We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,063)
Filter reviews
1,063 results
Traveller rating
359
380
172
102
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
380
172
102
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews al fresco happy hour pool area on site esterel mountains take away great holiday lovely site st raphael agay beach south of france kids club crazy golf great facilities high season flip flops table tennis
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,063 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Location: great and close to st raphael beach by car. Great night market and plenty of restaurants along beach.

Check in was quick and efficient. Queues are long at 3-4pm when we were told to arrive. We arrived earlier at 2 pm and had no queue and got into our cabin a little earlier.

The communal bins were opposite our cabin but bins emptied twice daily.

Grocery Stock up is your 1st priority after I packing and the Leclerc supermarket was very very busy long queue (even to park) at 5pm - avoid and go early or much later.

Cabin accommodation
Cabin was Clean and well Presented when we arrived. Small inside and small bedrooms get v hot at night, esp if your aircon not working. It took us a while to discover how to use it. Air conditioner worked at times but didn't properly work on hot days. Doesn't cool bedroom areas if doors closed.

Beds are flimsy and easy to break (if your clumsy, like me)
Storage is limited but we stored ourcases in boot of the car so worked fine.

Small kitchen gets to you after a couple of days. Good supply of hot water.
Cooker worked fine but it's a pain to have to wash dishes all the time by hand.
Fridge didn't work day 1 and had to be fixed next day (although the interior light didn't work)

Outside verandah
Nice shade outside cabin. Cabin location great. Wasps an issue several days so maybe buy some wasp spray?

you can't beat the open air family breakfast ... one of the great things about camping and the coffee maker is a great luxury.

But the floor boarding was old, tired and broken in places. You can lose all your coins thru the floorboard gaps with the right 4 year old!

The Plastic table and chairs were cheap and not all that great - chairs not designed to support big men

Communal facilities
Swimming Pools are good pretty safe and nicely done, but overcrowded. Hard to find a sunbed after 10am.

Slides are good fun and well policed but pool areas need more supervision to reduce teenagers diving all the time and creating too much splash for younger kids.

Poolside ice cream and smoothies great but Long queues at times - one server was great but the second had a grumpy attitude and was clearly unhappy to be serving.

Walking Surface was a little too harsh to walk without flip flops and flip flops forbidden !!!

No comment on the French law banning loose fitting swimming trunks!


Mini club - arrived at this 'club' on Monday 10am and greeted by a half eaten plate of chips from previous night. No one around. Later met the person in charge and put Arthur out 4 yr old in .... but we found him an hour or so later in the corner sitting alone ... not great care at all and wouldn't be happy

Didn't bother with mini club forest walk although paid for

Baby club worked fine nothing special but costs €10/hour.
the wifi. What a complete disaster. Lots of promises about fibre optics and great service. We couldn't get good wifi any day of week. Only way to get wifi was to go to "business centre"... which was most definitely not a business centre...more like a school common room untidy and unattended!

Food from resto
Staff are friendly and very helpful. Great characters. This is a v good takeaway you eat at next door open air bar. Pizza is excellent spag Bol delicious and chips chicken nuggets ok. . Unfortunately the cheeseBurgers are woeful...and microwaved

The evening shows are well done and kids love them. Sometimes a bit loud for our sensitive little fella but his younger sister couldn't be stopped from dancing.

Language is mostly French with the odd English phrase thrown in...but a little hard to follow without French.

Finally the Cabernet on our last night was v good. when the show started with music acts from around the world...the best probably the Cossacks or river dance. ... that was the moment we knew our little fella is ready for the panto next xmas!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

This is the first time we have been camping and wanted to do it in style ! 5 star camping sounded perfect . There are def two parts to this review.

Firstly - esterel camping in agay . It's rated as a 5 star and the actual site itself I'm sure is. The pools and the equipment for the kids and waterslide a where fantastic. The kids spend hours there! The entertainment was absolutely 5 star! Really amazing acts .

But .... We booked our accomadation through Alfresco holidays and to be honest it was pretty grim! Never doing this before I imagined if you have a 5 star camp that the mobile homes( even if not owned by esterel- which I imagine are very nice - would have a decent standard ). Very disappointingly this was not the case. The accomadation was 1 possibly 2 star at a push. I asked to be moved and there was no other ones available and this could mean is moving to another one that they have their caravans on. For us this wasn't an option as for all we knew the standard could be the same !

Location amazing - but I know this area so knew it would be. Weather stunning. Area defiantly gone up in terms of eating out and food expenses.

Esterel camping would be a 4 star review and Alfresco a 1 star review if I could do supertly. So would I go back to esterel agay- probably and I would recommend it. Would I use Alfresco holidays again - no I don't think so !!

Hope this is a helpful review .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank sassyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Customer Relations at Esterel Caravaning, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback - we are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this ocassion and apologise that you have been left feeling disappointed with the accommodation provided.

Please be assured that we do act on all feedback made by our customers, we'd like to thank you for highlighting your concerns.

Kind Regards
The Al Fresco Holidays team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We are a family of 5 - kids 17,9 and 5. We had a fantastic holiday. The good bits of Esterel are superb. The pool area is great and the kids really enjoyed the slides. Even my 17 yr old coped with the shock of compulsory Speedos! The surface is indeed uncomfortable but you get used to it after a while! Wifi not great - didn't bother me but my 17 yr old found that annoying!! (Oh dear!!) I did meet the 'grumpy' one at reception- amused me more than insulted me after reading reviews! The rest of the staff were great! Fast food bar was good value and as expected quality wise. Restaurant- just ok and a bit expensive - could do better but 'ok'. Entertainment was good generally - some cover bands and we had the excellent 'anniversary' show which was impressive, if a little eccentric! Supermarket generally ok but expensive.
Two important points for me are: 1. don't stay here without a car... bus stop a good 20min uphill walk in heat and busses didn't appear at scheduled times!! We ended up hiring a car for a few days and went exploring to Cannes and Monte Carlo - excellent stuff! 2. Eurocamp caravan - disappointed!! It was old, dirty seats and the most uncomfortable kids beds I've ever encountered... we seemed 'unlucky' though as most other caravans by them looked superb. Bad luck maybe but my first Eurocamp experience was not worth the extra cash after staying with canvas and al fresco elsewhere - but do your research just incase you too are 'unlucky'! (Eurocamp reps superb)! Overall though, a great place - would certainly recommend it and may even return (in a nicer caravan!!)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fingers_ferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stayed at Esterel as a family of 5 (children aged 12, 10, 7) from 29th July for 10 days, next door to another family we were holidaying with. We flew into Nice and hired a car, and while the flight was short, we spent nearly the same amount of time again in the car hire centre of hell queue. It was just under an hours' drive to get to the campsite, so altogether much quicker than the 2-day driving journey our friends did to get there. The weather was incredibly hot - around 40 most days - which made being outside for any length of time during the day quite an endurance test. We stayed in an Aspect caravan with Eurocamp, which thankfully had air conditioning, and was a bit of a lifesaver. The caravan was quite spacious with good storage, comfy beds, a large deck and most things we needed. There are 3 Aspects, all grouped together in a nice area close to the pool, bar, shop etc and with a lovely view across the treetops out to the mountains in the distance. The Eurocamp couriers were great - very friendly and responsive, trying their best to put right a few issues we had. The pool area with its different slides was lots of fun for the children, although we usually only managed to get a sunlounger if we arrived later on in the day (5.30pm onwards). The entrance into the pool is a bit shambolic - you have to leave your flipflops outside (three pairs went missing during our holiday, so don't take your favourites), then walk down a very slippery/dirty narrow slope to get in, where the ground around the pools is very sharp in some places and boiling hot in others, and so difficult to walk on. The tight swimming trunks rule is strictly followed by men and boys. Entertainment is a big thing on the site and starts early in the day with aqua aerobics and Zumba around the pool, and something different going on most nights. Although popular, all these activities were seriously loud and went on right into the night, which became quite irritating. It was a real shame that the pool was closed early on two different days, to get the area set up for the evening's entertainment - the children were gutted! We had a great trip to Lac de Saint Cassien where there was an inflatable assault course and pedal boats with slides on the beautiful, clear, warm lake. We also had a dip in the sea at Agay, but most days the weather was just too hot to go very far! There were loads of supermarkets within about 10 mins drive, and we visited Casino a few times, after initially discovering it was the only one open on a Sunday. Prices of food/toiletries etc seemed really expensive - things cost more than in the UK, plus the poor exchange rate meant we spent a lot more than usual. Crazy golf and table tennis on the site were free (with a refundable cash deposit) and in a nice shady area. The shop was well stocked and the takeaway was fine. We found all site staff to be really polite and helpful. Altogether a nice, relaxed family holiday - we thoroughly enjoyed the local rose wine and the children had 'the best time ever'

Stayed: August 2017
Thank gingermaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We have come back to Esterel for the second time and I must admit we won't be back again
The location for is lovely but I feel as if the staff have become complacent and a few things have significantly gone down hill
The entertainment is great and the staff work extremely hard especially Vincent and Daniella and I wish them alll the best for their soon to be new arrival
The lady running the bar is rude and her staff , the waiters waiting on the tables have quite an agressive stance when it comes to buying drinks
Our family have eaten in the restaurant , bought many drinks and bought lots of food at the shop
I object to being constantly harassed to buying drinks when we sit down for the entertainment at night,which is part of the package . This is embarrassing and unnecessary . We were set upon the moment we'd finished one lot of drinks .
The lady running the bar told my children to get water from the toilets . They don't deserve our custom
The toilets by the pool are disgusting , rarely cleaned and no toilet paper
The internet is poor
There is little if any shade by the pool

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank tleaf2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews