We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveller rating
359
380
171
102
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
380
171
102
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews al fresco happy hour pool area on site esterel mountains take away great holiday lovely site st raphael agay beach south of france kids club crazy golf great facilities high season flip flops table tennis
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Like many travellers, we have over the years stayed in caravan sites all over France and this for us unfortunately the first site we have packed up and left and glad to be away from.
The facilities are impressive, the sanitary blocks have a nice Greco-Roman theme. We concede that we are not the target customer, a couple, and as such less tolerant of some aspects of a site like Esterel. First impression was we booked a shanty town, no privacy between pitches, untidiness.
Site is on a gradient so each pitch, has a neighbouring overlooking pitch with untidy storage it's like living in a low income housing estate with a dozen sticks of bamboo separating the adjacent pitches
the number plate recognition not identifying our number at the barrier so I jumped out and waited to be seen by the reception assistant who, when free, said I couldn't park at the barrier, I said I wasn't parked .. I want to exit but she insisted I had to move. Next day The security guy asked us to move from where we had parked when we just filled the space a French car had left .. by then we had already had enough
The booming cabaret on Friday, my partner shoo-ing a dog away from curling one off on the pitch next to us .. the wifi? Non existent

Ok, 1000 happy customers and we are that one in a 1000 who left never to return but we are in today a lovely site in Orange and blissfully happy

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sinkplug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Been to Esterel for several years and have always loved this site.

LOUD LOUD LOUD...although many people are moaning at the noise at Esterel they do not seem to be taking this seriously. The outside entertainment with very loud speakers starts at 9-30pm which firstly is too late as the children then cannot enjoy, secondly it is absolutely booming, and i mean booming!! it sounds like a disco out side the lodge/ caravan/ tent ,EVERY single night i must hasten to add. This goes on until past 12pm usually 12-30am and then the night club until 3am, as a family we believe this is just ridiculous, our children found it hard to sleep in all the noise and where therefore irritable the following days. Esterel tick every box for us and each year we hope and pray they take on what people are saying every year, unfortunately, they simply don't.
The place started small and friendly and in our opinion is losing its edge and becoming very commercial, cap Esterel another resort is just up the road, again another good resort and in the same area but have always kept with Esterel for its small and friendly environment, this is being lost year on year. ESTEREL LISTEN to these comments, many are saying the same that return to you every year!! YOU NEED TO LISTEN!!
EURO CAMP also need to ensure the lodge is clean, as it wasn't on arrival, this has never happened before.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Mr-k1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We had 10 fantastic nights here with the kids, honestly couldn't recommend the place highly enough.

We booked directly with Esterel Camping and got one of their mobile homes quite close to the main pool area / shop. The caravan itself was spotless on arrival, fairly well equipped for a family of 5.

The first morning we walked to the shop to get our croissants and bread which was literally just out of the oven, get there early as there can be quite a queue! Prices throughout the shop were much better than expected and staff were pleasant.

The pool area is very well laid out with lots of sun loungers, like most places it seems to be the norm to throw a towel down early enough and come back around 10/11 to soak up the rays. There was plenty for the kids to do with the various slides - strict lifeguards keep an eye on any messing about! There are different poolside activities throughout the day, they seemed to be organised by a husband and wife team who were fantastic, they also look after the evenings entertainment which was also very good even though most of it was in French - there was something different every night.

There are two happy hours each day and drinks are half price, perfect excuse to take yourself out of the sun for a while. There is a restaurant on-site which we only used once but it was very reasonable. There is also a pizza takeaway and the pizzas were lovely, about 10/12 euro each.

Sports equipment is free, just leave a deposit. There are kids clubs although ours didn't use them as they seemed to make a few friends around to pool to keep them entertained. The kids play area is a decent size with lots of shade during the day.

There was wifi but to be honest it's not great due to the size of the site but I didn't use my phone during the day as was reading my pool by the pool!

All in all we had a wonderful family holiday, the camp is run very very well and we are booking again for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We booked here after a recommendation. Liked the thought of 5 star camping and booked a 'palace' so we got a hot tub too, which we didn't use!

After a pretty uneventful check in we got to our palace and I have to be honest - the photography is good! It wasn't nearly as big as I was expecting. The biggest disappointment was the kitchen - you really couldn't move at all which made it so hard to cook, dish up and wash up. We did have a dishwasher which was useful. The mezzanine floor was used by our 8 year old and although the steep stairs worried me she was fine. It meant the 3 children had a room each.
We also had two toilets which is a bonus!
Loved the terrace and we were lucky that the neighbouring caravan was empty so we weren't overlooked and the view of the mountains was lovely. The air con wasn't great but if we kept all windows and outside doors closed and internal doors open then it took the heat off.

We didn't really bother with the entertainment after the first night as none of us speak good enough French but we enjoyed the music from our terrace while playing cards.

The pool area was a dream for the children but sunbeds were almost impossible by the time we got there which was normally between 10 and 11 and never got one with shade which meant my sun shy hubby spent a lot of time drinking coffee and non alcoholic cocktails at the little shack around the pool where he could escape the sun.

The shuttle down to the beach was great although as a 7 seater we pretty much took it up so you may sometimes have to wait another half an hour for the next one if a large family arrives first.

We really enjoyed the restaurant and ate there twice. The staff were lovely and even though the menu choice was fairly limited we enjoyed the food.

The snack bar was great - the salads, pizzas, chicken and hot dogs were appreciated.

There are some steep hills which would make hiring a bike difficult.

An end of stay clean was included but as we had to clean the kitchen, strip the beds and empty the bins there can't have been much for the cleaning staff to do!

We had a lovely week in the sun.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Frank197537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Our large caravan had an uninterrupted view of the sunset every evening. Handy location and lots of privacy - we have been to many campsites in Europe and this was the most well thought out site with great plots.
We look ed the takeaway - roast chicken and pizzas a triumph!
Large pools with water slides open long hours- brilliant fun.
The jungle pool was a Revelation for our toddler☆

Room Tip: Campsite . Static caravan plots well laid out
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank DerwenFawrVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews