We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still under works but very nice to see”

Chateau de Franchimont
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Theux
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 October 2013

No bar, and still in works but still nice to see. If you ask at the desk you can dress up your child as a real soldier of the middle age!

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank AngelicaBevilacqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

10 - 14 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

This ancient Chateau is off the "beaten track" and worth visiting.
We had just visited the town of Spa and "we asked" our Tom Tom GPS to take us to a nearby attraction. We are glad it suggest Franchimont.
The annual Medieval Fair had been held over the previous weekend and whilst contractors were cleaning up we were not disappointed with our visit.
The castle itself is not as "impressive" as some of the more funded castles in Europe but if you use your imagination you will be transported back in time.
The excellent audio presentation is a must and you can take your time getting up close and personal with this hidden gem.
The guy at the reception (didn't get his name) was very welcoming and obviously an enthusiast of all things medieval - a great person to have working the desk.
Make sure you plan for a visit that is longer than you think and use your imagination!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

This place was so cool! I loved how old everything was. You can get a personal tour guide thingy in many languages. It was awesome to go down into the bunkers, scary little steps down into a dungeon like crevasse created centuries ago. They also have a bar just above for refreshments. Bonus

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Evie-Girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My family of four decided to take a day trip to Liege, and this is one of the 4 activities that we chose. My husband and I went with our two children, ages 7 and 4.

Please note that this castle is in a ruinous state...

This castle has been in existence since at least the 1100s. You can rent an audioguide for $1.50 and it's worth it. It really does do a good job of explaining at first the history of the castle and it's different transformations through the centuries, as well as show you some artifacts that have been unearthed at the site. Then you can actually tour almost all parts of the castle, and it explains at each section exactly what you are looking at, and how that part of the castle may have been used by its inhabitants. I think our favorite part was that you can actually desend a crazy steep long staircase into the bunkers to see what the bunkers were like.

We've only lived here a short time, and toured only one other castle. It was not in ruins, but most of it was closed off, and what we did see, we had not idea what it was. Although this castle is in ruins, the ability to roam the entire grounds, and the informative audioguide made this a much more interesting tour. And the views from the upper floors were fantastic! My four-year-old could have cared less about the audioguide info, but she still had a great time running around and exploring the different bridges and such. My seven-year-old's interest in the history faded in and out, but he still had a good time, especially in the bunker.

I would definitely recommend this to others. It took us about an hour and fifteen minutes to complete the tour.

Date of experience: June 2012
2  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Self guided tour was a very good. There is a lovely restaurant close by where we had much needed refreshment

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank Wshiresd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau de Franchimont also viewed

Aywaille, Liege Province
Theux, Liege Province
 
Sougne-Remouchamps, Liege Province
 

Been to Chateau de Franchimont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing