spacious living area above the superbly appointed bedrooms ( both with en suite) and fully functional kitchen. Light airy and spacious throughout.
Meals that were pre prepared by Alicia were absolutely delicious and at a very reasonable price.
We spent our week walking the Wales Coastal Path and made regular use of the Cardi Bach, a small mini bus that stops within yards of the property, to access start and finish points on the walk.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eldridger...
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in a lovely part of the world”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a fantastic week at The Hayloft during the last week of October. After a four and a half hour drive, the warm welcome from Alicia, Nathan and Bean the farm dog was most welcome, as were the home made chocolate brownies and shortbread.

During our stay, we also enjoyed several home cooked meals from Alicia's menu, all delicious and fantastic value for money if you're feeding a family. Paired with the organic veg box we ordered, we really enjoyed the meals; cottage pie, kale pizza and chili con carne, plus lemon tart and fruit crumble for desserts.

Cwmtydu Beach is the nearest beach - a pleasant walk of just over a mile. We were lucky enough to see a seal when we went.

New Quay, Llangrannog and Aberaeron are also a short drive away and worth a visit. The Lime Crab at New Quay is recommended for tasty fish and chips - especially the seafood platter, with scampi, mackerel, cod, squid and prawns. A real treat!

We would also recommend The Harbourmaster in Aberaeron for a great meal or a relaxing drink.

Alicia gave us lots of information regarding local walks, and we enjoyed a lovely walk along the coastal path from Cwmtydu Beach to New Quay, where we saw the wild dolphins in the distance, popping out of the water several times while they followed a boat. Amazing!

We also enjoyed walks past waterfalls, not far from the cottage, as well as Devil's Bridge near Aberystwyth. Great scenery all round.

After our days out, it was lovely to return to the comfort of The Hayloft and relax by the log burner.

Our final night was rounded off by a fantastic bonfire and firework display at Llangrannog beach, recommended to us by Nathan. The huge bonfire is on the sand, and eventually gets put out by the incoming tide, and the two village pubs launch fireworks from the adjacent cliffs. A brilliant end to a great week!

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Hayloft and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing