We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
143
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal restaurantsfinca el cerrillosecond visitpainting holidaywalking holidayhonesty barcarob treemalaga airportnothing is too much troublestunning viewsattention to detailmulti levelevening meals areswimming poolexceeded our expectationsexcellent foodfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

There is no doubt that the location is second to none. The food was good too. So one can understand all the great reviews. BUT we had booked for what was advertised as a moderate walking holiday with walks of 5-6 hours each day and ascents / descents of up to 700 metres. Apart from day 1 this did not happen. The walks were not up to the grade advertised and for us this was pathetic and extremely disappointing. More to the point, we did not get what we had paid for. When we spoke to one of the owners about this we were told that someone in the group of six walkers had said the walks were too hard and that was why they were downgraded. Well, we spoke to all the other walkers and none agreed they had said anything of the sort. In any case we should not have been done out of our advertised walks. All we got by way of recompense was 'sorry' which, frankly is not good enough. It is a pity because otherwise we would have become regular returning customers but we got the feeling that there was enough repeat business and the owners really didn't care. As one of the other walkers said to us, they (the owners) have taken their eye off the ball.

Room Tip: Room 1 was nice enough for us. The ant powder and the mosquito spray were a bit worrying but we saw neither in the room.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RooTnMagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suekind0317, Owner at Hotel Finca el Cerrillo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Oh dear ...we are very upset to have given the impression that we don't care about our guests. In 15 years of looking after people we have strived to do our utmost to ensure that guests enjoy their holidays. I think there has been a misunderstanding here about what constitutes a 'moderate' level walks week. The figures quoted of 5-6 hours walking and 700 metres of ascent describe our Level 2 Walking. A 'moderate' programme comes in between our Level 1 and level 2 criteria and offers 3 -4 hours walking with no steep ascents and descents. No-one else in the group raised any concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful Finca a few weeks ago and we really enjoyed our stay – though it was too short. The finca is situated in tranquil and beautiful settings and there’s such a homely atmosphere and you really feel welcome as soon as you arrive. We are already planning to come back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IngeMalm_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

I booked a week of walking at the end of March after too long an absence and found the welcome warm and feeling like a returning friend. The food was wonderful and every bit as good as I remembered from my previous stay with an excellent choice of well priced wines available from the honesty bar.
The walking was in the most beautiful countryside, varying from moderate to challenging due to altitude (reaching 2068m on the last day). We were treated to the the most spectacular views of Spain locally and across the Med. as far as the Rif Mountains of Morocco (130 miles away).
My only regret of this visit was my leaving as I had to return to work the following week.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Wonderful setting ,beautiful views.
Owners very friendly and helpful .Beautiful place to come and unwind.
The accommodation is of a very high standard as is the food. Allergies can be catered for.
They have many different types of holidays available. For example walking and painting holidays . I would suggest suggest looking at their web site for full details.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We normally never go back to a holiday destination, but were tempted by an Autumn break at the Finca el Cerrillo, with some walking, wine-tasting, a magnificent lunch in a mountain restaurant, walking tour of Frigiliana. lovely food and the magical Finca itself. It is just perfect, the gardens, sitting areas tucked away all over the grounds, the rooms all different and quirky and such lovely hosts, Sue and Gordon, who organise everything so well. Unfortunately I had a fall on the second day, but was able to recuperate on our private terrace with comfortable seating and a lovely view over the valley, and the special atmosphere worked wonders. I was able to enjoy parts of the holiday, especially the wonderful food taken in the cosy dining room, and at various local restaurants. Everyone was very friendly, and most of our fellow guests had been many times before (and were booking to come again!). Sue and Gordon have a magical formula somehow, and the whole place just works. Thanks again for a special week.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank somscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews