We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best holidays .....ever”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canillas de Albaida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Finca el Cerrillo
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We joined a walking group at the end of November 2011 and had a fantastic time .
We received a very warm welcome from the hosts Sue and Gordon,,room was spacious as was the bed !
The walks were varied and would could join a choice of 2.. so I was very happy to join the all day walks , whilst my partner was happy with the shorter walks . One day we would take our prepared packed lunch and on alternative days we would have our lunch / tapas at some wonderful scenic bar..
Meals in the evening were varied , either eating in or taxied to a local village ....meals were great and of good quality ..
The others in the group were all a lovely mix of people ,,,and I can see why people come here again and again ,, as much as 3/4 times a year ...
There is a pool and again wonderful cultivated gardens ,, some moorish in their delights and secret corners .. cant wait to go again

Room Tip: Room 7 was excellent and has a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dottie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

Just didn't think it was possible to relax so completely, so quickly. The atmosphere was completely calming, and to help you on your way there are so many quiet corners in which to curl up and read a book or fall asleep. Spectacular views, walks in the hills, absolutely delicious food and blissfully comfortable bed, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penelope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I don't think I'll be able to write a glowing enough review for this place - it was just wonderful!
On arrival, you immediately feel part of the family - there is no stuffiness about this hotel, it really does feel like you are visiting friends!
It is about an hour away from Malaga, and the drive up is along windy steep roads, but the hotel can arrange a taxi to pick you up from the airport. They will also arrange taxis for days out or evenings out - nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are so lovely and clean with excellent air conditioning - much needed in those temperatures! The food is wonderful - breakfast is included and then you can opt in for lunch and dinner (if you don't, you're mad!).
The hotel overlooks the town of Archez, and when we visited there was a festival so there was plenty of noise, fireworks and canons going off - but it all adds to the wonderful feel of the place!
If you're looking to be close to Malaga and the bars/clubs of beach life then this place isn't for you. If you're looking for a fab hotel, great pool, great food then it's ideal.

Best holiday in years. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kes1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The most beautiful retreat with atmosphere and views
Rooms food and service excellent
Quiet for walking or need a car as in the hills

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaineraecarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Oh dear, our best kept secret hotel has made it to number 1 - so everybody will be going! My wife and I stayed for a walking holiday and there is really nothing to add to all the other reviews praising Sue and Gordon for their outstanding hospitality, food, walking and lovely finca rooms.
But remember the hotel is not in Malaga - far from it. It's in a lovely village about three-quarters of an hour from the airport into the mountains up a windy road and is very quiet and restful and the nightlife is what you and fellow guests make it. Lots of fun and laughter and making new friends around the lounge fire and in the local restaurants.

The walking is wonderful and carefully chosen for reasonably fit (and super-fit) people, being Level 1 and 2. While it's totally relaxing just to stay by the pool the real benefit is being part of an activity holiday - whether walking, painting or writing - and meeting like-minded people.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelinhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canillas de Albaida
1.9 km away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
12 km away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#3 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
303 reviews
0.5 km away
Posada la Plaza
Posada la Plaza
#1 of 3 in Canillas de Albaida
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Mirador de Canillas
Hotel Mirador de Canillas
#3 of 3 in Canillas de Albaida
11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca el Cerrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca el Cerrillo

Address: 29755 Canillas de Albaida, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Canillas de Albaida
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canillas de Albaida
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing