We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveller rating
420
178
59
34
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
178
59
34
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river small town dining room medieval castle pastries car park superior room poster bed suckling pig lamb toast stunning views en route local food old building step back in time fantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 701 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Fantastic location and iconic building. Most expensive parador we’ve stayed in but it is unique. Service was a little on the brusque side and having to order everything at breakfast without really knowing what was on offer was unnecessary

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank davidfW7196QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeAlarcon, Responsable de recepción at Parador de Alarcon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear client,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at our Parador and we are glad that you have met your expectations, except the breakfast service.
We hope you visit us again.
Best regards.
Josefina Martínez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

The first things you notice approaching Alarcon are the remains of a tower and two beautiful gates, followed up by the fortress in which the Parador is located. Completely reconstructed for its current purpose as a small-scale hotel. The rooms are fine and there is sufficient free parking space just outside the main entrance. All staff are customer friendly and helpful. There is enough to see and enjoy: walk along the fortress-ramparts (key at reception), visit the village, see the river, etc. The restaurant is very good, served breakfast is something special being used to buffet-style. A minor detail but the colour of the elevator shaft, visible from the patio, seems a bit off. If you are happy to spend at least half-a-day in Alarcon you have to admire the village sights and walk along the banks of the Rio Jucar. You will be rewarded with great views of the fortress, buildings, towers, bridges, river and everything else nature/history presents to you.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeAlarcon, Responsible for reception at Parador de Alarcon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear client,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay in our Parador and we are glad that you have fulfilled your expectations the Parador and its natural and monumental environment.
We hope you visit us again.
Best regards.
Josefina Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

This is one of the most spectacular paradors. BUT.
The bar/restaurant is only accessed from an open courtyard,as is the reception and rooms. Should nature call while you are in the bar/restaurant the loos are across the open courtyard. This is acceptable in a hostel. In a Parador at £175 per night ? I think not.
I have stayed in a number of Paradors and this was the saddest one . Breakfast was a dismal affair.
There was one lady serving who was a breath of fresh air, a local who had worked in the U.K. and was super efficient.
3 out of 5 for quality rooms but with an outside toilet for the amenities open to the public

Room tip: As far as I know any room will be v good
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WFDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeAlarcon, Manager of receptionist at Parador de Alarcon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear client,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at our Parador and we regret that you have not met your expectations.
We hope you visit us another time.
Best regards.
Josefina Martínez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Incredible experience- fantastic location, and sense of history, with excellent, service, food, and wines. This was our second trip, and it was equally as impressive as our first experience- fabulous in every respect!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank Anita Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeAlarcon, Responsible of reception at Parador de Alarcon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear client,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at our Parador and we are glad that you have fulfilled once again your expectations.
We hope you visit us again.
Best regards.
Josefina Martínez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

The Alarcon medieval arab fortress was the last stop of our five night Parador package and was certainly the most spectacular! The town... that is exaggerating its size, more a village... of Alarcon is stuck on the top of a hill dominated by this 8th century fortress which has been perfectly preserved and serves as a 14-room Parador hotel. Each room is a gem, the reception desk an integral part of the hotel. When we were there, it was cool - well, it is at 800-m of altitude - and the village was pretty much deserted. We wandered the perfectly clean and well laid out streets and found a small grocery shop that doubled as a bar where we had an apéro... back to the fortress for an excellent dinner in the sumptuous dining room with a mighty high ceiling, very impressive! For our package there was a 65 euro supplement which I thought a bit excessive. On the other hand, the hotel has only 14 rooms and it is a bit special...The room, bed and shower were up to Parador standards... the service in the dining room a bit slow and old fashioned. But the overall experience was excellent. If you choose well, I strongly recommend the Parador five night package.

Room tip: The windows in the rooms are small but I think every room has a stunning view...
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews