We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Employees using go carts with no helmets/safety while paying customers on the track” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairns Kart Hire Track

Cairns Kart Hire Track
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Employees using go carts with no helmets/safety while paying customers on the track”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2016

My partner recently went to a bucks day at Cairns Go Cart. The party was booked in advance and everyone was told that it was $46 for the session, including go cart and lasertag. On arrival, a 10% surcharge per person was added as it was Easter Saturday. Appalling that this was not mentioned in advance, particularly for those who had brought the "right" amount of money to pay for the afternoon.

In addition, there were two members of the party who were not classified as local, and so a further 10% on top of the 10% was added to the their price. This meant for them $46 turned into $68.

I also believe allowing your barely legal staff members to race around on the circuit without helmets and safety equipment that is (rightly) imposed on customers is a poor reflection of the company, and I wonder what implications this has on the company should an accident occur, particularly as paying customers were using the circuit at the same time.

Overall, I am horrified at the flouting of rules and the poor customer service you provide, and as a local I would not be recommending any visitors of ours to visit your business, let alone visit again ourselves.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank Anika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome fun ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

Last day of holidays and finished on a high:-) loads of fun and sure brings out the competitive streak in all. Guys running things were great and let us have extra time at no extra cost. Fun for all the family

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank Panky023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

Cairns Kart Hire Track/Laser tag was a perfect choice to spend our last day at. It was a lot of fun to do, we basically just showed up, paid and hopped straight in the karts. Instead of the normal 3 laps we got to do around 8-14 laps! depending how fast you go. Also the staff were friendly and chatty. We didn't do the laser tag but I definitely recommend EVERYONE to do it, best laser tag I have seen. Thanks for the great time :) Shay and Family (WA)

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank Shay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A fun race”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Visited here with family - big shout out to staff who were really friendly. The kids had fun but the price does add up quickly. Would be a fun afternoon with a big group of friends.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank trav3773r1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Good clean fun for the whole family.
Definitely brings out your competitive streak. Also great fun when it rains for a drift session.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank Bushmeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cairns Kart Hire Track also viewed

 

Been to Cairns Kart Hire Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing