We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage in a location that`s great as a base...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hallow Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fishing at back of cottage view up stream at back of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Fishing at back of cottage
view up stream at back of cottage
garden
Living Room
kitchen
Bathroom
Family Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Newtownstewart, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Martin W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in a location that`s great as a base for touring the sites of Northern Ireland”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is very cosy and homely with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Clean and tidy upon arrival and a tour by the owner of where everything was and how things work (heating /hot water) and said feel free to phone if any problems arise .We all thought the beds were comfortable with nice clean linen, there were plenty of towels in the bathroom for us all, but what was great was there was lashings of hot water it never ran out. The kitchen was well appointed everything you need for a self catering stay. The parking is great with room for at least 2 cars. The view out the front is nothing to write home about, but is MORE than made up for by what you can see out the back, fantastic views long the river and on to the distant hills. The patio platform gives access via stairs to the river from which i did catch trout and observe Salmon running the high water (6ft above normal), but i would add that caution is needed for very young children but its still great fun. If you enjoy Salmon or trout fishing then you could`nt ask for a better location to access some of the best Game fishing in Europe. 5 big rivers within 10 to 30 min. Check out Loughs agency web site for fishing info. The road systems are great in this area and the bus service is good, stopping in the village with links on to the coast and major towns and cities so the family can still get out and about if you`ve taken the car for a fishing trip. The cottage is great for a family holiday but equally great for a fishing party to stay. I like to get value for money and this did`nt disapoint .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cosy , homely feel, Location in regards to fishing.
Liked least: View out the front
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed seeing the fish in river.
Regards
Ronnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa c
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great place to stay”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a brilliant few days here in June. Beautiful, secluded location and only a short car journey away from nearby towns. Everything you need in the cottage. Rooms were very clean and tidy and felt very welcoming. Kitchen was well equipped.
Good base for exploring the surrounding area and good value for money.
Thanks again to Ronnie and Una for having us! Im already planning my next visit to this fabulous place! :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Hi Lisa

Thank you for you lovely review.

Ronnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philandgi...
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Please read ”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage it self was fine nothing exciting it was a roof over are heads and beds to sleep in. We wanted a way from the norm and we got that. But pictures were very deceiving they show a picture of a grass garden but it isn't there's and they say private garden it has a seat and a table on a slop the back garden is a pokey yard 2 meters by 2 meters u sat down and look at a brick wall no view and all u can smell is the boiler that's leaking . Decking area really bad not safe hinges hanging off with screws pointing out the gates trip hazards all around / hazards alone. Main reason am writing a review very disappointed not happy I wanted my 2 year old to have a place to play like the grass but there was no grass her pool wouldn't fit out back couldn't even put her wee tent up we spent one night went home next day. They state suitable for children of all ages parents advised 8 years and up that's my opinion. The house sits on a lane with falling apart buildings not a place as they say for my 2 year old daughter so that's false also he arrived that morning at 9 o'clock to de-weed the hole place strimer going digging its was intruding in are private to so we had to go out and buy breakfast we should have felt like that to much noise when it's supposed to be relaxing I have pictures of all faults it was for her she's 2 and she couldn't even go outside so we went home. WONT BE BACK

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review. However we fell this is a really unfair review. We have offered a refund for 2 nights as a goodwill gesture. The picture which shows grass is outside picture of cottage from road above and we never claimed to have a grass garden. The garden is stoned which can be easily seen in picture on holiday site. The house is suitable for children to stay as it is approved by tourist board. We are not responsible for the upkeep of hallow road. We had check the cottage inside and out regular and do necessary repairs
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim r
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovley cottage with great view”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a lovely time at Newton Stewart the cottage was excellent for the money, we did use the fire in June but that's Northern Island for you. A great spot to use for touring the area,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
thank you for your review of cottage and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Hallow Cottage.
Ronnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lee-arty
1 review
“Cosy cottage by the Strule”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Cottage comfortably and cosy. Great base for touring about and fishing. Convenient to shops and takeaways. Owners very helpful and friendly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing