We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Fantastic Step Back In Time!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mont Joie

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
PattiL201...
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Step Back In Time!”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We chose Beynac for it's history and location on the beautiful Dordorgne River. Mont Joie turned our visit into an experience of Medieval Southwest France. Being just below the castle, you really feel it's place in that history. Cobblestone, narrow streets; stone houses and beautiful gardens are fabulous! Mont Joie has every amenity you could hope for: view of the river, sun streaming in the windows, full well stocked kitchen, two King-beded, ensuite bedrooms. Martine, housekeeper, was fabulous, we ran into her all over town where she introduced us to all her friends!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaSAus...
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We highly recommend Villa Mont Joie. Nestled on a steep hillside beneath the castle Beynac, it is beautiful, comfortable, and has breath-taking views of the river, valley, castles in a panoramic sweep. It fundamentally comprises three rooms on three levels. On the top floor, there is a great room with a well-appointed, modern kitchen apportioned close to the entry. One floor down is the master suite, with a walk-out veranda over-looking the valley where we sat in starlight each night. One floor further down is a second master suite. Our group consisted of two couples, and everyone was happy with accommodations.
We stayed for a week, and could have easily extended for a month without seeing everything. We had delayed getting tickets to Lascaux and were told they were sold out, but . . . pas de probleme! Christophe, who with his lovely wife Sarissa is the caretaker of the Villa, got us tickets. Christophe is a tour guide and we spent two days with him (in his amazing Tessla) and saw caves and villages that we otherwise would have missed. We highly recommend his services.
Beynac itself is a tiny village, but has a lovely restaurant, La Tonnelle, that is a three—minute walk. It also has a few shops/patisseries/galleries, and the castle itself is a must-see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grigi_in...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding luxury residence ”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Mont Joie is the perfect 16th century home in the perfectly picturesque Perigord village of Beynac, location of the film Chocolat. It is very large and well appointed with authentic period furnishings and first rate kitchen and amenities. Very comfortable beds as well. The views of the Dordogne river and surrounding chateaux must be some of the best in France. Two weeks here for our family of four was lovely. The agent Sarissa and housekeeper Martine were lovely and efficient. The owner, Vincent, has really gone out of his way to provide a wealth of local information and recommendations. We very highly recommended Mont Joie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny H
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Go!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Dordogne is beautiful enough and Beynac is picture, but the crowning jewel of our holiday was staying at Mont Joie. This accommodation suited us perfectly, a family of five, lovingly furnished, great facilities, excellent wifi and plenty of room, but Ohhh the views over the Dordogne! Hot Air Balloons floating by, picturesque Chateaux in the distance, and the river mirroring the sky. You could stay there all day and just sit. From booking to return of deposit, the Owner, Vincent could not have been more helpful and accommodating. His information about the area is invaluable. If you have doubts, let me relieve them, this is a great place to go and Mont Joie is a great place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aphilpott...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday home in Beynac, Dordogne”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 5 spent 2 weeks at this lovely home in June 2014. We can not imagine a better place to stay when visiting the Dordogne. The house has a great mix of history and character but with all modern amenities, and is set over three levels with spectacular views from each terrace or balcony.
Aside from relaxing on the balcony watching the hot air balloons float past, we loved the canoeing, hiking, cycling, visiting numerous castles, roaming the produce markets , morning croissants and baguettes from the boulangerie, and some local restaurants (petit tonnelle in beynac was a favourite for classic simple French food in a nice setting).
We hope to return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing