We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
144
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local restaurants finca el cerrillo second visit painting holiday walking holiday honesty bar carob tree malaga airport nothing is too much trouble stunning views attention to detail multi level evening meals are swimming pool exceeded our expectations excellent food first class
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We have stayed at Finca el Cerrillo several times over the last few years. However this was the first time we had the opportunity to stay for two weeks. The first week was an art holiday and our tutor was Frances Winder. This proved to be an excellent week with Frances sharing lots of ideas wth us. Surprisingly for most of the group it was their first visit to the Finca. The fact that once Frances gave the dates for her course at the Finca in 2018 everyone immediately booked says everything there is to say about this delightful small hotel set in mountains on the edge of the Natural Park. They all thought it was fantastic. Non painting partners had a good week exploring the many walks around the local area. The grounds are full of sketching ideas for the artists and there is an olive grove to wander around for further ideas. At this time of year the wild flowers are beautiful and we saw many orchids.

Our second week was a Semana Santa gentle walking week when we were able to enjoy walks and get a flavour of the Spanish traditions around Easter. We saw processions on Palm Sunday, on Tuesday and also Maundy Thursday. The walks were led by guide, Nick, who was very attentive to the different rates of walking of the group. For those who did not wish to walk so far or do a lot of uphill taxis were provided to avoid the uphill part and then we were able to join the main group.

The meals as always were delicious, wonderful varied salads at lunch time and an excellent three course meal in the evening. We were able to enjoy aperitifs on the terrace in the evening sun. Two of the evening meals are taken at local restaurants but transport is provided.

From the minute one is met at Malaga airport the attention to detail is first class. No wonder so many visitors return and the Finca was listed as number 9 in the Telegraph's article on the best 50 places to stay in all of Spain.

Peace surrounds the place with many sitting areas whether you wish sun or shade. Our favourite is sitting under the Carob tree.

We are returning later this year and already looking forward to another excellent holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are different but equally as good.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athelingvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed here for a multi-level walking holiday in March.
We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived at Malaga airport and met by the driver for our transfer to the finca.
The finca is located in the most spectacular position high in the hills with stunning views down the valley to the coast.
All rooms are individual having been converted from an old olive mill. They are spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The owners have done a remarkable job converting the finca from a near ruin in to a wonderful small hotel.
The food was delicious and plentiful with most meals eaten at the finca and a some at local restaurants in the villages.
The walking was some of the best we have enjoyed. We did the harder level walks each day which varied in degree of difficulty.Having been given an outline of the intended walks for the week at dinner the first evening some us in the party were disappointed that this schedule was altered slightly, partly due to the weather and the higher walk was not done despite the weather being perfect on the day.
This however has not stopped us from recommending the finca to our friends and we intend to return in the future. Indeed about 70% of people there during our week had stayed before, many of them several times.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual, most with great views.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank trelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

There is no doubt that the location is second to none. The food was good too. So one can understand all the great reviews. BUT we had booked for what was advertised as a moderate walking holiday with walks of 5-6 hours each day and ascents / descents of up to 700 metres. Apart from day 1 this did not happen. The walks were not up to the grade advertised and for us this was pathetic and extremely disappointing. More to the point, we did not get what we had paid for. When we spoke to one of the owners about this we were told that someone in the group of six walkers had said the walks were too hard and that was why they were downgraded. Well, we spoke to all the other walkers and none agreed they had said anything of the sort. In any case we should not have been done out of our advertised walks. All we got by way of recompense was 'sorry' which, frankly is not good enough. It is a pity because otherwise we would have become regular returning customers but we got the feeling that there was enough repeat business and the owners really didn't care. As one of the other walkers said to us, they (the owners) have taken their eye off the ball.

Room Tip: Room 1 was nice enough for us. The ant powder and the mosquito spray were a bit worrying but we saw neither in the room.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RooTnMagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suekind0317, Owner at Hotel Finca el Cerrillo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Oh dear ...we are very upset to have given the impression that we don't care about our guests. In 15 years of looking after people we have strived to do our utmost to ensure that guests enjoy their holidays. I think there has been a misunderstanding here about what constitutes a 'moderate' level walks week. The figures quoted of 5-6 hours walking and 700 metres of ascent describe our Level 2 Walking. A 'moderate' programme comes in between our Level 1 and level 2 criteria and offers 3 -4 hours walking with no steep ascents and descents. No-one else in the group raised any concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful Finca a few weeks ago and we really enjoyed our stay – though it was too short. The finca is situated in tranquil and beautiful settings and there’s such a homely atmosphere and you really feel welcome as soon as you arrive. We are already planning to come back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IngeMalm_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

I booked a week of walking at the end of March after too long an absence and found the welcome warm and feeling like a returning friend. The food was wonderful and every bit as good as I remembered from my previous stay with an excellent choice of well priced wines available from the honesty bar.
The walking was in the most beautiful countryside, varying from moderate to challenging due to altitude (reaching 2068m on the last day). We were treated to the the most spectacular views of Spain locally and across the Med. as far as the Rif Mountains of Morocco (130 miles away).
My only regret of this visit was my leaving as I had to return to work the following week.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews