We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Pigeonnier

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room showing an original prune dryer!  (This is a great prune growing area!)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Sitting room showing an original prune dryer!  (This is a great prune growing area!)
Inside the Old Pigeonnier
Le Lac de Lesceroux - fabulous area for walking  (nearby)
Local summer fete - French style Morris Dancers?
Fabulous wine shop / deli in Duras
Fab salt water pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Duras, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
honda1259
Kidderminster
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tranquil break”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is the second stay here so we knew what to expect and have enjoyed this stay as much as the first. Des and Sarah are very unobtrusively helpful leaving you some very welcome initial provisions to help sttle you in.
There is a folder giving lots of useful tips about the surrounding area as well as some please dos/donts.
The "welcome" from Oz and Harry their dogs is hilarious but is never an issue.
We would recommend staying here if you are looking to have a quiet stay or if you want to explore.
The wifi signal isn't great butSarah and Des are usually happy for you to sit on their verandah if needed.
The only thing to note is that the stairs to the bedroom are steep so care is needed more coming down than going up but we haven't had a problem with them.
Thanks again to Sarah and Des

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rest
Liked least: The distance to shops
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

An absolutely beautiful building in a beautiful location. Sitting outside with a bottle of wine whilst watching the resident barn and little owls was magical. Sarah and Des are wonderful hosts, they made sure we had everything we needed, gave us plenty of info and recommendations of what to do in the local area, but also gave us the space we needed to relax. We would definitely recommend The Old Pigeonnier to any couple who are looking for a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina E
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect spot for recharging the batteries”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have been visiting this part of the beautiful Lot et Garonne region for over 10 years now and The Old Pigeonnier is a treasure we were rather hoping no-one else would find! If you are looking for peace and tranquility in a picturesque location then this place ticks all the boxes.

Des and Sarah are wonderful hosts, on hand if you need them for anything but discretely absent if you are wanting to enjoy a lazy day around the pool, a book and a cuppa in the garden or an aperitif, long lunch or supper outside.

The dovecote itself is comfortable with everything you need for a restful holiday and its setting really is stunning. If you're lucky, you'll catch a glimpse of the resident barn owl on a balmy evening, just around dusk. On top of that the stars on a clear, summer's night are a joy to behold.

We're already booked for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great bed. Lovely pool. Going home fully rested
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemaif
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well what can I say! Des and Sarah you have a beautiful home in an amazing location. Duras has a beautiful town and chateau and the area is stunning, full of beautiful valleys and vineyards. We visited the beautiful and stunning Les Eyzies also known as the valley of the caves which is well worth a trip and the amazing Brantome also known as France's little Venice! The markets are well worth a trip to buy local products and very good value and the quality of the meat is fantastic. Sit down and have a coffee or even a Menu Du Jour which are very good value for money and delicious! Des very kindly introduced us to the local Rose, which was amazing. You can just drive into the Vineyards and try the local wines. Domaine la Place was the place to buy the Rose and their red wine was amazing too and great value. Domaine Lauzen was also a great experience and the wines are awesome! The gite itself was beautiful and had the most amazing ceiling in the bedroom which is from the Pigeonnier. It was lovely and cool to relax in after a day of sunbathing and swimming in the fabulous salt water swimming pool. Evenings we're amazing being sat outside watching the sun go down with a rather large glass of wine and waiting to get a glimpse of the resident barn owls that nest on site. This was our first trip away on holiday with our dog Ted and it was made all the better for Des and Sarah allowing him to have the freedom of the property and play with Harry and Oz their dogs. Thank you for making our holiday a wonderful experience and see you next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honda1259
Kidderminster
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet beauty spot”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Des and Sarah, the owners, were very welcoming and happy to offer guidance as well as providing some good local information in a handy folder. Their two dogs, Harry and Oz, were hilarious and very friendly. We enjoyed our stay and our interactions with Des and Sarah were pleasant including a game of boules with drinks. Its not too far from shops, about 15mins drive, and there are plenty of attractions not too far away.
The accommodation was spacious, clean with D&S supplying some basic essentials to make life easier.
The pool is salt water and I can't say I really noticed this but I did notice the lack of chlorine.
Make sure you have your camera as you never know when you will see a bird of prey just sitting on a fence.
There are some local walks and the view across the valley is unobstructed being from the top of the hill.
The bed was enormous.
If there was one minor flaw it was the cooker which was a little temperamental but D&S tried to get this seen to promptly.
The internet was available however you needed to be close to the main house for best access and D&S were happy for us to sit at their table on the verandah
We enjoyed our stay and would happily go back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;