We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fat a way from a 5 stars”
Review of Esterel Caravaning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Esterel Caravaning
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Agay
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

I really don't understand how did they got the 5 Star...
The out side pool wan't heated the water were freezing our sun didn't want to get in, in the baby's pool they put way to much economic it's difficult to breath...nothing is under deck, on a rant day there is nothing to do, and all the seiming pools closes at 18h...
Sta fat the reception is unhelpful, we got out mobile home with a dirty WC, spider web all over the mobile home...
The distance between each Mobil home is less the 5 meters, no priver y at all!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Dmitri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

When we arrived the entrance to the site was very busy and we found the dolly- birds on reception most unhelpful and not welcoming! Lots of positives about the site and for families in high season this is probably an ideal location.
The approach roads in the Touring section of the site are tight for a large caravan. The basic pitches are quite small- you can pay for a larger pitch but this is quite expensive. The layout of this area is quite "boring" - three long straight rows. Our pitch was overgrown with weeds at one side.
The swimming pool complex was massive and because it was low season was not too busy- in high season I would imagine it would be too cramped. I went up to the pool area to sunbathe and felt claustrophobic - the sun beds are close together and in tiered rows- no privacy!
Thought the restaurant and bar were pricey!
The location of the site did not suit us. We like a site where we can walk or cycle to the nearest town. There is a cycle path for part of the way to Agay but for some of the way, I would not have felt safe cycling on the very busy road.
We would not return to this site as it simply did not meet our needs!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Booked to stay as a family group of 20 for my parents 50th wedding anniversary,

We had a great holiday, but certain aspects of this site were a huge let down.

A 5* Site - Not a chance !

Lovely area, beautiful scenery,
Pool area was very good.
Take Away - the two guys who ran this were life savers and the only staff on the whole site who are friendly

Eurocamp Staff: were good, but they admitted straight away how awkward the staff are and said they've had trouble with the all year ! Thanks a lot Eurocamp, something needs to be done

The staff -

Reception : you are a total inconvenience to them, on booking we had to write out every persons name address, postcode, mobile number (20 people!) surely they had all this from Eurocamp. The don't smile, they don't laugh, they seemed to have a real problem with us for some reason.... I think they don't like the British

Shop - miserable lady who didn't even make eye contact with you and closes the shop when when feels like it

Bar Staff - The lady who runs the bar is rude, we were shouted at for trying to take take away food on to the bar terrace, it was cold at night, the restaurant would not serve us as a group of 20, we couldn't bbq and the court yard was cold and dark, but she refused to allow us to site in empty bar terrace to eat the take away food, A real unpleasant experience , turned into a full blown row and soured the evening. She told us we were rude and had to respect the rules, never mind that we'd spend a lot of money in the bar as a family and had a table full of drinks at the time.

Restaurant - Would serve us because we were too big a group, we had emailed to try and reserve a table but heard nothing, tried to book for Friday, Saturday, Sunday , Monday but they didn't want us in - really rude people.

Noise - Really surprised to read reviews about noise on the site, when we were there in September it was like a retirement home, we gathered around each others caravans , chatted and played some music, we tried to keep it down and made sure it was off at 11:00 - we got complaints all the time and a visit from the staff to tell us to be quiet.

Toilets in Pool Area - They were filthy twice for all day

On the whole we certainly would go back, we had a lovely holiday but thei was inspite of the staff , it felt hostile in the end

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod_hewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We've been here before and it keeps getting better. The swimming pools are amazing and probably why families come here. A little set back from the coast but that I'd on its favour as you don't get too much traffic. We'll be back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank preic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 fantastic weeks at Esterel in August. Let me summarise the good points and then address some of the criticisms other reviewers have made:

Good: great pool complex which had some entertainment if you wanted (Aquagym etc) and kept the kids aged 6 & 9 busy on the slides etc.

Good: lovely setting and the pitches were not on top of each other, it was lovely and quiet most of the time.

Good: Alfresco reps Dave and Hillary, a real credit to their company. We had one issue (blocked drain) which was fixed quickly, our kids thought they were fab and always enjoyed chats with them.

Good: Animation team were excellent, the evening shows are not really our thing but they were available nightly.

Bad: Pool beds could be hard to come by if you don't play the game. We went down and reserved them when buying bread for breakfast, the rule of not reserving is not enforced so be aware and make sure u reserve.

Bad: White night is the highlight of the season, big show, special effects, lots of razzmatazz..... it was sadly very boring, watching grown men dancing with plastic horses must be an acquired taste!

The criticism of the surface by the pool is justified, it needs sorting for 2018.
We stayed with Alfresco so cannot comment on the brusque receptionist but can vouch for the animation team who were brilliant.
The shop was a little bit frustrating, one particular server always had enormous queues as they were so slow, the next day a different cashier would have no queue.

We rated this site as on a par with La Sirene so would return in the future.

Finally if Alfresco management read this please look after Dave and Hillary, they are great representatives of your brand.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank UK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Customer Relations at Esterel Caravaning, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018


Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and your kind feedback.

We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed you holiday and the service provided by our team on site!

Kind Regards
The Al Fresco Holidays team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agay
3.3 km away
Pierre & Vacances Village Cap Esterel
3.3 km away
Pierre & Vacances Village Hotel de l'Esterel
2.5 km away
La Vallee Du Paradis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
#1 of 23 in Saint-Raphael
575 reviews
10.3 km away
Holiday Green Resort & Spa
7.9 km away
Siblu Villages - Le Montourey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esterel Caravaning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esterel Caravaning

Address: avenue des Golfs, 83530 Agay, Saint-Raphael, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael > Agay
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Agay
Price Range: $35 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Esterel Caravaning 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esterel Caravaning is a 5-star campsite on the French Riviera. Located in Saint-Raphael, between Cannes and Saint-Tropez and only 3 km from the beach of Agay, Esterel Caravanning is a privileged place for greatest holidays. New in 2016: Water park with slides and pentagliss to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the campsite ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Esterel Caravaning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esterel Caravaning Hotel Agay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing