We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location and accomodation for our...”
other travellers have booked this property
Can't you see yourself enjoying an 'apéro' here?
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can't you see yourself enjoying an 'apéro' here?
Kitchen and dining area. Seating area in main dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Can't you see yourself enjoying an 'apéro' here?
Kitchen and dining area.
Seating area in main dining area.
Seating area in dining room.
Dining area with large windows.
Dining table and looking into kitchen
Main floor bathroom.
Main floor bathroom.
Main floor double bedroom.
Main floor double bedroom.
Cozy sitting room.
Stairs leading to loft.
Loft sleeping nook (single bed)
Upstairs bathroom
Loft bedroom (double bed)
Loft bedroom and sleeping nook.
Cozy patio.
Cozy patio.
Beautiful Nérac
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nerac, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tomkat52
Caledon, Canada
1 review
“Perfect location and accomodation for our fabulous south of France holiday”
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The drive from Bayonne to our accommodations at the Maison de la Fontaine was lovely thanks to the directions we received to plan our fabulous vacation in the south of France. The home, located in the quaint historical village of Nerac was located within easy walking distance to the restaurants and shops in the area and we felt we could experience being part of the local culture. The centralize location was perfect for day adventures to wineries, foie gras and armagnac tasting tours, lunches at Michelin star restaurants, exploring both historic and modern architecture, and pre-historic caves and taking in the beautiful landscape. The well-equipped modern kitchen and comfortable living space allowed us to enjoy breakfasts and dinners at home.
The attention to the detail in the home, lists of recommended restaurants and sites, the availability of local books and maps and wi-fi made this a fabulous vacation to the not-to-miss Saint Emilion, the Cite du Vin museum in Bordeaux, Condom and Toulouse.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
Thanks so much for your detailed review :) We're absolutely thrilled you had such a wonderful time - it looks like you fell in love with Nérac and the surrounding areas (so glad all the resources in the house were useful!). We hope to see you back in Nérac again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kgelbart
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We knew nothing about this often-overlooked corner of France and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the region by car, visiting wineries, bastide towns and some top-notch regional restaurants. Maison de la Fontaine was a perfect base for our discovery of Le Gascogne. It is lovingly restored, with a great kitchen, a cozy sitting room, cable TV, WIFI and a comfortable bedroom that gets restoratively dark at night. The town of Nerac is charming and the house is within walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and cafes. The shopkeepers in Nerac were charming and welcoming and we even met some expat English speakers at the Taverne d'Henri on a beautiful sunny afternoon. A highly recommended experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us so much and are always so happy to share our little corner of Gascony with others! We hope you'll come back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satisfied...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nerac home”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nice and central to the cute historic village Good advice in the well written compendium so we knew how every thing worked handy restaurants and shopping guide Good beds and pleasant indoor areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FryerTO
Toronto, Canada
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow down, relax and explore SW France”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Maison de la Fontaine is perfectly situated to explore all the region has to offer. We even did a day trip to the Pyrenees. If you feel inspired to cook your own meals the fabulously well-appointed kitchen is at the ready. We sat on the patio sipping rosé, eating local cheese and charcuterie with the wafting scent of the climbing roses under a blue, blue sky; it really doesn’t get any better.
We were totally relaxed within hours of arriving. Clean, spacious, with modern bathrooms, reliable internet, tv and such comfortable beds we unintentionally slept in every day! Also an added bonus to have a modern washer and dryer. In addition, we used the very helpful suggestion kits put together by Neil and Mardi for touring the area, whether vineyards, historic towns, farmers’ markets. We spent hours at the Nérac farmers’ market on Saturday morning.
We would go back to the house in a heartbeat to explore all the things we couldn’t get to the first time mainly because life slowed down and we felt so at home. One suggestion, if you’re there when fête de Nérac is on in early May we highly recommend going to the Course Landaise, an ancient form of bullfighting which involves no bloodshed and is unique to SW France.
All in all our whole stay was memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amenities of the house; and location within Nerac.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucsonbab...
tucson
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Gascogne Dream”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Maison de la Fontaine is a lovingly restored home on a quiet street in the enchanting town of Nerac. The owners, who use it as their vacation home, spared no expense in making it a delightful place to stay.
Tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean, the home has modern bathrooms, comfortable beds, fluffy towels, fast reliable internet, plenty of hot water and a washer and separate tumble dryer. The fully equipped kitchen is a cook’s dream. This is not your typical vacation rental with scratchy sheets, dull knives and four jelly glasses. You feel as if you are a guest in someone’s home.
We spent five days at Maison de la Fontaine in mid-April and we wished that we had booked it for a longer time. Although it was too cool to sit on the pretty front patio, it was easy to imagine how relaxing it would be in warmer weather. It was a perfect vacation stay. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing