We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa del Mare(Bacoli)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
B&B Miseno23(Bacoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
B&B Liaison(Bacoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
71
47
26
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
47
26
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree nightsminute walknaples airportone nightmenuvesuviusseaviews
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

The hotel has its good points and bad points.

The views from this hotel are fantastic looking out over the lagoon to the sea and all the way to Naples and Vesuvius. It's a great location for spending time on the beach which is a 10 minute walk along the path of the lagoon. It also has many bars and restaurants nearby which are reasonably priced. The area seems to be more of a tourist area for Italians; there did not seem many other nationalities there and most people did not speak any English and most restaurant menus were in Italian only. However the locals are very friendly and helpful especially when we were trying to buy bus tickets etc (there were no taxis).

There is no lift in this hotel so we had to carry our cases up 4 flights of stairs. The room itself is clean and comfortable and the bathroom is on the smallish size with nowhere to put your toiletries. There is a tiny safe which is too small to hold a tablet. There is a mini bar but the bottled water is not complimentary and there is no tea coffee making facilities. As well as a wardrobe there is a shelf unit for extra storage which just has a tatty hardboard back on it.

The breakfast was poor; we managed to scape enough cereal out of the 3 almost empty jars for breakfast on the first morning, the next morning the jars were put back out empty and not refilled until our 3rd morning. They were then put out empty again on our last morning!! For the first 2 mornings there were not any yogurts and we were only aware that they had yogurts (plain only) after the 3rd morning. Coffee is okay but the tea was not so good which came out in different receptacles. There was OJ and water but one morning we even had to ask for this as it wasn't put out. There were packets of biscuits, croissant, jam and orange and kiwi fruit to also eat. One morning tables were not even laid for breakfast.

Wifi didn't work in our room so could only connect in reception or the breakfast room and the whole area, in and outside the hotel, data didn't work during the day, only in the evenings. This also made trying to use a credit card during the day difficult in the area.

Our room was on top floor and above this is a deck used for functions. On the 1st night there was a wedding and on the 2nd night hotel staff decided to rearrange all the tables and chairs at 12.30 in the morning! Apart from this the outside balcony and deck were not in use which is a shame as the views from here are fantastic. One other morning we were woken at 0600 by wedding guests using the open plan area outside our room as a hair and beauty salon!

Only a couple of staff spoke English and one of them didn't have a clue about anything local. They couldn't tell us where we could buy bus tickets or get a bus from (thank goodness for the friendly locals). The other lady spoke good English and was helpful.

We decided to try the restaurant one evening; but do ask what is available first as they don't have everything on the menu. My partner had steak which he said was very good. There was no wine list, only a choice of house red or white.

Very dissatisfied with this hotel, if it tried a bit harder it could be made really nice for guests, especially given its location with the balcony and deck. The hotel information in the room needs to be in other languages, not just Italian. As my partner booked this hotel, and due to the lack of information given out by the hotel, I had no idea that we had use of a pool and sun loungers elsewhere. This would have been really good to know especially at the weekend when we couldn't get a parasol on the beach at 10am in the morning as they had all ready been taken.

A fair bit of TLC is required to the hotel itself and its guests.

The public beach section was littered with rubbish as is the pavement and road outside. However the other beach sections where you pay to hire sun loungers and a parasol are kept clean. It costs 5 euros per day to hire one sun lounger and the same for a parasol.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afternoongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio F, Direttore at Villa Oteri, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Mrs Webb
First of all we want to thank you in fact each review that we received is always important for us because can help us to improve our hospitality service.
Next I want to express my opinion about your definition of our hotel like “Faulty Towers”.
Personally I ‘v never seen this sitcom but I think that a small safe and bathroom , a shelf which is not according to your standard and a “poor dinner” because we always want to serve fresh sea food but that day the catch was unfortunately poor … It ‘s too little to define our Hotel a Faulty one.
At the check- in we always ask to our guests if they want to be helped with their suitcases because there is no lift to the second floor: it is an old Villa (from the beginning of the twenty century) and there is no way to build one without to ruin the beauty which characterizes it.
About the juices and cereals at breakfast probably happened that you came to the restaurant for breakfast before somebody could notice that was the moment to replenish the buffet . We are sorry but you could ask to have a fast service.
The outside balcony and deck are used, that explains the noises concerning the wedding party(which however were limited to little moments) in those moments we were putting in order tables and chairs for hotel guests (which were moved for the wedding party).
Besides we are sorry that you have a bad opinion about the reception Staff : in every review is mentioned the helpfulness of our Reception Staff , probably each members can’t speak a high level of English but it is enough to help guests which ask info ….if they do it, maybe you asked only about tickets and not about the beach and pool or other.
The waters bottle are always considered extra in all Hotels (not complementary as you think) but however at your check out when you talked about it to the reservation staff , the water was not charged.
Beside the low wi fi signal depends also from the signal of the town in some moments of the day it can be lower than in others.
In closing we thing that our hospitality is not so bad but maybe not enough for you that expected more TLC from all our guests too .
Any-way thank you …. We will be glad to guests you again in the future, if you would.
We will try to make you change your bad opinion on Villa Oteri.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in a Platinum Room and booked a package including a candlelight dinner.
The room was very nice: Comfy, English style, good bed, and very little noise from the street outside. Huge balcony with view of the lago Miseno and the Vesuvio on the horizon. Some perfectionists might pick on the odd stain on the wallpaper or the somewhat aged bathroom, but we liked the overall atmosphere very much.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast buffet is indeed the Italian way, i. e. sweets only, but no criticism here, too: hearty additions were offered to us. Just mentioning this because a prior reviewer had complained, and we want to stress that everything was just fine.
The five-course dinner was really delicious.
By the way, there is free parking for guests coming in with a rental car, located in a backyard 50m from the hotel.
Getting there takes about 40min from Naples airport depending on traffic; the drive to the lovely Amalfi/Sorrento peninsula some 90min.
Overall: Our thumbs are up for Villa Oteri!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christophermanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from a one-week stay at Villa Oteri, and cannot say enough about how pleasant and enjoyable our experience was.

Villa Oteri isn't simply a place to sleep while exploring Italy. Staying there is an integral part of the Italian experience! The Old World charm is authentic and, while relatively simple, the rooms are scrupulously clean. The entire staff are friendly and solicitous, from the cleaning lady to the manager - they take a personal interest in making sure that you are happy and cared-for.

The location is outstanding, directly across from Lake Miseno and several restaurants that cover a variety of dining options. The views are picturesque, very Mediterranean, with the lake in the foreground, the sea just beyond, and Vesuvius visible through the haze. A short walk brings you to popular beaches and seaside restaurants.

Without a doubt we will return to Villa Oteri, and want to thank everyone there for making our visit so pleasant. Grazie mille!

Room Tip: Room 209 faces the lake with a large private balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Layne523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed for three nights, the hotel has an old world feel and the rooms reflect that. The room was well insulated from outside noise. There's a hotel car park very close.
The receptionist for two of the days we were there was amazingly helpful and gave us perfect instructions for getting into Naples by bus and train. She also translated the menu for us the one night we ate in the restaurant.
The food in the restaurant is good and there are two modern restaurant/bars opposite and three older pizzeria's nearby. It's also a good base to visit the historical sites west of Naples. There's also a floating bar about 15 minutes walk away that does frozen margaritas (amongst many other things)
Only downside is that the breakfast selection was very limited and unchanged for the three days we were there.

Room Tip: We had room 101 which is off reception and faces the road and lake, would recommend, best room is something like 208 which is the only one with a balcony and looks across the lake with views of Capri and Vesuvius (if it's not too hazy)
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SugarloafView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay here during a business trip. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very nice and private with an old world feel. Very nice bathroom. Mattress could have been slightly more comfortable. The scenery is beautiful and the staff brought us wine on the roof balcony before dinner. The nearby Pizza Famiglia has the best pizza I've had in my life.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews