We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champagne afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alveston House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Went to Alveston House Hotel for afternoon tea on 3 March 2012. This was as a result of an offer on the 'Afternoon Tea' website of £17.75 for a champagne afternoon tea.

We really enjoyed the food which consisted of 3 sandwiches, 2 scones and 2 cakes each. My husband would have liked a couple more sandwiches which if he had asked for them , i'm sure they would have been forthcoming. No doubt, we have had to pay extra but that wouldn't have been a problem. it was such a good deal after all!. The scones were especially delicious.

We had the opportunity to have a look at a couple of the bedrooms which were lovely and the garden was very pretty as well.

We are now trying to find a convenient date to stay as we thought the hotel was worth the trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 332 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed here whilst vsiiting our son at Bristol Uni. Choose the hotel as they were more than happy to take the dog. Very helpful and accomodating for any of dog needs - walk suggestions, water etc. We only ate in resteraunt once in 3 nights and food was good and service excellent as they were not over busy. Breakfast was also good with lots of choice.Would go here again although 30 mins from Bristol centre and traffic going from Bristol to Alveston can be bad!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baldric4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

my sister and i stayed here so we could go christmas shopping at Cribbs and not have to bother driving home the same night.Checking in was easy and the staff very polite and helpful.We had a lovely evening meal, the hotel was quiet but we still did not feel rushed in anyway.Breakfast was good and hot,the room was lovely with a beautiful shower and very hot water.We were so impressed that we are hopefully going to do the same next year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I recently organised a shipping company reunion at this hotel and it was a total success due to the amazingly efficient, helpful and friendly staff who really go that extra mile to ensure everything runs smoothly and without a hitch. So many people who attended the reunion commented on the ambience of the hotel and said it was the perfect venue.

The lounge area is delightful and we enjoyed the most deliciously well presented meal in Carriages Restaurant. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and the following morning we had a superb breakfast.

I have travelled worldwide and experienced lots of different hotels and I feel lucky to have discovered Alveston House Hotel. I can thoroughly recommend it.

I

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I arrived on a dark rainy evening without a booking or any baggage (business meeting in Bristol overran) having just seen the hotel sign when driving along the A38. The welcome was as good as going home! I got the last room available that night, a bit small as it is one they keep it as a 'reserve' but it suited me fine for somewhere to sleep for a night.
The meal I got in restaurant was outstanding, better than the one I had a couple of days earlier which had been more than double the price. Breakfast was also great, full English with everything you could wish for is included in the room rate.
The staff are wonderfully helpful, they converted a disastrous day into a great one. I'll stay again at the first opportunity - bussines or pleasure - when I'm next in the area.

Room Tip: Book early! It seems to be very popular. Otherwise can't help as I only saw one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alveston
7.3 km away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
105 reviews
2.6 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
5.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#2 of 5 in Almondsbury
1,005 reviews
5.7 km away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
24.1 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alveston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alveston House Hotel

Address: Davids Lane, Alveston BS35 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Alveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Price Range: $132 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alveston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alveston House Hotel is independently run, friendly yet professional, offering a wide range of facilities for any occasion. With elegant rooms, a beautiful licenced wedding venue, conference facilities and award winning restaurant, we are ideally located near Bristol and the M4/M5 Motorways. Holding the highest AA rating of any 3 star hotel in the area, our hotel is set in beautiful walled gardens. Open everyday throughout the year, we are here to welcome you to our house. We pride ourselves on providing a bespoke service with a personal touch. If you require disabled access please telephone the hotel prior to your visit and we will be pleased to help. Access is limited and requires a temporary ramp. Access throughout the building is limited due to the age and internal layout of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Alveston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alveston Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing