We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
136
35
6
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
35
6
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food truck for sale boutique hotel st remy perfect place decoration feeling region nature pool setting products vintage trees tags ikea hip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018

This place is a hidden gem. It's the perfect place for calming down after a stressful period. It's in the middle of the nature. The essence of the Provence. At the same time it's very close to the main attractions of the area.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DOYA2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HameaudesBaux8888, Responsable réception at Hameau des Baux, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear DOYA2018,

Wow ! What a comment !

A warm thanks for your feedback.

As you describe it so well, the Hameau des Baux is located in the heart of 5 hectares of nature.
At the same time, we are at 15 min from Arles, 20 from Saint Rémy and in the center of the Alpilles regional park.

We will welcome you with great pleasure during your next stay in the region.


Kind regards,
Le Hameau des Baux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

The property is very nice, rooms as well, we got upgraded to a suite, which was roomy, cosy and with a cool design.Unfortunately the service was very poor........not very attentive nor very friendly.......we got half an hour before breakfast ends, no plates, no bread, no hot items left. Dirty dishes everywhere. Ordered espresso, got watery coffee. That unfortunately spreads over the whole property, the staff is not very interested in you or attentive. We had dinner at the Hotel, Cicada, which was very good, very nice prepared food, very tasty. Overall it would be a fantastic place to stay, unfortunately we did not feel very welcome and looked after.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandropentimalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HameaudesBaux8888, Responsable réception at Hameau des Baux, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear sandropentimalli,

We thank you for sharing your experience after your stay at the Hameau des Baux.

We are sorry to read that the service did not meet your expectations.
However, this is what is most popular with our other guests.

Your satisfaction is our main objective.
We hope to have the opportunity to prove to you all our talent.


Kind regards,
Le Hameau des Baux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights, and whit-in the first minute I wanted to leave the hotel. When we arrived we immediately were confronted with the fact that on ALL the decoration and furniture were price taggs, so we felt instead of entering a nice boutique friendly hotel we were entering a "cheap" showroom. We were really looking forward to stay here and it was such a big disappointing stay for us. The owners bought this Provence house a couple of years ago and turned this former Provence style hotel in a IKEA showroom as an prestige project, because they are ever a round the staff told us. And you can feel, because the hotel has no soul! On the photo's we were expecting a nice beautiful charming Provence house, but instead of that there were horrible metal chairs and sofa's all around the gardens with blue and yellow which were way to much modern style, that they suit better at IKEA instead of a Provence boutique hotel. Near the pool it was the same, the pictures really don't look as in real life. The pool (area) is very small, the decoration with a lot of kids toys is horrible as well. I love staying at ta pool with a good book, but we only used the pool once, because of all the screaming children and not charming surrounding. Price quality is UNDERNEATH we payed 460,- euro a night excl. breakfast (€ 28,- p.p.). The entrance at such a 5 star hotel and the service could be much more personal. The host at the breakfast and some of the men at the reception desks were also very helpful and kind, but overall, for us it was a not so pleased memory which I hope I will soon forget. We are really big travelers and love to stay in nice hotels as in 4 seasons and Tablet and Mr/Mrs Smith hotels, but this experience was really terrible.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anoniem81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HameaudesBaux8888, Responsable réception at Hameau des Baux, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear ANONIEM81,
Let me expain to you the Hameau des Baux concept.

We are a casual luxury hotel with an art gallery and 2 restaurants.

The Hameau is a place of life, but also a place of nature.
The hotel is located in the heart of 5 hectares of nature, we cultivate our own vegatable garden, our own honey, and our own olive oil.

We are a place of gastronomy, with our gastronomic restaurant la Cicada, Table du Hameau which offers an inventive and seasonal menu.

We are a place of adventures by proposing a stroll in the Alpilles abord authentic vintage cabriolets.

We are a place of healing and well-being by offering care, hiking, yoga classes.

We are a place of culture with artists exposed (photographers, ceramists, painters, etc…) and whose works can be bought.

We work with the company E&E Esprit XXème which selects and decorates the common parts and the rooms of the hotel with furniture of collection, dating from the second half of the XXth century, which chiner, and restored before taking place in the Hameau.
On top of that, this collection furniture is available for sale for anything that would have a crush or for art lovers.

You will therefore understand that we are very far from the « cheap and Ikea showroom ».

We wanted to remind you that the day of your departure we took all the time necessary to explain the concept...

Kind regards,
Le Hameau des Baux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

To sum up our short stay here: don't judge a book by its cover. Thankfully we only booked for one night. The hotel is marvelously marketed (and yes it's pretty and typical of Provence), but completely lacks authenticity and attention.
We booked a deluxe room and upon checkin we're informed that we were upgraded to a deluxe terrasse room. Seemed nice until we realized it was next to the entrance overlooking the parking lot, where there happened to be a band rehearsing for a concert (we were not informed of this before or at our arrival). Needless to say it was impossible to rest with the noise. When we went to the pool to relax, we were told our dog (for whom we paid a pet supplement and who had just been to pet spa) could not lie on the ground next to our daybed for hygienic reasons. However were we shocked to see babies in the pool wearing soggy diapers in the water, and staff not seeming to think that was not hygienic. Shocking. The families and kids in the pool area were so noisy that we could not relax or nap their either (most of the people who were trying to take naps got up and left). The pool bar attendants were not on site all the time. While we swam, one of the lights in the pool popped off the wall and was hanging in the water with the electric cables floating. Although the lights were not on, this didn't seem like a very secure situation to swim in. We informed the staff and they just asked us to take he light out of the water ourselves and leave it on the ledge of the pool. Dinner in the food truck courtyard was awful - except for our lovely waitress with the tattoos (and breakfast was really bad too - industrial pastries in 5 star hotel!). We had reserved a table for dinner, but when we arrived, although there were plenty of nice tables available, they tried to put us on stool seating near the bar. We had to ask for a proper table. Food was extremely bland. And two other tables seated around us for dinner were also complaining about the food and had their meals sent back to the kitchen. All in all, if you're a family with kids looking for a no fuss hotel, and you don't care so much about what you eat, and you just want a postcard Provence backdrop, then this might be an interesting option. Otherwise flee!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank josephinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Been to this hotel exactly a year ago and it was beautiful and a very charming experience. This year it was the complete opposite. Very low quality of service, no flexibility whatsoever, bad food (generally bad but also had a bug in an appetizer), rude attitude from the hotel staff and overall. The staff is extremly tight minded. Unfortunately there is no comfortable area to sit in and have a drink and play games or talk. Also the pool is a let down as there is no service there. Also there is no one around who gives you the feeling of being welcome. Feeling unwelcome. Will not ever return to this hotel even though its one of the outstanding places in the Provence nature with the nature surrounding. After a short rain shower we ended in a dark breakfast room as the service had no plan prepared for that weather. We visit many places around the world varying in price, and this has been the only disappointment ever. Ive never written a trip advisor review before, but this hotel I thought it was necessary.

Room tip: If the bed is on top floor the air-condition isn't effective and you'll sleep in extreme heat.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank helene2001441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HameaudesBaux8888, Responsable réception at Hameau des Baux, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Dear helene2001441,

We thank you for your feedback from your stay at the Hameau.

However, we remain surprised by your comment about the quality of our service, which is the most popular point in the other comments.

Our establishment is in the heart of 5 hectares of nature, with multiple places to relax, such as our terrace, or in our gardens where you will find sunbeds and deckchairs. You also have our swimming pool with over twenty sunbeds.

Our Food truck offers an outdoor service only. In case of bad weather during the service, we have a prepared plan which is to propose a covered room to our customers so that you can finish your meal dry.

It's too bad you thought is was necessary to write such a comment rather than to let us know when you checked-out.

Kind regards,
Le Hameau des Baux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews