We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canillas de Albaida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Finca el Cerrillo
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Over the years I have penned several reviews but never have I given a "full house" of top marks. This is the one which I can honestly say fully deserves an overall "excellent" rating. On arrival we were greeted by Sue and Gordon the owners who quickly transferred us to our rooms. From that moment on there was nothing that was too much trouble. The food is excellent, the walks are exceptional as too are the guides Jenny and Nick. We had a superb holiday at the Finca al Cerrillo and would happily return. If you are looking for a hotel with uniformed flunkies and the like then this is not for you. It is purely and simply a haven away from the crowds in one of the most beautiful spots of Spain. Thank you Sue and Gordon for a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: We only had one in the garden it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank EAngliaBassett4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2015

Just returned from a wonderful walking holiday arranged by Finca el Cerrillo. The owners, Sue and Gordon, together with their attentive, professional staff, great cooks and highly knowledgeable walking guides made the week one I will be put up there on my list of most memorable and enjoyable holidays I've had in a long time. Everything ran like clockwork despite Sue having to rejig the plan for the week due to the inclement weather some days. Two of the friends that went with me weren't up to walking due to recent illnesses so Gordon arranged a special program for them which included him driving them on site seeing trips of the area in his own car. All of the friends that came with me are already planning to visit the Finca again so that must be a sign that they also experienced the holiday in the same way as I did.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

This March was the 2nd time I and a small group of hikers visited the Finca for a walking holiday and it was as good as the first time.
Everything was taken care of by the hotel including, transfers from the airport, transport to the starting points of hikes and return, all meals including 2 evening meals out at local restaurants and sandwiches on hike days. The quality of the food was excellent.and drinks were always available from the honesty bar
Walk leaders were provided by the hotel for each of the organised walks, but you do have the option to do your own walks if you wish
The whole of the Staff are very friendly, including the owners Gordon and Sue
The week we were there we were taken to Granada for a day out and we also went to Nerja for another day
The holiday was great, the only drawback was I hardly spent any money

Room Tip: Rooms are usually allotted by the hotel and most rooms face the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Third week in two years. Great base for walking, sight seeing or just relaxing. Sue and Gordon and their staff really care for their guests and the food their is excellent.
A great idea is the inclusive dining out in local restaurants, gives a great range of the tastes and flavours of the area. Thank you. We will be back

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

This place is like a magic palace. You arrive you are instantly transported to your second home and the people you meet are your second family. The couple who run the Finca are wizards at creating an atmosphere and what an atmosphere they created for New Year. We walked to the top of mountains, visited Malaga for their fantastic lights, a sherry bar and diner with a flamenco show, a new year dinner with a desert island discs theme, grapes with the bells and a certain amount of very loud singing. Thank goodness the New Years day brunch was the type of spread that puts the spring back in your step. Throw in restaurant visits, tapas lunches in the middle of walking days and comfortable rooms and you have the magic palace.

Room Tip: No bad rooms but as they are all different if you visit again, almost everyone does, you may find a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chasmac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canillas de Albaida
1.9 km away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
12 km away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#2 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
303 reviews
0.5 km away
Posada la Plaza
Posada la Plaza
#1 of 3 in Canillas de Albaida
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Mirador de Canillas
Hotel Mirador de Canillas
#3 of 3 in Canillas de Albaida
11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca el Cerrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca el Cerrillo

Address: 29755 Canillas de Albaida, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Canillas de Albaida
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canillas de Albaida
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing