We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,725)
Filter reviews
1,725 results
Traveller rating
1,058
455
137
48
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,058
455
137
48
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews macdonald hotels woodland wing new wing feature room main restaurant afternoon tea lovely hotel stately home g bar country house drawing room evening meal the north yorkshire moors night break fountain suite the main house public rooms
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,725 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

My Husband treated me to two nights at this lovely Hotel last week. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. The food was excellent although we thought some of the evening menu supplements were high, £10 extra on a steak! Maureen the waitress on both evenings was lovely and so friendly without being intrusive. Lyndsey Maitre’D we think was very pleasant, obviously staff are very well trained but we were disappointed that not one member of staff knew any history of the Hotel! The only complaint was our room, 113, was unbearably hot, no heating was on and the window only opened very slightly, it made sleeping very uncomfortable. Lovely situation for close proximity to the Coast.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Our very good friends booked this hotel for my 60th birthday. We have driven past and thought what a beautiful building and it has a spa so it would be a great way l could go start to the birthday celebrations. The cost was £180per couple for dbb,not cheap especially as most of the things on the menu have an additional supplement charge which we were not aware of. The food was bland and i paid £10 extra for dry steak and cold chips. We had to ask for a wine list and the wine finally arrived half way through dinner. We finished with the cheese board,3nice pieces of cheese but only 3 crackers and 3 grapes. The spa which we were all looking forward to was as we were told a dry spa. Now spa to me usually involves a pool and a jacuzzi at least and that's why we booked the place. Maybe we should have checked but it certainly isn't clear on the website.The room was large and a comfy bed but carpet stained badly and only one large towel.long walk down spooky corridors, great location for a horror film. Nothing in the rooms to suggest luxury hotel. No gowns, slipper chocolate or biscuits on the bed, all of which are available at grinkle park hotel less than 10 miles away and much cheaper but we thought we would have a change. Never again.i could go on about other, problems but what is the point, we just wouldn't go back or recommend.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRuairidh, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Debbie M

Thank you for taking your time out and writing your valued feedback.

First of all Happy birthday!

I am so pleased to read that you appreciated our lovely setting. My team were then so disappointed to read that you found the bedroom rates high, for which I can only apologise. Please be assured we do compare our prices regularly with our competitors of the same standard and have found them to be priced competitively.

The team strive to achieve the highest standard and quality of food, bedrooms and service from the moment you arrive, which is why it was such a disappointment to hear that we got it so wrong in this instance, for which I must apologise sincerely. I have discussed your comments with the team, guest feedback is extremely important to us here, bringing to our attention areas in which we can further improve the services we offer.

I really do hope you will reconsider your decision and return, where we would love to prove this occasion was an exception to the rule.

Kindest regards,

Ruairidh Taylor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Simply amazing!!
All the staff went over and above to ensure everything ran smoothly throughout the day.
From the setup on the eve prior to the wedding Byron ( you are fantastic) and his team couldn’t do enough to support.
The hotel was immaculate, gorgeous rooms, great staff, can’t recommend it enough!!
Thank you for making the day so special.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank raym0nd068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We had an excellent 2 day stay with a wedding party. However when we came to leave we were surprised that our room rate was charged at £135 PN when even the Hotel advertise in their rooms that the the PN room rate is £95? ...

So if you go with a wedding/group, DON'T assume you will get the best rate?
A great stay was spoilt !

Room Tip: Don't assume you will get the best rate, and don't book directly with the Hotel!
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnE747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRuairidh, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear John E,

I’m so pleased to read you had an excellent stay with a wedding party.

On occasion the hotel advertises special offers, reduced rate short breaks and last minute deals that are cheaper than the wedding rate. Guests are welcome to reserve rooms with these offers, however, they often require full pre-payment at the time of booking and these rates may not be available as far in advance as wedding guests book.

I hope you can see fit to join us again in the future,

Kindest regards,

Ruairidh Taylor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate our engagement and had a wonderful time. The hall is beautiful and our room in the older part was big, very comfortable and very clean. The meal was fabulous and the staff were very kind. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel. Hope to return again! Very nice for a special occasion.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Natalieison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRuairidh, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Natalieison,

Congratulations!

Thank you very much for taking your time to write such a glowing review! I always share this feedback with my hardworking team. These positive comments and score, help us all to know we are getting it right for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Keep an eye on the website for great offers and upcoming events! (If you need any help with your wedding planning, give us a call!)

Kindest regards,

Ruairidh Taylor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews