We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers?”
Review of Oak Villa Hotel

Oak Villa Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak Villa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Headingley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Family stayed in 2 rooms, one at the top floor of the Establishment and one on the ground floor. First impressions - a very damp and dismal place to be. Terrible odour and dampness in the air. Not recommended if a Family member has a respiritory Problem.

Breakfast was not good. Had to go down the local Co-op for something better to eat. 2nd day did not bother with breakfast - left as quickly as possible.

If we had not travelled so far (1600km) and had more time to find somewhere else would not have stayed here.

Not recommended at all.

Room Tip: Pick a different Hotel....................................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2014

The place is old and damp musty smell as you enter, the carpets are dirty and smell musty too, the room we were in smells of damp and the heating wasnt on which sort of explains why the rooms are damp and cold. the shared bathroom looks a bit worn & old ,, in a nutshell place needs some work and on that basis we didnt risk the breakfast in case they are cutting corners in the kitchen too. however this place is near Leeds city centre and has parking, reminds me of university lodgings so if you are not to fussy it beats most places on price, staff are friendly but you have to rough it a bit

Room Tip: This place is cheap and you sort of get what you expect for it being cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

As we walked into the reception, I was surprised of the amount of dust and dirt everywhere but I was hoping that the rooms will be better. The room's radiator was broken and it smelled strongly of mold. The shared toilet had feces on the toilet seat and was incredibly dirty so I asked for an en-suite room which was given to us after paying the difference in price. Things didn't improve much here - it just looked like there was no cleaner employed by this 'hotel'. Stains everywhere, shower on/off button did not work, generally just an absolute nightmare. I don't think this place should be allowed to function. It is not cheap either, £60 on the outskirts of Leeds is a lot. I was confused by the reviews that I have read on booking.com, they were decent. My advice is to stay well away from this place

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tudor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Absolutely disgusting and would agree it needs to be shut down!!! Bedroom was wet and damp, got into bed and even the bed felt wet. Didnt have breakfast thought better of it. Pulled back sheets in the morning only to find wood lice in the bed!!! Couldnt wait to get out of the place. If we hadnt paid upfront we would have left straight away. One night too long!!

Room Tip: Dont do it
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Awful, dated hotel with beds that gives great back ache. we nearly left in the middle of the night after not being able to sleep. just don't do it. not worth any money. the hotel is no where near leeds city centre so a taxi/ bus or a very long walk is required.

Room Tip: don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jillybobs1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Headingley hotels
2.4 km away
Village Hotel Leeds North
1.8 km away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
452 reviews
0.7 km away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#2 of 9 in Headingley
342 reviews
0.5 km away
The Butlers Hotel
The Butlers Hotel
#8 of 9 in Headingley
187 reviews
1.1 km away
Cliff Lawn Hotel
Cliff Lawn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Headingley
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Villa Hotel

Address: 55 - 57 Cardigan Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 1DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Headingley
Price Range: $87 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing