We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Totally amazing relaxing escape to La Retreat”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike P
1 review
“Totally amazing relaxing escape to La Retreat”
Reviewed 15 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Staying at La Retreat in the Porcharie which was above and beyond our expectations was a special time for us, relaxing peaceful beautiful views in the garden looking over the swimming pool for miles and miles of wonderful countryside. The owners Kim and Red made us feel very welcome and even shared a glass of wine with us . We will be back. Michael and Lesley

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2018
Thank you Michael & Lesley for your wonderful review and kind words. You were both an absolute pleasure to host, and such a welcoming couple. We very much look toward to seeing you both again very soon, we hope.
Kind Regards
Red & Kim
La Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Date of stay: September 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Sep 2018
Thank you Nick & Julia for your wonderful review and kind words. The pleasure was all ours in hosting you both, you were perfect guests. So glad that La Retreat provided that much needed relaxation. We look forward to seeing you both again, hopefully in the not to distant future.
Kind Regards
Red & Kim
La Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
_vincam22
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 11 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited France on many occasions but never to the Dordogne region bordering with Limousine. As we drove into the drive we recognise The Porcherie from the pictures. Instantly thought the pictures hadn’t done it justice, as it looked and felt bigger than we were expecting in a pretty quiet setting.
Our hosts Red and Kim were friendly, welcoming and very attentive. Worked tirelessly in the background to ensure everything was immaculate, especially the pool and bar area which was really appreciated.
The living space was a good size and decorated at a very high standard. The fitted kitchen had everything we needed to make us feel at home.
The bedroom sits on the mezzanine floor upstairs next to the bathroom and is light and spacious. We enjoyed lightning the BBQ on a private seated area outside including a patio area to enjoy our lunch.
The local town a couple of miles away is quaint with plenty of places to buy food or have a drink. Just make a note of the opening times as they seem to close at random times.
An hour away we found some fantastic places to visit including Périgueux, Brantome and Segur le Château.
Overall a lovely relaxing week and would absolutely recommend this hidden gem.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2018
Thank you Vince & Sara for such a wonderful review. It was entirely our pleasure to host you both at La retreat, and so glad that it exceeded your expectations. You were the absolute perfect guests. We very much look forward to hosting you again, if ever you are in the region. You are always more that welcome at La Retreat. In the meantime we will continue in our efforts to make this gem shine even brighter for future visits.
Sincere Regards
Red & Kim
La Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trip58426...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feel your frazzled brain relax and unwind.”
Reviewed 11 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

La Porcherie is set in secluded gardens amidst rolling farmland. Picture postcard exterior and highly finished interior. Spotlessly clean swimming pool and honesty bar.
Perfect hosts who are invisible until you need anything.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2018
Thank you for the wonderful review and feedback. We both thoroughly enjoyed hosting you at La Retreat, La Porcherie, entirely our pleasure and such perfect friendly sincere guests.

You are both always welcome at La Retreat, and we hope we have the opportunity to host you both again one day in the near future.

Sincere Regards
Red & Kim
La Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chosepepa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“La Retreat was the perfect place to relax and a fantastic base for exploring the surrounding area.”
Reviewed 5 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The location and facilities were amazing! The gite was tastefully renovated and decorated, it was very comfortable and provided us with everything we needed for a very enjoyable stay. The setting was perfect, very peaceful and yet all of the amenities we required were a short car journey away, Redford and Kim were fantastic hosts and we look forward to staying there again,

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thank you Jozef & Clare for choosing La Retreat and for being such the perfect couple, and posting such a wonderful review. It was our pleasure to host you both, and sincerely hope that we get to host you both again soon.
Kind Regards
Red & Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing