We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quiet, private and peaceful setting with a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Colombine

Private heated salt water pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private heated salt water pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Private heated salt water pool
Large spacious garden
Dining table
The kitchen
The kitchen
Lounge
Bedroom 1, king size bed, the entire property is on the ground floor
Bedroom 1, king size bed, the entire property is on the ground floor
Bedroom 2 Twin beds
Bedroom 2 Twin beds
Bathroom with bath, wet room shower and wc
Bedroom 3 can either be a twin room or large king double
Bedroom 3 can either be a twin room or large king double
Walk in shower and wash basin, next to a separate wc
Floor plan
Weekly farmers markets
Weekly farmers markets
Typical cafe culture in the area
Bordeaux museums
Vibrant Bordeaux
Amazing St Emilion
Historical towns to discover
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Duras, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kit A
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A quiet, private and peaceful setting with a beautifully equipped house.”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We are a family of 6 plus a small dog and stayed at Colombine this August. It is part of a larger estate, well set back from the road, and the owners were staying in the main house but they very much kept out of our way and vice versa and we had a really wonderful time.

The house is converted from an old fruit barn and is well planned with 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath/shower rooms, and a partially open plan living space divided into kitchen,dining and sitting areas. There is a lovely terrace outside where we ate most days.

The kitchen is superbly equipped and there were a lot of good details like lots of plug sockets so no arguing over who is charging their mobile (!) plus good TV and DVD player and blue tooth speaker.

The pool is great and there are plenty of loungers around it. All in all it was a wonderful base from where to explore the surrounding area. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked least: The area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tetley012...
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice place to stay with a dog”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

stay here in may liked it so much returned in september walked in the front door and it was like being at home dogs ran in like they had not been away chris and dave were very helpful as usual thanks again Shelley for the use of your lovely cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from the windows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
photochro...
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great holiday - Great value.”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed three weeks at Colombine. Having our 16 month old grand-daughter with us, we knew we would be spending much of our time at the accommodation so chose our place to stay with care. We were not disappointed. We have stayed in a number of lovely gites in the area over the past 20 years but cannot recall a place so well equipped and user friendly. The photographs, inviting though they are, hardly do it justice. It is spacious, clean and well designed. All the bedrooms are a good size with comfortable beds, good storage with plenty of hangers and each is equipped with a large electric fan. The generous bathroom is supplemented by a good shower room. Oodles of hot water meant no problems operating both showers at the same time. The kitchen is extremely well equipped with a new Smeg cooker, large fridge with freezer over and all the appliances one could reasonably expect. We were, perhaps, a little surprised not to be offered any change of bedding or towels during our 3 week stay but an efficient washing machine is on hand and the hot weather meant almost instant drying.The lounge is comfortable and benefits from Sky TV. The pool is not particularly large but perfectly adequate and a natural focus during our stay with temperatures often in the mid 30's C. Upon arrival we found that the barbecue was unstable and unusable but a quick mention to Dave and it was replaced immediately with a much better Weber barbecue which we proceeded to made good use of. Having Dave on hand was a bonus. I can only think of one thing that would improve the experience and that is the provision of a parasol or two (owner has already responded positively to the suggestion) that could be positioned at the edge of the pool, as there is no shade immediately adjacent to the pool in the afternoons (a lovely vanilla tree provides ample shade in the mornings). In really hot afternoon sun one is forced to retreat to the dense shade of the terrace. Otherwise.....perfection! The local small supermarket just outside Duras is good so there is really no need to go any further. We enjoyed the privacy that the accommodation provided and the good weather meant we could make the best possible use the place and grounds. Apart from that, we had a really good steak at La Terrace opposite the chateau at Duras and the pizzas at the pizzeria in Eymet take some beating. The "Cave" next door to the pizzeria, run by an Irish lady, provides an excellent choice of recommendable wines at all prices. Tip - Tuesday evening, get to Eymet for 6.30pm grab a table under the cloisters at the pizzeria before it gets too busy and "people watch" from there as the night market gets underway. At the end of the holiday - go home and start the diet!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good level of equippment/comfort.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and private
Liked least: No Sunflowers this year!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing