We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reaxing holiday”
Review of Suite Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suite Princess
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Reaxing holiday”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

In May of last year we went to a "Blue Couples" hotel in Rhodes, Greece: Atlantica Imperial Resort. If you're into traveling without kids like we are, I can recommend the hotel in Rhodes. Unfortunately, that hotel wasn't an option when we wanted to go on holiday in February. That's why we ended up at the Suite Princess-hotel in Gran Canaria, another hotel for people over 16 only. Can't say we had a bad time at this hotel, not at all. But our expectetions were a bit high after our marvellous expreience with the Blue Copules hotel in Greece and I'm sorry to say that Suite Princess didn't meet our expectations. But if you're on your way to Playa Taurito and Suite Princess is booked and ready: You are not to worry. You will have a good vacation there (although maybe not a good meal)

Overall impression of buildings and pool area:
The hotel was built in -84 and refurbished in 2010. Still the hotel itself is an ugly building and somewhat.. well not shabby, but not top class either. The pool area is kept quite neat with some palm trees and green bushes, but I guess what I really missed was even more plants, trees and flowers. That would be an easy way for the hotel to make the hotel itself more welcoming! I also missed lawns. I like walking on grass when it's all snowy back home! The pools are good but both could have been heated instead of just one.

Room:
We upgraded to a superiour room (Junior Suite) and therefore can't say anything about the "normal" rooms. The room was spacious and situated on the -2 level, which sounds a bit dodgy but really wasn't. Our balcony was overlooking a small lawn and some trees, the ocean a stone's throw away. In the superior room you get sunbeds on the balcony, which we thought was rewason alone to upgrade! Comfy big bed, a sofa, refrigerator (in superior rooms only) and a small flat screen TV. Good bathroom. We were satisfied!

Food
This is what really disappointed us and whay brings down the rating fot the hotel. The breakfast was good. The problem was that you have to eat masses at brekfast to get through the day: a lousy lunch and a sometimes even worse dinner. Don't be fooled by the looks of the dishes at lunch/dinner. The food was generally either tasteless (no spices. No salt. It was like eating fancy looking hospital food), more or less okay or even icky.
I missed a good selection of salads and vegetables. Seriously - some tired lettuce and cucumber just don't do! And how can you make aioli - garlic sauce - without any garlic?! If you're 80+ and have survived a war, you might find the food good. Otherwise not. I will not write any more about the food, it just makes me feel nauseous thinking about it! Oh, and the "Romantic Five Course Dinner" you can go to is NO better.

Drinks:
Wine in taps- no good. Wine in bottle (for those who upgreaded): slightly better. The white and rosé better than the red. Cava on tap: no good. Cava for upgraded people: OK. Cocktails with imported liquors: Good. Cocktails with local liquors: Wouldn't want to try!
Coffe machines: Excellent.

Playa Taurito:
A boring place with nothing to see but as we like to hang out by the pool, we were satisfied anyway. The beach has black, soft sand and it's easy to go for a swim from the hotel.

Hotel entertainment:
3 chicks arranged boule, petanque, water gymnastics and other crap and disturbed the guests. I seriously think they were on dope or something. Every hour or so they ran around the pool area shouting something. A woman next to us said to herself: "For god's sake I'm on vacation!" I agree. Give the guests a break!!
The couple singing an playing guitar was great, the pianist good and the rest of the evening entertainment not worth mentioning.

We came home relaxed and to sum it up: The room was good, the pool area was good, the drinks were just fine and I'm once again very happy we chose an "adults only"-hotel.
The food was bad and the overall look of the hotel and hotel area a bit dissapointing.

Room Tip: Superior (Junior Suite) rooms are good. The rooms don't have to be located on floor 8, the -2 le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fridolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,430
    998
    391
    93
    48
See reviews for
187
2,389
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,207)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devon uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel provides an inclusive experience, with a good selection of meals and snacks as appropriate throughout the day, for the mainly older traveller. The staff are very helpful and considerate and sort out minor issues as quickly as possible. For travellers with disabilities the specially adapted rooms are very spacious although to get a wheelchair over the balcony door 'ledge' might require help. The week was very pleasant even though the wind was a little chilly for most of the time. The pool may be 'acclimatised' but very few people made use of it! Think however as to whether you want to invest in the presumably higher up rooms ( if you book the more expensive Superior Suites?) as the room 3025 which we had was, contrary to pre-advice, NOT quiet until about 11 - 12 in the evening as the music from either downstairs (hotel evening bar?) or a nearby discotheque (just in case it was this but I do not think so) reverberated quietly but thuddingly until this time. I should have believe the Trip Advisor report and not the very pleasant and helpful reception staff! However unless there are adapted rooms with a lower number on other floors it may not be worth the extra money as the view would be the same - not as pretty as rooms with lower numbers but still acceptable. In which case just take ear plugs!
In all a very suitable, comfortable and welcoming hotel for travellers with disabilities.

Room Tip: Rooms with lower numbers as all the traveller reviews mention are quieter and the higher up the bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buspasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Having been advised by reviewers on this site to request as high a room as possible, we did just that. On arrival here though we were told by hotel reception that no such request was recieved! (our First Choice reps since assured us that the request was sent, not received countered the hotel!) So what we did get for the first 2 days was room 1017... as low as you could get... NO SEA VIEW... as trees outside totally obscure the briny... & instead the path outside our "balcony" was the main route to the beach & resort for all the hotel guests. Just
slightly higher than we were. It was the proverbial goldfish bowl with zero privacy. We were promised a decent room but had to report again to reception on the first morning to confirm our request. Then again at 9 a.m. on the second morning & back again at noon when we were offered room 4001. Set into the rocks at the far sea end cliffs & not good enough. 3rd
time lucky we got 4020 with a proper view. When I complained to the hotel manager that the
first room was rubbish & contravened all advertising codes he denied this obvious fault. When I said that we expected them to try to make ammends for being given the OPPOSITE of what we requested, instead of trying to fobb us off with another dodgy room with no hint of apology... he just glazed over & seemed to think we wanted compensation. He didn't get it.
We gave up on them & the reps who rather than getting together, regardless of whose error caused the communication breakdown, & ensuring things didn't get worse, let things get a tad worse. Still it was only 2 sevenths of our holiday, so what are we moaning about?

Room Tip: get a high room & phone through the request yourself! (accepted 2 weeks before arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

we stayed here in January for our honeymoon, the staff could not have been nicer, we were upgraded to a delux suite FOC as we had emailed to say we were on honeymoon, well worth the email, free bottles of water provided in the room, sun beds on the balcony, which we took full advantage of, the safe was free with the upgrade and we had a kettle in the room, which is not provided with standard rooms apparently. We stayed on the 7th floor and had no problem with noise from the bars, although we didnt get the sun until after lunch on the balcony, this didnt bother us as the room was not too hot in the mornings. We found the food to be varied and always to a good quality. I would suggest putting towels on sunbeds by the pool before breakfast (against the wishes of the hotel!) as you may not get one otherwise. The larger of the pools was "heated" and once in and swimming it was lovely. I would recommend the on site fish pedicure to everyone, tickles at first but feels great, these tiny fish nibble away at the dry skin and leave your feet (or hands) feeling great, well worth giving it a go. The resort is very small, with not a lot outside the hotel, there is a small beach, with dark sand, and a few shops, and a small water park (which was closed when we were there) so if you want lively evenings, this is not the place for you. If you want sun, good food, peace and quite and just to relax then this is ideal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have just returned from a week at this fantastic hotel. Rooms are very spacious, very clean and all have fantastic seaviews (the sunsets were superb too). We stayed in room 8002 (level 8 -room no.2) which we requested beforehand to some degree, as we were pre-advised that the lower number rooms had more privacy as they were away from the pool and entertainments areas, and the higher rooms had the better views, level 9 is top floor.

The staff are all very pleasant, polite and helpful, (some of the guests were very ignorant and impolite, but this review is about the hotel, not the guests, so i'll say no more on the topic) and the maid, although she could not speak much english, greeted us with a smile each morning on our way down to breakfast and always spoke (I must learn some Spanish!!!)

Food in the restaurant was always fresh, and hot where required, some of it is actually cooked before your eyes. There was always plenty of choice, even for my wife, who is usually a bit fussy about what she eats.

I'm not much for live entertainment, but had to endure it to satisfy the wife (it was her holiday too, as I was reminded) however, I found it quite acceptable.

The pools are in two parts, one heated, the other not, but they were both a comfortable temperature. The hotel rules request that sunbeds are not reserved!! but most people ignored this and reserved them anyway, even though there was no need to, as there were more than enough sunbeds free at anytime and we never had difficulty finding 2 together in a suitable location (usually next to the bar!!!)

One thing for anyone who is thinking of staying at this hotel - Gentlemen are required to wear trousers/jeans in the restaurant for evening dinner, shorts of any length are not acceptable.

For those who want to get out the Hotel runs a free bus to Puerto De Mogan each day, which leaves at 10:30 and returns a 1:15. If you want to go to Mogan market on Fridays you will need to book your seats with reception beforehand, whereas on other days you just turn up.

On Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday the Hotels offers the opportunity to have a Romantic, candle lit Al a Carte dinner at the 'La Choza' something you should not miss, but be warned, it's Al Fresco and it can get rather cool depending on the time of year, so make sure you dress accordingly. There is no extra charge for this but you must pre-book with the Maitre at breakfast from Monday onwards, but be quick as they are limited and soon go.

One thing away from the Hotel review. We booked and went on a tour of the island in a convoy of mini buses called "Premium Island Tours" Cost for 2 people was 124 euro's. The tour took us up the mountains and to the back and beyond of Gran Canaria, stopping at several locations for light refreshments, and then a 3 course lunch at a typical Canarian Restuarant, which was really enjoyable. One negative from the tour, you will see during the tour a cameraman filming you as you pass and at the stops for refreshments, the tour guide informs you that the recording is available for you to purchase at 35 euros for the tour recording, or 40 euros complete with a photo disc, which we thought would be good as it gave us a record of where we had been and what we had seen, however, we were not very impressed with what we got, and the photographs, which we were told were to proffesional standard, looked as though they had been taken with a compact digital, I'm no David Bailey but most of my snaps were much better.

Should you require any more information or have any questions please feel free to contact me and I will pleased to help

All in all our stay at The Suite Princess was more than memorable, and we can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Howard-n-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taurito
0.1 km away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
1.3 km away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 3 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,951 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 3 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#10 of 18 in Mogan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.2 km away
Paradise Lago Taurito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Princess

Property: Suite Princess
Address: C/ Alcazaba, 4 (Urb. de Taurito) | 35138 Mogán, Gran Canaria, Spain, 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Taurito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taurito
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taurito
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taurito
Price range (per night): $252 - $385
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suite Princess is a hotel for adults (16 years and above) who want to enjoy an all-inclusive vacation directly at the sea. The 4 star hotel is located in the sunny south of Gran Canaria, the picturesque Puerto de Mogán is just 4 km away. All rooms of the adults only hotel feature sea- or garden view. The Suite Princess in the bay of Taurito boasts two buffet restaurants, a theme restaurant and 3 bars. The main restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Three times a week there are theme nights featuring food from Italy, Spain or the Canary Islands. The Gala Night offers international specialties. The entertainment programme not only includes sporting activities such as aerobics, aqua aerobics and archery but also culinary delights. Suite Princess guests may look forward to cooking classes (paella, tapas, mojo sauce), wine tasting, cocktail presentations, sunset sessions with cava and canapés and the weekly Black&White night. For those who just want to relax in their holidays may choose between sun-kissed or nice, shady spots in the pool landscape of the hotel. Jet Ski , parasailing, jetboat, flyboard or banana boat - Watersports fans are definitely spoiled for choice. One of Gran Canarias leading Watersports-Centre is located at Taurito Beach. Wi-Fi (chargeable) is available in the public areas of the Princess Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Suite Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Princess Hotel Taurito
Suite Princess Grand Canary
Hotel Suite Princess
Suite Princess Taurito, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing