We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something special”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canillas de Albaida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Finca el Cerrillo
Reviewed 30 October 2007

We had a very enjoyable week here in Sept 07 as part of a
'Headwater' walking holiday. Don't expect a clinical hotel, As the name suggests, this is a beautifully restored and extended farm house
in mountainous terrain, run by an English couple with a friendly cat and dog. The food and service were amongst the best we have experienced anywhere.

The Finca has a large comfortable lounge/dinning room with roaring log fires in winter. During our stay, breakfast and most meals were taken out on the terrace (overlooking the valley below). There is a library and - refreshingly in this day and age - an honesty bar. The room, pool and gardens was kept clean and tidy.

The hotel run painting, writing and pottery courses (in a purpose-built studio) and as far as I know are open all year round. We have no knowledge of how good (or bad) these courses are, but the owners seem very conscientious and I couldn't imagine them putting on anything that wasn't 'up to scratch'.

I wouldn't recommend Finca el Cerrillo to bored teenagers or anyone who has difficulty in walking. The pool is quite deep and and there is no childrens' pool, so (as always) you would have to keep an eye on young children in that area. If you go as an independent traveller
you will need a car.

I would recommend Finca el Cerrillo for anyone interested in the activities mentioned above and of course walking and bird watching (how I wish I could have taken my mountain bike). Also honeymooners and those who prefer to chill out by the pool far away from the madding crowd.

I noticed some riding stables on the mountain road between the hotel and airport so there might be some riding possibilities there, given a bit of research.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Walking_wounded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 139 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2007

We stayed at this hidden gem of a hotel for 4 days this past week.It is hidden in the moutains above the town of Archez and very near to Competa .The hotel hugs the side of the mounatains in a romatic and errie setting.

Our room which was part of the origninal old olive mill was truly romatic with the orginal features still carefully renovated by our hosts Sue and Gordon Kind. The view we had down the moutains was memorable and one that changed with the differing lights of this part of Spain.

We were welcomed with a cold glass of vino and a warm greeting from our lovely hosts.The nights when dinner was avalaible were the best we have ever had in Spain .The staff and Basil (the resident dog) made our stay one that will stay with us for ever .

This hotel is really a memorable hidden gem and will deserve all the wonderful reviews we know it will get in the future .


A great place for a honeymoon or just to chill! We will return!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T203004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canillas de Albaida
1.9 km away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
12.4 km away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
18.1 km away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 1 in Los Romanes
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 km away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#3 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
303 reviews
0.5 km away
Posada la Plaza
Posada la Plaza
#1 of 3 in Canillas de Albaida
89 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Mirador de Canillas
Hotel Mirador de Canillas
#3 of 3 in Canillas de Albaida
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca el Cerrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca el Cerrillo

Address: 29755 Canillas de Albaida, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Canillas de Albaida
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canillas de Albaida
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing