We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”
Review of The Colonial

The Colonial
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Padangbai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 28,604 - USD 160,184
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to our delicious, healthy and family friendly restaurant using local sources. Enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner while watching the divers train in our swimming pool. Get yourselves comfortable in lounge chairs, bean bags or restaurant chairs and soak in the relaxed atmosphere of our restaurant. Restaurant guests are welcome to use the swimming pool free of charge.
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

As a guest of the resort with dive bookings, I had breakfast and lunch included each day. Everything I had was tasty from European dishes like schnitzel, bramboraky, and pasta to Indonesian/Balinese staples like noodles and fried rice. Bintang beer is on draft and a variety of fresh coffee drinks are churned out on the espresso machine. On top of everything, the service was phenomenal with each one of the staff greeting you with a smile each day and making sure you had what you needed. I resisted the desserts everyone raves about but there's always next time!

Thank greatxcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKDivers_Resort, Manager at The Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear greatxcape,
reading your lovely and praising review of The Colonial has made our day. Thank you so much for being a regular guest to our restaurant during your stay in Padangbai. We are very happy that you were satisfied with our meals, drinks as well as the service.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
With kind regards
The Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in OK divers so ate here for breakfast but also had dinner here twice.

The staff is very friendly and the food tastes great.
Especially the desserts are the best I tasted on the island.

Thank Soverdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKDivers_Resort, Manager at The Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Soverdam,
thank you so much for dining at The Colonial and for taking the time to share your experience with other hungry bellies here on Tripadvisor :-) .

We are very happy that our home-made desserts have found another big fan and that they earned such a praise from you.

Thanks again and we wish you all the best.

The Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

I dined in this restaurant several times and out of the several nice meals I tried, my favorite was the hamburger and definitely the quesadilla! Both meals were big and very tasty. And they have Bintang on tap, which in my opinion is way better than the bottled one. The restaurant is part of a dive resort, so from anywhere you sit you can watch the divers getting ready or train in the pool. If you are a guest at the restaurant, you can also use their pool to swim in, which was very welcome. The overall ambience is very relaxed, the staff is friendly although when the restaurant is full you might have to wait a bit longer for your food. But that did not bother me, since I was in no hurry to leave :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Honza666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Good place and good food. Delicious Chicken Snitchels was so good. The design interior also good.

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 6 Stub App Smartphone
Thank Yuni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKDivers_Resort, Manager at The Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Dear Yuni C,
thank you very much for the lovely feedback. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the ambience and the meals in our restaurant. The Chicken Schnitzel is indeed a very popular dish among our guests. :-)

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards
The Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant several times and we always had a good service and the food/quality was very good. It's not traditional Indonesian food, it's been adapted a little for foreigners but it doesn't change that's one the best place to eat in Padang bai. Don't forget to finish your meal with their delicious home made ice cream!

Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKDivers_Resort, Manager at The Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Dear Daniel A,
thank you so much for being our repeated customer at The Colonial and for sharing your experience on this platform. You are right that most of our menu is made of international cuisines, nonetheless our Nasi Campur of the day is authentic Indonesian meal and every day we offer a different combination ingredients. Nasi Goreng is another one of the traditional and very popular Indonesian meals.

We are very happy you liked our home made ice cream. Luckily the weather is warm all year round in Bali, so any day can be an ice cream day, right?

Thank you again for dining at The Colonial.

Best,
The Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Colonial also viewed

 
Padangbai, Bali
 

Been to The Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing